Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Markus

Come for the beach, not the hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very basic beach hotel that shows it age, many doors only close with excessive force and the breakfast buffet is covered every mornings with flies and wasps because it is open air. Very pricey transfer from and to the airport. But the beach is indeed fabulous!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
It is fantastic hotel to stay with family. Quite and peaceful location with friendly staff. A bit far from the ports and town and difficult to find transportation locally. Breakfast can be improved - with proper management or presentation. Staff/chef and management need to know the difference of being veterinarian - Veg meal can be contaminated by non-veg meal. The only hot meal during breakfast is mixed with non-veg, which is not friendly for Vegetarian customers.
1 out of 5
by Paul from Fort Lauderdale

Disappointment

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointing. A hotel without A/C in the heat. No working internet connection and a manager/owner(?) who is defending himself like Basil Fawlty. After staying here we went straight to the Hilton appreciating good quality and service. The staff of the hotel was very friendly but the environment was not available for them to shine.
5 out of 5
by gemma from London

Friendly, clean and great staff

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely pleasant and friendly staff. Great selection of food and it changed at breakfast every day which was good. Excellent wifi even in room for me. Flowers on bed every day lovely touch. Activities well organised. Hotel am hour from stone town and quiet little village nearby but this is perfect if you're looking for a quiet getaway.
2 out of 5
by Michael from San Francisco

Only if you like seclusion

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was quite disappointing. If you don't mind drab, small windowed rooms and are looking for seclusion with no excursions then this hotel is an affordable option. The hotel is right on a little private beach although no windows face the beach and one can barely see out the little windows either way. The outside of the hotel looks quite renovated but the rooms are fairly depressing. The worst thing is that the hotel is so far away from anything that any excursion will include high taxi expenses, more than doubling the cost of an excursion if one is more centrally located. Staff were polite however a bit inexperienced. Wifi was very unstable and my room's air conditioner did not work. Food was quite good. Management was a mix between a lovely lady and a brusque man. I cannot recommend this hotel. Better to stay in Kizimkazi where you can find much better for the same price.
4 out of 5
by dena from New York, NY

Not bad, could be better

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
La Madrugada Beach Hotel was a welcome getaway from the hustle and bustle of Stonetown. That said, it is quite isolated which is both good and bad. There was no one on the beach, constantly harassing us to purchase goods, but there was also no other real options for food, unless you got into a cab. The food was between average and good and it is all you can eat. The breakfast fruits and breads always had flies on them, which made them inedible to me. The bar service was absolutely miserable one of the three days we were there. Apparently some sort of mis-scheduling of the staff. In addition, there was only one type of whisky on offer, and not a very good one. They were unable to replace this bottle for a day. The pool and the beach area are kept clean and were very inviting, however there are not enough lounge chairs for all guests which made getting a chair quite competitive which I don't care for on holiday. Also the headrests are fixed, with no way to adjust the tilt. All in all, it's not a bad place, but they do have some work to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambezi Valley, Zambia

A comfortable hotel on Zanzibar.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: I liked the rooms. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The WiFi could be extended to cover the rooms far from the router.
Location: It's one of the most southern hotels and far from anywhere. Need to take a taxi to get around.
I liked the location. Would say it's one of the most southern hotels. The beach wasn't all that wonderful as it had to be cleared of coral and they have left a few sharp bits. The wind wasn't as fierce either as some of the northern beaches. The swimming pools made up for the beach though. They were excellent. The service was fine and the food was good and everyone tried to be helpful.
4 out of 5
by Ali - Keria from Ethiopia

Good Stay & relaxing time

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
It was good value for Money. If you are after relaxing time and peacefull vacation this is the right place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible value for money

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Pros Location Beach Pools Beach beds Staff Clean rooms with warm showers
Cons: Cons Cost of food (but it wasn't insane) Comfort of bed (they should invest in some new pillows and mattresses but we slept fine)
Location: We stayed at the hotel.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel in Zanzibar and are worried about how cheap this one is, don't be - you should go ahead and book. The views are incredible and the pools are perfect. We were totally relaxed and didn't have any real complaints. We were shocked by how nice the hotel was for the price...it's just so hard to find that kind of value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Toronto

Nice hotel by the beach in secluded area

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Peaceful area, beautiful beach, two refreshing saltwater swimming pools, friendly staff
I stayed at La Madrugada Beach Resort for ten nights including Christmas. On Christmas Eve they had local performers do an evening show with drumming, singing, dancing and other surprises. Just a note for future visitors, prices are all in US dollars, the exchange rate for Tanzanian Shillings is fair. It is most economical to pay in cash with US dollars. Credit cards are accepted with a 5% surcharge.