Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Princess treatment

Posted Jan 22, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was given excellent treatment by the staff, greeted by name and met with a cold towel and fresh fruit juice at check in. I was given a complimentary upgrade to one of the superior suites which had many nice little touches of hospitality. The complimentary breakfast was very generous and had many more options than most places I have stayed before. They also arranged for me to have a very late check out from my room to accommodate my early evening departure time. Was glad I decided to "treat myself" to more than a budget hotel because I was certainly treated well by this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in stone town...

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you're a 'hotel' kind of person then look elsewhere...if you have exceptional taste and are looking for a well run local accommodation then this is the place to try. My only concern is that if it becomes too popular I won't get a room next time I'm in stone town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from London

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from London

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by D from Virginia, USA

Jafferji House and Spa

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Unique accommodation.
Cons: Perhaps restaurant - change breakfast to buffet or some kind of self-serve.
Location: Within immediate walking distance, not much except vendors. One street behind is lovely Mrembo Spa; waterfront is easy walk but not safe at night.
Beautiful hotel, very unique, richly decorated. Two negatives: 1. Location: hotel is located on tight alley with many vendors, but not much else i.e., restaurants. It's easy enough to walk towards waterfront for restaurants but not a walk you want to do at night, it is not safe; nor did I care to walk it even during the day solo - they vendors keep after you, which I normally don't mind but there was no way to just browse without being bothered by the next vendor. I ended up shopping for souvenirs at a large touristy store just to have some peace. 2. Restaurant: service is extremely slow - every meal is sit-down service off menu (doesn't change) - which is fine for lunch or dinner (but they do not serve alcohol) but breakfast took almost 50 minutes. Gallery Tours operates out of Jafferji - shop around, Lonely Planet and other guidebooks have recommendations for accredited tour operators. I used Gallery out of sheer convenience as I didn't have much time in Stone Town, but think they are over-priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Unreliable

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts are very good. Moderately fast wifi is provided to all the rooms. Security guard posted outside. Air conditioning.
Cons: Don't double sell rooms. Clean bathroom tubs. Turn down service should be done earlier than 9 p.m.
Location: Great location in Stone Town. Go to Changuu or Prison island. Shops are nearby. Street food in plaza is amazing.
I booked a standard room for two nights at this hotel after reading several reviews praising it for its romantic atmosphere and high quality rooms. Unfortunately, due to a problem with the arranged transportation to Zanzibar, we were only able to make it to the hotel one night late. We attempted to contact the hotel and notify them of our tardiness but the listed phone number on both Expedia and Jafferji's website was incorrect. Consequently, upon our arrival, the manager notified us that he had sold our room to someone else early in the morning. This happened despite the fact that we had booked, and paid for, a room at the hotel. The manager was very sorry for having resold our room and tried to find us a comparable room at a different hotel. He sent us to Emerson Spice hotel which ended up being the best hotel we stayed at in stone town. We did want to give Jafferji a second chance as it is supposed to be one of the best in stone town so we booked two more nights there for few days later. I can't help saying that this was a mistake. The green chipped concrete tub in the bathroom had tons of sand in it. I expected someone to wash it out when cleaning the room. Another quite annoying experience was that we received a knock at the door at 9pm asking if we wanted turn down service then. A little late for turn down for me... I'd say the main competitor to Jafarji in the same price range would be Emerson Spice, which quite frankly blows Jafarji out of water in every way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London

Charming and unusual small in tradirtional buildin

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Good breakfast, served individually. Location excellent for sightseeing on foot.
Cons: Avoid rather "naff" Christmas muzak in dining room. Odd smell of drains in bathroom part of bedroom.
Location: Ten minutes on foot from hydrofoil terminal. Right in the heart of the old town.
Chose hotel because of its location in the old part of Zanzibar (Stone Town). It is entered off a narrow alley (no cars) and is built around a series of courtyards. Rooms (which have individual names rather than numbers) have studded wooden doors and stylish interior decor. Beds have mosquito nets, not really required since rooms have fans and air conditioning. Ambience is quiet and artistic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, but service could do with improvement

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel has lots of character and is creatively decorated. The breakfast was also good.
Cons: The service was very average. They were good at asking if everything was ok but didn't actually listen or act on the responses which was annoying.
Given the positive reviews we were somewhat disappointed with our stay. We loved the décor but the thing that let it down was the service. Very Average.