Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare, Zimbabwe

Excellent hotel on the beach

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Location is excellent and there is a quirky little bar next door that was lovely too.
From the moment we set foot at KonoKono we knew that we had made the right decision. It literally is heaven on earth. The beach is sandy white with turquoise blue water. I have recommended the place to all my friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kenya

Great hotel by the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Almost everything about this hotel is perfect. The only improvement i would recommend is on food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada abu dhabi

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Small plunge pool. When low tide, terrible for swimming in ocean. Big huge white powder sand beaches. Nice to chill out and not do much. Take small boat to the Rock restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Idyllic hideaway on bounty type beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The rooms are all set apart with plenty of space and up to a high standard of furnishing considering where it is in the world.
Cons: It would be nice if there were bottled water available freely at all times.
Location: This is an out of the way location so very little is nearby, however, there are mountain bikes if you wish to explore.
The hotel is superb, run to a high standard by an Italian manager. The staff were all very accommodating and so friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food (also an Italian chef) is superb, dining outside with plenty of choice and such a romantic setting. We were late in arriving (missed flight connection) but we notified the hotel by email and they were so quick to respond and offer us a light snack to be put in our room on arrival. The beach is vast, powder white sand and is so peaceful, safe, warm blue waters - really out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A class act

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Perched tastefully back from a pristine beach, with the finest, porcelain-white sand, there is a minimalist, yet warm charm to Konokono. Individual villas, surrounded by native vegetation and red, pink and white bougainville, offer intimate privacy. Except from inquisitive white-faced monkeys. Every evening offers a different twist. Live music, sunset drinks, Swahili food and entertainment, and on-beach dining compete to claim favourite memory status. With charming, always grinning, local staff and thoughtful, expert international management, this place is a winner.
5 out of 5
by Ashleigh from Melbourne

Amazing relaxing hotel in an exclusive location

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Kono Kono for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The resort is absolutely stunning and tucked away in a secluded and exclusive part of the island. The staff were lovely, friendly and always looking for ways to make our stay even better. The food was absolutely incredible and having the option for countless lobster for dinner was a bonus. Kono Kono has a top wine list too and make stunning cocktails. We would highly recommend also visiting The Rock Restaurant Zanzibar if you stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect honey moon end

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Perfect beach , great rooms
Cons: Restaurant food was a bit hit and miss but nothing too bad.
Perfect beach holiday and a great end to our honey moon. One of the best hotels to avoid the tide effect ( i.e. it is the least affected on the island)
5 out of 5
by Deny Steve

Hidden paradise with a very friendly staff

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and great, friendly and very helpful staff. The villas (+/- 60m2!) have an own terrace with a nice splunge pool and are nice furnished. The setting of the hotel is superb, located on a nice sandy white beach. Just the lack of English understanding of the staff and therefore the lack of training through the management ist not that good. Also it is not that easy to get to the Hotel. Only a badly road brings you to the very end of the Island where the hotel is located. The Location is nice cause it is very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning location and wonderful experience

Posted Nov 9, 2015
This was just the most perfect beach resort hotel we could have imagined . The location is remote and quiet .. Perfect for a romantic and relaxing break . The resort is elegant and sophisticated with wonderful attention to detail in the unbelievably spacious accommodation . The evening meals were superb and with the restaurant overlooking the pool and beach what a fantastic backdrop. Breakfast fine but un imaginative . The staff were wonderful , attentive helpful and always available to assist . Beach is prone to seaweed at certain tides but the hotel work admirably at cleAring this and at low tide the sea is too shallow to swim in , not a problem since the infinity pool is a delight to spend time in . The location is remote so not a great place for an activity based trip but for a relaxing break in a stunning resort this place is simply perfect.
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Dubai

Wonderful break

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic place for a break from the world. The resort is very well laid out and comfortable. Excellent pool and room facilities. It is out of the way and although it offered day trips we were more than happy to stay at the resort and totally relax for 4 days. The food is above average but it is the one area where the resort could improve. Great service from friendly and efficient staff.