Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

AMAZING VACATION!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and SO helpful! They truly make sure you're stay is as relaxing as possible!
Location: Do the snorkeling tour - book it at the front desk - it's only $20 USD and it was amazing! Also, go to The Rock for dinner!
A friend and I stayed here for 4 days following a month long study abroad trip to Tanzania. We chose Kichanga based off a recommendation from another friend who had stayed here the previous year after her study abroad. She told us it was a nice place, but it exceeded every expectation we had! First of all, the room was amazing. We had a wonderful (albeit, a little hard) king sized bed, with an amazing bathroom and even a changing room! Everything was provided for us - from the beach towels, to the beach bag, to bottled water everyday. The food was really great. Breakfast and dinner were included with our stay - and how can you go wrong with that. We both usually had the fish dish every night and it was always prepared nicely. They also have yoga, which we scheduled for sunrise. The yoga instructor, Ilse, is amazing! I've never done yoga before and she made sure to explain all the positions and ensure I was doing it properly to not hurt myself. It was a great way to start the day. The service and staff were probably the best I've ever encountered. A few days before we were set to arrive, I received an email asking if I'd like a car service to pick us up from the airport. We also wanted to set up some tours for one of the days, and we went to the front desk and they took care of literally everything - so we were able to do the Spice tour, Stone Town and Prisoner Island all in one day for only $95 USD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and great staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Stunning location with a beautiful private beach. We stayed in one of the ocean bungalows, which had a beautiful balcony with a great view. Staff was super nice and accommodating and helped us with a variety of needs, from broken shoes to stomach troubles. Cocktails were delicious, food wasn't amazing but it was pretty good. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Posted Dec 29, 2015
I think it needs to be modernized more and the food portions to be increased. Other than that, every thing was really perfect and I would go there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice view, good beach when tide in

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: needs AC, Fridge,Tea Coffee facilities
rooms good but requires AC, nice location quiet beach and friendly staff. rooms need updating though. owner is nice since he asks about stay on almost daily basis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

Great Hotel and Great Staff

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The hotel was secluded on a great stretch of beach. Accommodations were modest and very comfortable with NO distractions.
Cons: Water pressure and bug spray would be improvements but they hardly effect the experience at the hotel.
Location: The location is secluded and secure. If you are looking to go in excursions everyday the ride to get to them will cost you about 1.5 hours.
Had a great experience from the moment we got off the plane in Zanzibar. Was met by the hired and proceeded to the hotel. Once we were there the expectation was for the typical resort hotel with guest abound but this place was quiet and virtually asleep. Masai greeted us and and hotel staff greeted us as well and was willing to prepare a meal for us because the journey was long and we arrived late. The room was very comfortable. The beach front bungalow is a requirement as it is the best was to experience this property. Walks on the beach was amazing and relaxing. By far sitting and doing absolutely nothing was the best part. There was not blaring beach music not loud parties and not pressure to upgrade to more elaborate accommodations or buy excursions. You could everything or nothing at all; Truly a gratifying experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Relaxing holiday

Posted Nov 1, 2015
We were a group of 4 ladies we booked a ocean view bungalow, we arrived at the lodge at 2pm in the morning we were driven down a long and dusty off road track which worried us a little bit at 1st, we needn't have worried it was fantastic very relaxing with a homely feel, not commercialised at all only 24 bungalows. Food and services brilliant George is so nice looking after our needs, Tina did the same through the day too. Because of the elections we couldn't go into Stone town, so we relaxed by the pool, we had just finished a charity bike ride for Women v Cancer so it was a well earned rest x x 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Fabulous beach views

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: The setting, the lodges, the beach, the peace, the staff and the wonderful views.
Cons: The food choice in the evening was limited although the food was good. There was more choice at breakfast which meant we had a great start to the day.
Location: The lodge is on the east coast so the tide goes out quite a way but this didn't detract from our enjoyment of the beach. The setting is secluded.
We stayed at Kichanga after three nights in Stone Town and throughly enjoyed our stay. Our lodge had a great location overlooking the beach and was full of character. It was great to sit on our deck, or swing in the hammock, and admire the view of a beautiful white beach and blue seas. The setting is perfect and the beach terrific. It's great to wake to the sound of the sea and look up from you bred to see the palm roof. The lodges are really distinctive. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all we had a great time. All the staff made an effort to say hello and talk to you. The beach is lovely and it was great exploring the pools when the tide went out. We were really happy with our choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calm, relaxing, peaceful...

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Clean, safe, perfect location
Cons: Internet...maybe
Location: Sea, sex, and love, dont go there alone as single
Location is perfect, staff are greath as the food, included breakfast and diner.... My only regret, to not have paid more for the villas.....next time owner is very friendly and the swimming pool is perfect always empty. for the sea, depending on the tide, you can see many fishes just near by... nice place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Was very good... lovely staff and food... the localization is perfect and very private... my daughter (2 years and 9 months) enjoyed a lot and the end of day beach soccer was very good experience as well... Thank you all for the good service provided. Regards ACosta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place, great location on beautiful beach

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Beach, rooms views, peace and quiet
Cons: Wifi and 'extras'. Excursions were expensive, as was massage. The latter was very good, but twice the price of similar massage down the road.
Location: Isolated and therefore very peaceful. beautiful beach and wonderful ocean views. Very little to do nearby expect visit a few restaurants by boat.
If you want a complete rest, this is the place. The rooms are simple, but lovely; very comfortable bed and spacious with great ocean view. The food was good and the staff very accommodating. The excursions were a bit expensive, so good excuse to do nothing. Wifi drives you a bit nuts as runs out after an hour (if it's working) and have to get a new log on slip from reception. At least it was free. Beach is just lovely, with mainly locals walking along to the nearest village. Just a couple of guys out to sell you trips, but very polite and will leave you alone once they know you're not interested. So able to wander along the beach hassle free. Would definitely recommend the place and will return soon to recharge the batteries.