Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel close to the beach with beautiful views

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It was nice getting away from everything; beach was very nice
Cons: Wasn't too impressed with the buffet food although the paying restaurants were very nice; bit confusing as what was included in an All Inclusive hotel
Location: Stonetown for history; Prison Island for history and see giant tortoises; The Rock, arrived on foot to The Rock but left by boat because of the tide.
Hotel staff were excellent especially as we travelled with 2 three year olds. Our room was very spacious and kept clean with a garden. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. They need to be regular with replenishing towels and face flannels every day, had to call them a couple of times for this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Miss P, Thank you very much for your time in leaving us your nice review. We are glad to hear that you and your young family enjoyed our resort from the room, gardens, to the beach and our staff. Thank your also for your constructive feedback that we have corrective steps in the areas highlighted. Thank you also for sharing your tour recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon again for another wonderful holiday in Zanzibar. Kind regards, Andrew
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Hotel just beside the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel is in nice place and the room was very comfortable. Generally all the staff were nice. However, the tap water was not in good condition which I couldn't put into my mouth even to brush my teeth (all the room gets complimentary big water bottles) Food were acceptable but not something I want to recommend my friend. Upon checking out, I was asking the reception about a cloth I left two nights ago in the restaurant. They don't share the lost and found items information each other. The hotel staff went to the restaurant and came back to tell me that nothing was found. Then I saw a one of the staff was leaving the reception holding a cloth which was really alike mine. I was asking the reception about it but he told me it was there for A WEEK. I asked the person at least to show me then I found out it was MINE!! They cannot even make a note for the lost and found item when it was found. What made me dissapoined was they didn't even show that item to me (the item was exactly the one as I explained). Overall, this hotel is nice but cannot expect a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Tam, Thank you very much for your time in leaving us your review. We are naturally disappointed to hear that all our service did not meet all your expectations. However we have seriously taken on board your comments about this inconvenience and taken corrective steps to ensure there is no repetition in the future. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our resort especially our beach and our rooms and thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff. We look forward to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Andrew
5 out of 5
by Andre

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable and even better than our expectation and worth every cent paid for the stay. Sea breeze restaurant's food was incredible
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great rooms. Good Service. Annoying Beach Salesman

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great room! Check in was an hour and a half delayed. But all in all it was a great place. The beach was clean and super nice. The people selling stuff on the beach were super annoying and super persistent. I had to tell them over and over to go away. Some people liked that though. You know the whole buying stuff that you'll never use or wear again thing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Racist management

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
The management at the hotel (the senior management is all white) is racist towards locals and anyone who looks like a local. My friend from Dar Es Salaam was with me at the hotel and repeatedly got stopped by security or staff (apparently he did not look rich enough to be able to afford the hotel) when I asked the staff I was told that the instructions from management is to not let locals on the resort grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. The security of our in-house guests is paramount and our guests are identified with the coloured wristband on arrival. If guests do not wear the wristband issued the staff and security will check. We have a very strong local market following and we employ over 500 local staff with a number of local staff in senior management and supervisory positions. We also work very closely with the local community on a number of key projects. For the security of our in-house guests we cannot just allow anyone to come in the resort unannounced. The challenge we face is the control and access of external guests that visit the resort without prior notice and this is a daily challenge with people trying to use our facilities for free. All external guests have to check in at reception, pre pay for the day use of the resort facilities and they are given a specific wristband that the staff and security can identify. If an external guest visiting an in-house guests bypasses this control the staff and security will check and verify who they are. I apologise if you felt that our actions came over as racist as this is certainly not the case. Kind regards Andrew
5 out of 5
by Nurzhan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Apr 18, 2016
We stayed 2 night, April 15 & 16 and enjoyed our stay and the beach. The hotel staff is outstanding. Very nice overall just not 5 stars. Laundry services and can fate cost more than you'd pay in America. I would highly recommend this property if your looking for a beach experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Excellent resort and great beach with blue waters

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Location - on the beach
Cons: Need to have hard mattresses in the guest rooms
Location: Just enjoy the resort as there is not much outside the resort.
We were very impressed with this quality resort. The service from the Front Reception (Alexandra and Hassan), Housekeeping (Kurwa) to the Pavilion Restaurant (Rehema, Carolyn, Simon, Paul and John from the Egg Station) was truly first class despite the busy season. The golf cart transport throughout this was greatly appreciated. The only complaint that we have is that the mattress was just too soft for our liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aa

Great honeymoon experience

Posted Oct 3, 2015
At the reception welcomed us Roxey the manager, and helped us complete the best honeymoon after the Safari.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon and for sharing your experience on Expedia. It was our pleasure to host you and we are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice hotel!!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: All the stuffs are friendly. The food is good. We enjoyed the beach very much!!
Cons: It would be better if there are more water activities to be provided by the hotel.
Location: a bid too far from the airport (1 hour by car), but acceptable.
Our family (with 2 children) enjoyed very much for staying at the hotel & Zanzibar! The beach (sea water) is nice & very close from the hotel room. We stayed 5nights at the hotel, but we enjoyed food, pool, beach, etc. The water near the hotel is so clean that it is just like Moldiv!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on your families recent stay in our beautiful resort. As a family friendly resort, I am delighted you all enjoyed yourselves as well as our food offerings, swimming pool and our private beach. We are very lucky with our location as our Indian Ocean Sea is very clean as you shared. I am also grateful for your positive comments on our staff service. I am pleased to confirm that we are in the process of upgrading our water sports activities for our guests. Being in the northern area of the island provides many positives especially the amazing sunsets, unfortunately that means we are a little further distance away from the Airport but as you stated, this is acceptable. We all hope you will return again in the near future. Kind regards Andrew General Manager