Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: wifi, wifi
Good location, room on the small side, breakfast more than adequate. Wifi needs to be improved
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location in ST, Zan

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Shopping right outside the door. 1 block from the park where you can get dinner from the vendors at night.
The hotel is in a great location for walking around ST.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff. Kind and helpful.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This is Zanzibar, for heavens sake. You cannot expect the amenities of Manhattan. But you do have zanzibar!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud noise from the restaurant

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Only managed to sleep for 5 hours since the restaurant in the terrace was moving tables and chairs unail past midnight. Called reception 3 times and came upstairs myself twice. Nothing changed. Same happened in the morning. It is a shame. The rooms are nice but the management didn't care about our complains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Best choice in the mid of town

Posted Sep 22, 2015
If you are looking for a clean and good place to stay and for comfort in stonetown, i would deffinitely recommend this hotel. It is in the middle of the town yet feels like away from all that dirt and crowd. Best choice and quality. But exchange rates are very low in this hotel when compared to anywhere in zanzibar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Very Noise!!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The roof top bar is nice although not as nice the one at Africa House or 6 Degrees South.
Cons: Most of the noise was caused but the kitchen staff chopping ginger and whatever at 6am. Some respect towards the guests would go a long way.
Location: This hotel is in the slummy area away from the beach - would be better to get a hotel closer to the beach which is only 2 blocks away.
Would not stay here again - rooms are small, dark and extremely noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
This hotel is in a great location. The staff is inviting and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the roof top atmosphere and food. This was a great place to stay in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Great location, right on a busy alley, but peaceful and cool once you step inside.
Location: Spice market, evening fisherman dinners on the waterfront
Warm welcome, with no problem getting into our room early. Staff were very apologetic that the top floor restaurant was closed that evening for a private function, but we were able to get up there for a coffee to admire the great view over the Stone Town rooftops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice clean hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and very friendly, courteous staff.
Cons: Provide more TV channel choices
Location: The location is not of very high standard but the good thing is that there is lot of choice to eat outside in various restaurants.
We were greeted with very friendly staff.Their service and hospitality was beyond our expectation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right in the centre of Stone Town

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: the location
Friendly stuff and nice people around, good vibe.......................................