Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not to my expectations of a hilton hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: the pool and beach
Cons: - hospitality -accomodating guests entirely - lighting in rooms
Location: the road to the hotel is atrocious, there are many hotels near by which you can walk to and lots of guys on the beach offering various beach activitie
- staff are not as accomodating and friendly as you would expect, being able to cater to your every need - staff barely speak english or understand it - breakfast isnt served before 7, and even then everything is not organized - rooms are stuffy and a bit gloomy - check in and check out wasnt as smooth sailing as expected - werent really welcomed or thanked for our stay - found hair in our room service, when we complained we were told oh sorry and given a bottle of water as compensation - the beaches are amazing - pool is great too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A

Good for a realxing stay, away from everything

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel is great if you want to get away and be sucluded. I spent 6 days, 5 nights here. It is close to the very top of Zanzibar so you are farther away from a lot of touristy stuff. The beach is beautiful and the hotel provides loungers and towels to guests for free. You are on island time so be mindful of that when ordering food (as in don't wait until you're starving or you'll be very upset). Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would go again for a more relaxed vacation. If you are planning on doing A LOT of sightseeing I would stay in a more central location as tours from this location can be very pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice stay at Doubletree

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: the rooms were great, comfortable and relaxing
Nice hotel, great location, attentive and friendly staff at reception. Would recommend for anyone wanting a relaxing stay at a resort. Beach is close, nice and walkable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise in Paradise

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic resort. Great food and bands. Large comfy rooms. White sand beach! Great staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Branco

Very convenient hotel with good facilities

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel very convenient in Nungwi with easy access to restaurants, pubs and front view to the beach! Rooms very spacious and with pool or ocean view! Good breakfast with lot of varieties. Some room of improvement in terms of activities indoor (e.g. Gym/dance in the pool, games, etc). Very happy with our choice and with services and facilities existent in the hotel!
5 out of 5
by Mukulanshonyi

Great hotel, awesome staff, with all facilities.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in a remote untamed nature. The staff was exceptional, attentive to our needs. The room we booked Had 2 single beds, this was the last one available when booking, but on arrival we requested a room with a large bed, and the next day we were given a room with a large bed, on the beachfront. At night we could hear the soothing sound from the waves. It was awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel, not great service

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The staff was constantly trying to get tips and sort of felt like servants fluttering around us at all times, "too much" for me and my boyfriend. The food is way way way over priced (32 dollars for a dinner not including drinks or water of any kind). You can find great cheaper food on the beach. The room was great, although we aren't sure why were put on the third floor when the hotel was practically empty (there are no elevators). Don't take a taxi through the hotel either, they will charge 70 when the standard is 50.
3 out of 5
by Valerija

Rather dissapointing stay

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Rather dissapointing stay. First of all, if you are going there for swiming in the ocean, don't waste your time. Due to the high and low tide and because the beach is not cleaned at all i.e. there were often plastic bottles floating around, since the locals go in the sea early in the morning, the water is good for swiming only 2-3 hours per day. Additionally, there are the local boats that block the view and pass around constantly. Don't be fooled by the "amazing beach" reviews, because those were obviously written by people that don't mind spendind their time sunbathing or around the pool. From our experience, the pool was great, but we didn't go there to swim in a pool. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfy, but be aware that the water in the bathroom is salt water and both the pressure and temperature of the shower are very difficult to adjust. Finally, the biggest problem we had was the food. I have read some bad reviews about people having bad tummies, diarhea and even food poisoning, but assumed that those were some isolated cases when people maybe ate someting outside the hotel. That for sure wasn't the case with us, because we only ate in the hotel and had the same problem. A greater care has to be taken on how they store or serve food, as you can see meat, ham etc. served at 30 degrees for 4 hours during breakfast. Regarding the staff, some staff was nice and understanding, others had a slow and lazy attitude. Overall, dissapointing stay and won't go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with fantastic friendly staff and great service. Food and drinks are quite expensive compared to restaurants in the area which is a little unnecessary when the room rate is very high. a very enjoyable stay but a bit overpriced. We enjoyed walking along the beach trying out all the lovely restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude/ Least Hospitable Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Worst experience, i would normally prefer staying in a hilton but for the price i hated the stay. The hotel was very badly managed as in they were no toiletries kept in my room as i entered for a shower. Next thing after shower turned on the shower was cool and it takes a few minutes to heat up. Ok disappointment occured but it was bareable. After a long tiring day i switch on the tv to find out the tv wasnt working i called the front desk for help instead of a pleasing solution i was denied help that night and was promised to rectify the problem next day. That didnt happen btw. I go to pool bar to see the bartenders are untrained and have no idea of simple cocktails like malibu pineapple. After speaking to a manager i end up getting my drink after 30 MINUTES. I just stayed for two nights and these are just quarter of the problems i faced. Not worth typing more. It was a waste of my money. To be brief : - Rude/laidback Front desk - Untrained Bartenders - Slow Service - Least Helpful technicians - Rude Main Manager I was staying in hiltons honor rooms and still had the bad experience. Other than that room are decently comfortable. Food was good. Easy access to beach but wished i was staying somewhere else on the strip. Cheers :)