Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice but....

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, central location and attentive staff. Albeit very tastefully decorated I am not sure the price is fully justified. The two things that didn't help my stay were: 1) they've gone for the 'no door on the bathroom' look in the bedroom- while some artsy types may relish in this architectural feature, I for one was glad I was travelling on my own. Can't see the romantic feeling lasting long with no privacy for morning ablutions. 2) I booked the sandpit picnic (original dhow safari) through the hotel with the understanding that by booking through the hotel and paying a hefty premium (US$100 at hotel vs 30k shillings outside) the tour would be well organised and safe. Well, the guide didn't speak English (which was fine because he did try to be helpful with detail where he could but wasn't good when safety details couldn't be communicated), the motor in the boat kept breaking in the choppy sea and they fed me a flimsy chicken sandwich while every other tour group had delicious bbq-d seafood. My sandwich looked so pathetic that the family in the tent next to mine offered me their food. Overall one kind of gets the feeling at this hotel that they think if you're a tourist you have plenty of $$ to spare/burn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Princess treatment

Posted Jan 22, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was given excellent treatment by the staff, greeted by name and met with a cold towel and fresh fruit juice at check in. I was given a complimentary upgrade to one of the superior suites which had many nice little touches of hospitality. The complimentary breakfast was very generous and had many more options than most places I have stayed before. They also arranged for me to have a very late check out from my room to accommodate my early evening departure time. Was glad I decided to "treat myself" to more than a budget hotel because I was certainly treated well by this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Eintauchen in die Seele von Sansibar

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
Angenehmer Aufenthalt in einem außergewöhnlichen Hotel. Sehr geschmackvolle Zimmer in einer alten Familienresidenz die mit viel Geschmack renoviert wurde. Eine gute Gelegenheit in die Seele von Stonetown einzutauchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elisabeth from Oslo

En oase i Stown Town

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
Vi hadde to overnattinger her. Hotellet ligger beskyttet mot støy fra handlegater utenfra. Nydelig swahilisk frokost, flott opplevelse med middag på takterrassen. Hele hotellet er vakkert innredet med antikviteter og nydelige fotografier av fotografen Jafferjei. Flott at rommene som ikke var i bruk sto åpne slik at man kunne ta en titt inn. Dette er noe vi absolutt vil anbefale andre som skal til Stown Town. Cama Sutra suiten, med utedusj på egen takterasse, var deilig etter å ha ruslet rundt i gatene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeannette from Ansager

Fantastisk hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Hotellet var ganske enkelt fantastisk. Vi blev godt modtaget i receptionen med forfriskende nedkølede håndklude og en velkomst drink, og blev derefter fulgt op på vores værelse. Vi havde egentlig booket et dobbeltværelse, men hotellet havde opgraderet os til Kamasutra suiten (gratis)- suiten var så gennemført i Zanzibar stilen, alt var perfekt. Der var et bredt sortiment mht morgenmaden, og alle ansatte var høflige, smilende og meget behjælpelige. Hotellet ligger midt i byen, der er sikkerhedsvagt ved døren - samt kan man på hotellet betale med visa og MasterCard. Vi vil helt klart anbefale dette hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels