Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in schöner abgelegener Umgebung

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Das Hotel hat einen authentischen zambianischen Charakter. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und stets hilfsbereit. Landschaftlich zwar sehr abgelegen aber an wunderschönem Strand. Schwimmen ist nicht einfach wegen der Fluten, kleiner Hotelpool bietet jedoch Alternative. Extras (Getränke, Essen, Ausflüge) fanden wir sehr teuer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

AMAZING VACATION!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and SO helpful! They truly make sure you're stay is as relaxing as possible!
Location: Do the snorkeling tour - book it at the front desk - it's only $20 USD and it was amazing! Also, go to The Rock for dinner!
A friend and I stayed here for 4 days following a month long study abroad trip to Tanzania. We chose Kichanga based off a recommendation from another friend who had stayed here the previous year after her study abroad. She told us it was a nice place, but it exceeded every expectation we had! First of all, the room was amazing. We had a wonderful (albeit, a little hard) king sized bed, with an amazing bathroom and even a changing room! Everything was provided for us - from the beach towels, to the beach bag, to bottled water everyday. The food was really great. Breakfast and dinner were included with our stay - and how can you go wrong with that. We both usually had the fish dish every night and it was always prepared nicely. They also have yoga, which we scheduled for sunrise. The yoga instructor, Ilse, is amazing! I've never done yoga before and she made sure to explain all the positions and ensure I was doing it properly to not hurt myself. It was a great way to start the day. The service and staff were probably the best I've ever encountered. A few days before we were set to arrive, I received an email asking if I'd like a car service to pick us up from the airport. We also wanted to set up some tours for one of the days, and we went to the front desk and they took care of literally everything - so we were able to do the Spice tour, Stone Town and Prisoner Island all in one day for only $95 USD.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Puro relax nella natura

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Abbiamo soggiornato una settimana in questo lodge. Piccolo e confortevole, personale simpatico e sempre disponibile. L'hotel molto isolato ma in un contesto stupendo dove si può godere il cambiamento della marea con colori e sfumature uniche. Appassionata di fotografia un vero paradiso. Colazione molto buona con succhi freschi e cena servita al tavolo tutto molto curato e buonissimo. Dal bungalow una vista mozzafiato dove si può ammirare l'alba. Consiglio questo lodge per che cerca tranquillità
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Vue magnifique sur un lagon bleu

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Calme, très belle vue, beau jardin, grands et beaux bungalows et personnel agréable.
Cons: Piscine trop petite. Mobilier très sommaire et peu confortable.
Location: Hotel isolé sans possibilité de promenades aux alentours. Aucun village ou autres restaurants à proximité. Snorkeling possible en bateau 40$ /2p.
Vue magnifique sur un lagon aux bleus exeptionnels, hôtel isolé et tranquille, personnel agréable et prévenant. Problème frustrant de baignade car le lagon est très peu profond et la baignade est quasiment impossible même à marée haute. Les fonds sont rocheux et pleins d'oursins. La piscine est propre et bien tenue mais toute petite (environ 10 m de long sur 5 de large). Les bungalows sont très spacieux et munis d'une terrasse agréable mais le mobilier est sommaire et peu confortable. Pas de frigo. Pas de climatisation. Pas de fauteuils ou de transats confortables. Les repas du soir sont peu recherchés. Pas de poisson frais. Les consommations sont relativement chères. 2 dollards pour 1/2 litre d'eau potable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and great staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Stunning location with a beautiful private beach. We stayed in one of the ocean bungalows, which had a beautiful balcony with a great view. Staff was super nice and accommodating and helped us with a variety of needs, from broken shoes to stomach troubles. Cocktails were delicious, food wasn't amazing but it was pretty good. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Posted Dec 29, 2015
I think it needs to be modernized more and the food portions to be increased. Other than that, every thing was really perfect and I would go there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice view, good beach when tide in

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: needs AC, Fridge,Tea Coffee facilities
rooms good but requires AC, nice location quiet beach and friendly staff. rooms need updating though. owner is nice since he asks about stay on almost daily basis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Coupés du monde, pour le meilleur !

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Nous avons passé 4 jours et 3 nuits au Kichanga Lodge. L'accueil y a été très chaleureux. La situation géographique est idéale, loin du brouhaha des villes. L'hôtel a sa plage privée avec un bar de plage, transats, palmiers et sable blanc. Nous avons dû mettre des chaussures de plage en plastique afin d'aller nous baigner car les coquillages étaient ouverts. La nourriture est très bonne avec du poisson frais. La chambre est très agréable ainsi que le personnel. Après avoir passé 6 jours à escalader le Kilimanjaro et 3 jours de safaris, nous étions ravis de pouvoir nous détendre au Kichanga Lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torino

Ottima posizione e ben integrato nella natura

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: I bungalow e la spiaggia
Cons: le linee telefoniche . Non è stato possibile fare una chiamata internazionale nemmeno dai loro telefoni fissi
Location: un po' decentrato e impossibile direi muoversi a piedi.
Il viale di arrivo lascia un po delusi ma poi all'interno il resort è molto bello. In stile locale , diverso dai villaggi di lusso, ma i bungalow sono davvero belli, con un terrazzo vista spiaggia e mare mozzafiato. La spiaggia è una delle più belle della zona, con sabbia bianca e mare dai colori variegati , scarsa presenza di rocce e alghe (almeno a Novembre). Bellissimo e gestibile il fenomeno delle maree grazie alla tabella oraria in reception. Ottima la cucina anche se poco varia. Personale cortese e disponibile (molti parlano anche l'italiano). personale della reception non altrettanto simpatico (almeno una!). Anche il bar sulla spiaggia fornisce spuntini gradevoli. Colazione ottima.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

Great Hotel and Great Staff

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The hotel was secluded on a great stretch of beach. Accommodations were modest and very comfortable with NO distractions.
Cons: Water pressure and bug spray would be improvements but they hardly effect the experience at the hotel.
Location: The location is secluded and secure. If you are looking to go in excursions everyday the ride to get to them will cost you about 1.5 hours.
Had a great experience from the moment we got off the plane in Zanzibar. Was met by the hired and proceeded to the hotel. Once we were there the expectation was for the typical resort hotel with guest abound but this place was quiet and virtually asleep. Masai greeted us and and hotel staff greeted us as well and was willing to prepare a meal for us because the journey was long and we arrived late. The room was very comfortable. The beach front bungalow is a requirement as it is the best was to experience this property. Walks on the beach was amazing and relaxing. By far sitting and doing absolutely nothing was the best part. There was not blaring beach music not loud parties and not pressure to upgrade to more elaborate accommodations or buy excursions. You could everything or nothing at all; Truly a gratifying experience.