Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel, not great service

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The staff was constantly trying to get tips and sort of felt like servants fluttering around us at all times, "too much" for me and my boyfriend. The food is way way way over priced (32 dollars for a dinner not including drinks or water of any kind). You can find great cheaper food on the beach. The room was great, although we aren't sure why were put on the third floor when the hotel was practically empty (there are no elevators). Don't take a taxi through the hotel either, they will charge 70 when the standard is 50.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beyond amazing!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Friendly staff, clean beautiful hotel, gorgeous beach and good food!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
not what i was expecting , prices were higher then should
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted May 5, 2016
Very good hotel, staff is very friendly. Everything in the hotel room works, which i have found it does not in some other hotels. The hotels restaurant also have machines for killing flies and fans in the roof, this is good so you can eat your breakfast in peace without constantly fighting the flies. Guards in the hotel ground keeps the local salesmen out so they don't come and try to sell you their worthless stuff. When you leave the hotel grounds for a walk on the beach then they follow you and want you to buy their stuff and they don't take no for an answer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Bathroom needs some maintenance. Food not so good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tehran

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Location: visit the local village. nice and friendly people.
A friendly and energetic manager. Mr. Shaun he takes care of all the guests just as he would for his family. caring for all minor details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Resort living

Posted Nov 7, 2015
It was all good at DoubleTree. After a strenuous safari/trek over 1 weeks, we wanted hands-free relaxation and got it. To be clear, you have to get off the ranch to get real local flavour and more affordable food and drink but that's easily done. For us, the B&B option was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London - UK

Excellent hotel in the village of Nungwi.

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Staff are excellent and willing to go extra mile to help.Beach is clean but there is weed to content with.
Cons: The road leading to the resort is in a very poor state. It passes through the village and large pot holes make the ride extremely uncomfortable.
Location: It is good for those who like piece and quite. There is daily evening entertainment at the hotel but outside it is quite after 7.30pm.
This is a good hotel about 90 minutes from the Airport. The beach is good however there is a bit of seaweed which is a bit of inconvenience. I recommend sea shoes as at low tide the sea retreats half a kilometre and there are sea shells and other creatures which need t be avoided. There are a few good restaurants next to the hotel, Flame Tree Restaurant is good and reasonably priced . However as in Zanzibar do not expect a speedy service. It typically takes 1-2 hours to get a meal in a restaurant. Stonetown is 70 minutes drive from this resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great Place but a bit pricey

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Double Tree is a very well maintained resort. People are friendly and they have everything you need. They has a spa, gym, pool, bars, restaurants, and a facility to book day trips for diving/boat cruises, etc. Food and drinks are a bit pricey, but if you walk walk along the beach you will find many reasonable food and drink options. Overall good stay. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice end to our Tanzanian adventure

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Great service, good room and nice beach/pool area.
Cons: It looked a little tired in places - but nothing that a refresh and a lick of paint won't fix.
Location: We found some great beachfront restaurants just a short walk away which made a nice change from the hotel's food offerings.
We booked into the Doubletree after our Kilimanjaro Trek - and it was just what we needed. The room was very comfortable and always kept clean, the staff very friendly and the beach/pool area was great. It was a quiet time of year with not too many guests so everything was very calm and peaceful! The hotel could do with a wee bit of updating but the facilities were all great and the ladies in the spa were fab!