Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s a

Great hotel with super friendly staff.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I had an A++ experience, the hotel is way better than the pics, pool is great, spa is good, staff are super friendly and they are on top of everything. They are very detailed oriented, the food was awesome and I strongly recommend it. If I have to write anything negative I will say it's a little far from the airport. It takes about an hour and a half but it's not a big deal if you're staying more than a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

The best place to stay in Zanzibar

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Absolutely great, excellent rooms and room service, excellent meals and bars, the pool is the best and the staff are absolutely the best, i will be returning for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A truly amazing hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2013
I loved it for its beauty, service and relaxation. If you don't like this place, it's your fault, not theirs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View but lacks service

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Great view and a great setting but the service was less than perfect. Example, the concierge helped us with our flights but charged us $1 an a minute to dial a local call. The bill was incorrect and when we discovered the mistake, they tried to blame us for it "you should have told the server that your meal was included". Food was mediocre at best. Internet was slower than dial up. The hotel manager was kind and a very interesting fellow but he needs to do a better job of training his staff and change some of the policies. All in all, we will not be staying at the Zalu anytime soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kobe city

almost perfect!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
kind staff,good location,beautiful view from room,so we could spend excellent time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Duarte Correia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share with us your feedback, following your most recent visit to Essque Zalu Zanzibar. I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and please rest assured I will be sharing your most kind words to our team members, who will be delighted to receive such praise. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and providing you with a memorable and enjoyable experience at Essque Zalu! Best Personal Regards, Duarte Correia General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from Angoulême

hôtel face à la mer avec beau ponton vue imprenabl

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: La restaurant était de très grande qualité avec un choix varié (nourriture internationale ou locale ou végétarienne). Le personnel était très aimable.
Cons: Prévenir que les dollars datés avant 2006 ne sont pas acceptés et notre carte bleue ne passait pas ce qui nous a posé problème.
Location: Diving club à 5 mn "east cost africa" professionnel mais prix élevés. Par contre village à proximité rappelant le niveau économique très bas de l'ile
Après 3 jour dans le sud de l'ile et traversée via foret de Josani et plantation d'épices nous avons pu profiter des 4 derniers jours de notre séjour au ZALU hôtel ou calme et sérénité régnaient avec un très beau bungalow face à la mer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sus from Verbier

Hakuna Matata

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: The architecture
Cons: Replace the manager! His social skills are a nightmare. During meals, when he shows up he leaves a slimetrack. If a problem occurs he turns invisible!
Location: Nungwi, with very good diving. You also can visit a turtle hatchery.
We spent 2 weeks in Zanzibar, one week in the south in "the residence" and the second in essque zalu in the north. As a family with 2 kids (3 and 7) we always travel to foreign places with good hotels. The rooms are practical but compared to other places a bit dark. For a small extra charge you can upgrade to a villa which is much better value. From the massive pool you have a stunning few. All the life on the beach is based around the tides. With high tide you unfortunately can't go for a swim in the there cause of the waves. With low tide it's nice to go for a walk, but watch out for sea urchins! The food is fantastic, but you need to bring some time cause also the breakfast is a la carte. A really stunning interior design of the hotel compliments the building itself. Unfortunately the kids club was a huge disappointment. There is not toys at all - well you don't need them if you have a program with excursions etc., as long as it happens! Sometimes there was something happening, other days nothing at all. After booking a babysitter a only Swahili speaking person showed up, well! Normally there should have been movies, organized by the kids club, during dinner times - this happened only 2 out of 8 nights. Of cause not only the parents were a bit stressed while the kids were playing with other kids hide and seek in and around the restaurant!