Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely location, good value hotel, good food.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Lovely little pool, right on fantastic beach, good food, nice quiet room, delightful Maasai staff. Rooms beautifully cleaned - lovely towel decoration
Cons: Comfort of furniture.
Location: Beautiful beach and good for kite surfing. Other restaurants along beach all good.
We enjoyed our stay and the African and Maasai staff were very friendly and helpful. However it would have been nice to have been welcomed by the owners/managers, who made no effort to introduce themselves. Some simple improvements would make it more comfortable - e.g. a chair in the bedroom, and some indoor soft lounge furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tanzania/Canada

Beautiful Beach Getaway

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: We liked the staff, the infinity pool, the beach access, and the room.
Cons: The average food.
Location: Jambiani is a beautiful beach area. There are plenty of water activities and tours to keep you busy.
We really liked the friendly, helpful and easygoing staff. That really made our stay very very nice. We wanted to get away from Dar for a few days and Coral Rock was a perfect spot to do so. The infinity pool looking over the ocean was very relaxing (and well maintained). The room was clean and beautiful with a lovely view. We enjoyed their DJ on Saturday night and the activities they arranged for us (namely swimming with the dolphins - everything was well organized). We also felt that the staff were very accommodating, which we appreciated. The only thing I would say that Coral Rock is lacking in, is good food. The menu ideas are very nice but the execution is average...we just think they could really take this place to the next level with an inspired chef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Excellent Hotel.. Wanted to cry when I left!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
This was one of the best vacations I have EVER been on! After the first day I spent in the cozy hotel, I didn't want to leave for the rest of the trip. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and they were quick to help out with any of our requests. The food at the restaurant was amazing. My friends and I enjoyed everything on the expansive menu that we tried, and cleaned our plates every time. I would recommend doing the full-board option which includes meals because you won't want to eat anywhere else. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Location: Everything is mostly a driving distance away, but easy enough to travel to anything/anywhere you want to go.
Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Zanzibar! Perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the world. The hotel offers activities for guests to do over their stay (kite surfing, kayaking etc..), they even helped us find a place to do paddle boarding as they couldn't offer it to us. But you could literally spend all day every day in the resort and be happy! Don't even bother trying to find somewhere else to eat your meals, the food is AMAZING. It's a bit of a wait for the food (generally about an hour or sometimes more when it's busy) but i'm told that's how it is in Africa in general, but you wont be disappointed! Just order about an hour or so before you think you'll be hungry and you'll be okay! prices are really good too. The managers, Phillip & Castian (Sorry, don't know how it's spelled!) were just amazing guys and a great help to us throughout our trip, whatever we needed to know or wanted to do they helped us out as much as they could. Genuinely couldn't have asked for two nicer guys to be running the hotel, were sad to leave them by the end of our week there. The other staff were amazing too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings - poor management and service

Posted Feb 27, 2010
This is a really nice place, no beach but it has a nice location on the rocks above the ocean. The problem is that there is very little service to go along with the quaint surroundings. There is no reception service (there is a desk but never anyone there), no housekeeping that I could identify, and no clear indication of who is responsible for what. (Good luck if you need a clean towel for your bathroom). Basically the place is run by a few well-meaning, but clueless, young men who run it like a campsite - quiz night is important but keeping rooms clean is not so vital. The local staff are friendly but poorly trained (and therefore unable to make up for their hapless managers).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

schön gelegen

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Der Blick von der Bar, der Strand, die Lage direkt im Dorf - und der Pool
Location: Es gibt prima Essensmöglichkeiten und Cafes direkt nebenan - unsere Lieblinge waren Hassan und das Music Cafe
Leider entsprach das Coral Rock nicht den Vorstellungen, die wir uns aufgrund der Homepage und den Beschreibungen anderer Gäste gemacht hatten. Wir waren 4 Nächte dort und haben uns im Hotel selbst nicht besonders wohl gefühlt. Der Aufenthalt begann damit, dass eine der Managerinnen vor unseren Augen und Ohren Angestellte zur Schnecke machte. Außer den sehr malerisch in ihrer Stammestracht posierenden aber auch sehr hilfsbereiten und gelassen wirkenden Massai am Eingang der Anlage wirkte mit wenigen Ausnahmen der Rest des Personals eher verwirrt und verschreckt und bombadierte die Gäste fast roboterhaft bei jeder passenden oder unpassenden Gelegenheit mit "karibu! you are very karibu!". Immer wieder wurde sehr aggressiv versucht, uns zu dem Hotel angeschlossenen Aktivitäten zu überreden. Meine Tochter buchte eine Schnupperstunde Kite-Surfen und wir hatten große Schwierigkeiten, diese nach nahezu 3 Stunden unaufhörlichem Zugeredetwerden zu beenden. Die von uns mitgebrachten Strandschuhe wegen der Seeigel wurden vom Kite-Lehrer als absolut unnötig erklärt, so dass meine Tochter sie zunächst dann auch nicht anzog. Seeigel waren dann aber doch sehr viele am Strand, so dass ich sie ihr dann schließlich nachbringen musste, was der Kite-Lehrer gnädigerweise erlaubte. Als wir sagten, dass wir keine weiteren Stunden wollten, kam der Kite-Lehrer nichtsdestotrotz am nächsten Tag sogar auf unseren privaten, durch eine geschlossenen Tür abgetrennten Bereich vor unserer Hütte, um nochmal n
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Tolles Hotel mit afrikanischem Ambiente

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Hotel ist gut gelegen für Ausflugsiehe z.B. Dolphin -Tour. Direkt hinterm Hotel ist ein Dorf mit dessen Bewohnern man gut in KonTakt kommt. Haben selber miteinander Einheimischen bei ihm zuhause gegessen, nachdem er mit uns einen 2-stündigen Dorfrundgang gemacht hat. Kostet 20USD und ist ein "Must See" Erlebnis
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berlin

Achtung Kostenfalle

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Die Zimmer hatten einen Standard für ein 40€ Zimmer mit einer durchgelegen unbequemen Matratze aus Schaumstoff. Das Zimmer roch müfflig Der Servic im Restaurant war grausig wir mussten an einem Abend 1 1/2 std auf unsere Bestellung warten und die Kellner waren selbst für afrikanische verhältnisse zu entspannt beim bedienen. Allgemein fühlten wir uns die drei Tage überhaupt nicht wohl, das Hotel lässt sich nur den tollen Ausblick mit der Lage und den Pool bezahlen sonst sehen wir das Hotel als nicht besonders an und fanden es frech so viel Geld zu vordern!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Be aware of no cancellation policy

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Restaurant was fantastic
Cons: Be more flexible concerning cancellation policy.
We ended up checking out 2 days early and loosing the prepaid room rate, since the hotel operates with a no cancellation policy. We accepted it, because we did not wanted to spend another day of our vacation at coral rock The hotel is located on a very small land, which is used as access way between two beaches. This means very little privacy. The pool is more like a tub and beach chairs are few.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Im Paradies

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Kleines Hotel, sehr gutes Essen, sehr guter Service, geschmackvolles Zimmer.
Cons: Reichhaltiger Einkaufen, damit die Portionsgrößen konstant bleiben :-)
Location: Wassersportmöglichkeiten werden direkt nebenan angeboten. Im Nachbarhotel ist Montags Jamsession - ziemlich cool!
Das Hotel hat 15 Zimmer und ist sehr geschmackvoll am Rand von Jambiani. Wer hinter den Hotelmauern buntes Treiben erwartet, sollte wohl eher in Stone Town bleiben. Jambiani ist ruhig und in erster Linie für Strandurlaub bzw. Kitesurfen zu empfehlen. Das Team war jederzeit sehr zuvorkommend. Einmal in der Woche gibt's eine kleine Party - der Geräuschpegel hat mich nicht gestört, als ich im Zimmer war. Jeder sollte sich aber darüber klar sein, dass 3 Sterne in Afrika vielleicht einen anderen Standard bedeuten als 3 Sterne in Deutschland, ich habe aber nichts vermisst. Das Zimmer wurde jeden Tag gereinigt, das Bett war bequem, Licht gut, Safe dabei, Bad groß, warmes Wasser und sogar ausreichend Wasserdruck.