Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel installations are very good as well as the location. The beach is amazing. Unfortunately, service is poor. However, I understand the new adm
Cons: The hotel installations are very good as well as the location. The beach is amazing. Unfortunately, service is poor. However, I understand the new adm
Location: The beach is amazing.
The hotel installations are very good as well as the location. The beach is amazing. Unfortunately, service is poor. However, I understand the new administration is working on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Excellent Beach, Comfy room and great staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Beautiful experience...gorgeous from beginning to the end. Food and service was prompt. I enjoyed the juice and pasta stations at meal times. The swimming pool tiles have started to come out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from USA & South Africa

Great hotel beautiful beach.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The very hospitable staff made my stay truly enjoyable. The clean, white sandy beach and the warm, clear water was the perfect place to relax.
Cons: The food at the Tuesday and Friday night extravaganzas was delicious. The food at the buffet is good. The food at the restaurants could be much better
Location: This is a perfect location for a relaxing vacation.
The Hideaway is a great hotel with a wonderful staff on a beautiful beach. The junior suites are very well appointed. My view of the ocean from the second floor suite was fantastic. I was traveling alone and felt very safe and cared for from my arrival to my departure. The activities they provide are engaging without being intrusive. The all-inclusive package was a great value as the a la carte items quickly add up. The hotel is a hour away from Stone Town but excursions are easy to arrange.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Heaven and Hell

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Probably the most tentative staff i hav ever experienced. The food was excellent and the facilities again we excellent.
Cons: Noise and cosidering other guests.
Location: We did not venture out.
Outstanding location. Oustanding staff and service. Probably one of the best if not the best hotel i have stayed at but it is certainly the noisiest hotel i have stayed at. There is no way to get awat from screaming kids, inconsiderate guests and the constant interuption of message tones and mobile phones. This hotel is used as a family holiday destination for Israelies and eastern europeans. If it was an adults only facility or had a culture of asking guests to consider other guests then it would have been perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Fantastic stay on a paradise stretch of beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms, beach access, complimentary upgrade, staff.
Cons: Food quality.
Location: Beach, beach, beach.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway of Nungwi. The hotel is beautifully situated beside a wide stretch of white sand and turquoise ocean on the northwestern coast of Zanzibar. The hotel has an amazing location and is not affected too badly by seaweed farming and low tides characteristic of this region. We received a complimentary room upgrade which was amazing, a huge one-bedroom suite with garden patio, stunning decor and well equipped with every convenience you could need. The staff is extremely warm and welcoming. Nightly turn-down service was a lovely added touch. We had a chance to try their three restaurants, which were okay. The hotel also offers nightly entertainment, which is good since there's not much else around (and why would you leave such a beautiful property?). There are also specialty themed dinners a couple nights a week with a live band and I thought the food there was better. All around, a great stay at a beautiful property and I hope I have an opportunity to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This resort is possibly my most favourite in the world. I travel quite a bit for work and overall the experience was amazing here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Perfect beach getaway

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Location: On the beach. Half hour walk to Nungwi along the beach. The walk to Nungwi takes about 45 minutes but is not very accessible at high tides.
The Hideaway is just that. A perfect spot to get away from your daily grind and enjoy what Zanzibar and it's people have to offer. Wonderful room, well maintained and impeccably cleaned twice daily including the nightly turn down service. Great beach for walking, mainly at low tide as high tides restrict the beach access towards Nungwi. Ocean temperature is perfect and sand conditions wonderful. Safe for swimming, but watch out for the sea urchins. Breakfast and dinner was very good and be sure to book the Teppanyaki grill for a treat. Staff and locals are wonderful, even though occasionally discussions get somewhat lost in translation. We spent 7 glorious days here and look forward to returning in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning escape!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely lovely experience with luxurious rooms and bathrooms, excellent food and great, friendly professional staff. Beautiful resort with breathtaking sunset views and large variety of water sports available. One of the best resorts ive had the pleasure of staying in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Amazing hotel, just dont send laundry (5$ per item)