Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Key Location Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel to stay one or two nights in Stone Town. Key location to walk around the city, main points, restaurants and stores. Stone Town is a 90% Arab town so nice cultural details to see.
3 out of 5
by Jeckeline

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay as always, the service was good however I really don't understand that after all these years you don't get some kind of arrangement with municipality or from the hotel itself do something about the horrendous smell and looks of the outdoor trash only 5 meters away from your entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: wifi, wifi
Good location, room on the small side, breakfast more than adequate. Wifi needs to be improved
5 out of 5
by Israa

The best of the best

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
MaruMaru is simply a gem. The rooms wère comfortable and clean beyond the normal. The location is the best you can get in stone town as it is close to everything and easy to find (important in stone town wère you will spend you days asking for direction lol). The breakfast was delicious and varied enough, food generally was really good but above all that the service is impecable. The staff, from the manager to the house cleaning was so helpful. They accommodated my needs and went out of their way to help. One small thing, if you are very sensitive to noise then avoid room 309 because it's under the rooftop restaurent, but I have to say I stayed there and that only vaguely bothered me on Saturday the rest of the week was noiseless!! (Oh and even on Saturday i put on ear plugs and slept like a baby on the comfortable swahili bed)
5 out of 5
by Jaimeson

Comfortable room in a great location

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Possible the best mid-range hotel in Stone Town. The cleanliness and service were excellent, if pricey. The rooftop restaurant and bar has a great view.
4 out of 5
by thierry

Be careful...

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great. Just a problem for check-out when the girl at the reception asked us for 15$ taxes saying we did not pay any taxe with Hotels.com. She did not wanted to give me any receipt. When she saw I will not move , and as the taxi was waiting outside, finally she gave me a receipt for the taxi... So I said to the taxi that I have already paid for him at the hotel and he said: I know.Be careful...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location in ST, Zan

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Shopping right outside the door. 1 block from the park where you can get dinner from the vendors at night.
The hotel is in a great location for walking around ST.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and in stone town Very convenient to move around
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Stone Town Property

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel centrally located. Boutique style, good decorations, friendly staff, fantastic rooftop restaurant and bar with a beautiful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff. Kind and helpful.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This is Zanzibar, for heavens sake. You cannot expect the amenities of Manhattan. But you do have zanzibar!