Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stone Town practical hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, clean and centrally located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Best choice in the mid of town

Posted Sep 22, 2015
If you are looking for a clean and good place to stay and for comfort in stonetown, i would deffinitely recommend this hotel. It is in the middle of the town yet feels like away from all that dirt and crowd. Best choice and quality. But exchange rates are very low in this hotel when compared to anywhere in zanzibar.
4 out of 5
by Beryl from pilling england

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
we enjoyed are stay the staff very helpful only one chair in room so could not both sit at the same time the hotel was in the heart of stonetown so very good could walk everywhere
5 out of 5
by Jana from München

Everything was perfect

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
We had a perfect stay at the Maru Maru. The staff was really nice, the service really good. Every night we found some treats in our room and you get a small bottle of water for free every day. The rooftop terrace was awesome. We definitely would come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Very Noise!!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The roof top bar is nice although not as nice the one at Africa House or 6 Degrees South.
Cons: Most of the noise was caused but the kitchen staff chopping ginger and whatever at 6am. Some respect towards the guests would go a long way.
Location: This hotel is in the slummy area away from the beach - would be better to get a hotel closer to the beach which is only 2 blocks away.
Would not stay here again - rooms are small, dark and extremely noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
This hotel is in a great location. The staff is inviting and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the roof top atmosphere and food. This was a great place to stay in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
by Maria E from Texas

Great Hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay! The hotel staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. It's in the perfect spot, just a few steps away from the Old Fort, the House of Wonders, Palace Museum, and Forodhani Gardens. Strong wifi signal and walking distance from the ferry.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple charm in center Stone Town

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Maru Maru is a charming hotel in the center of Stone Town's bustle. The front door gives a great vantage point on the constant comings and goings. My room was pretty and clean and well-appointed. The staff was very gracious and helpful. Breakfast, both food and service, was mediocre at best and for this reason I avoided the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Simple, clean accommodation

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
We have stayed in the modern part of the hotel ( room no 106) the room was clean, modern, average size, but it lacked the soul. The breakfast was average. View from the top is one the best at sundown. The staff is very helpful at the reception. Location is very good. Many shops and restaurants nearby
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Der Service war sehr gut und freundlich. Das Hotel ist sehr gepflegt und liegt nah an vielen der Sehenswürdigkeiten Stone Towns. Von der Dachterrasse hat man einen sehr schönen Blick über die Stadt. Das Frühstück ist vollkommen in Ordnung. Wir können das Hotel auf jeden Fall empfehlen. Zwei kleine Minuspunkte während unseres Aufenthaltes gab es jedoch: Unser Zimmer lag an dem Innenhof, was zwar schön, aber relativ hellhörig war. Und Kreditkartenzahlung ist relativ kompliziert, da das Gerät bzw der Daten-Empfang nicht gut funktioniert. Wir konnten dann vor Ort online mit Kreditkarte zahlen, was allerdings mit einer kleinen zusätzlichen Gebühr verbunden war. Was die Stadt betrifft: Sehr interessant; anderthalb Tage haben uns allerdings gereicht.