Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T.

Historical hotel in Town Stone

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Traditional location
Cons: The ACs could be improved in the rooms. However the staff was reactive and upgraded us to a large charming suite (Jafferji Suite)
Jafferji Hotel is located within a traditional zanzibari house, with interior courtyard, and crafted wood decoration. It is located within the old city but only 5min walk away from the beach front. Close to all touristic spots within the city.
3 out of 5
by laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but....

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, central location and attentive staff. Albeit very tastefully decorated I am not sure the price is fully justified. The two things that didn't help my stay were: 1) they've gone for the 'no door on the bathroom' look in the bedroom- while some artsy types may relish in this architectural feature, I for one was glad I was travelling on my own. Can't see the romantic feeling lasting long with no privacy for morning ablutions. 2) I booked the sandpit picnic (original dhow safari) through the hotel with the understanding that by booking through the hotel and paying a hefty premium (US$100 at hotel vs 30k shillings outside) the tour would be well organised and safe. Well, the guide didn't speak English (which was fine because he did try to be helpful with detail where he could but wasn't good when safety details couldn't be communicated), the motor in the boat kept breaking in the choppy sea and they fed me a flimsy chicken sandwich while every other tour group had delicious bbq-d seafood. My sandwich looked so pathetic that the family in the tent next to mine offered me their food. Overall one kind of gets the feeling at this hotel that they think if you're a tourist you have plenty of $$ to spare/burn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Princess treatment

Posted Jan 22, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was given excellent treatment by the staff, greeted by name and met with a cold towel and fresh fruit juice at check in. I was given a complimentary upgrade to one of the superior suites which had many nice little touches of hospitality. The complimentary breakfast was very generous and had many more options than most places I have stayed before. They also arranged for me to have a very late check out from my room to accommodate my early evening departure time. Was glad I decided to "treat myself" to more than a budget hotel because I was certainly treated well by this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Service, Great Location, Average Rooms

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels
Pros: The staff were fantastic and very flexible. The breakfast was large and tasty, with many options. Located right in the heart of Stone Town, the hotel is a short walk from most of the places of interest. Cons: No door or proper wall between the bathroom and the sleeping room. While the room was large, it seemed awkwardly setup for lounging, but was fine for sleeping. Beds were a bit less comfortable than anticipated for the price point.
5 out of 5
by alissa from boston

Amazing- Best room I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
I spent nearly a week in the Mercury Suite of the Jafferji House in May, 2014. It was literally one of my favorite hotel rooms that I've ever stayed in. It was amazing. I had a huge, comfortable bed, a big shower, tv, sitting area, and all amenities. It smelled good, was climate controlled, and just had a lot of character, just like the rest of the hotel. The staff was amazing, especially some of the guys that were always in the main area, cleaning, or helping me with my bags, or just to say hi and teach me a few new Swahili words. Also, the housekeeping was always amazing and I was so happy to come home to a comfortable room, the turndown service was a treat, and I loved the personal touches on the bed like the Swahili proverbs, the candy and the tea at the end of my stay. The restaurant was also delicious, and I definitely recommend that you try pilau rice and the lentil curry. The kitchen staff was nice, but just be aware that everything is made to order so leave time for your meal. It is obvious the Jafferji takes customer service very seriously and wants you to be totally satisfied. The only disappointment I had was that the spa was under renovation, so I had to go to Cinnamon spa down the street- probably not as good as Jafferji would have been! And, my only warning would be that if you are two people, there is no actual door on the bathroom, so be warned in this particular suite. Overall, I LOVED the Jafferji and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in stone town...

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you're a 'hotel' kind of person then look elsewhere...if you have exceptional taste and are looking for a well run local accommodation then this is the place to try. My only concern is that if it becomes too popular I won't get a room next time I'm in stone town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from London

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.