Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Heaven on earth

Posted Dec 8, 2016
If you are lucky enough to stay here, you will see that words do not do it justice. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Simply Bliss

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Everthing - piece of heaven
xi can not tell how how happy we were to be at Matemwe lodge, wow - what a find and such an experience. This place has everything, from a beautiful story of how two sisters on their way to India found themselves in a once in a lifetime situation where the government was looking for foreigners to help build a tourist industry by giving them land in Matemwae and how they have impacted the village around the property over the last couple of decades with education, building infrastructure and bringing a revenue stream that would help them flourish and grow, to the breathtaking ocean front views that every villa faces with extraordinary sunsets, to the delicious Swahili influenced food served at every meal, to the stunning aqua marina life (I can’t believe we swam up close with dolphins and saw turtles, leaf fish, stone fish, lobsters, stingrays etc as within a 30 minute boat ride there is a preserved marine park), to the rustic and airy charm of the accommodation that are simply fabulous- this place has made its way in to our hearts and we will be back! once thing i will say about Zanzibar is that there are is so much character to each part of the island and we loved moving around, but this sometimes can prove to be very expensive with transportation but we had a wonderful driver that we hired and he took us everywhere and really made our trip, we absolutely are grateful to him for making our experience that much easier getting around and helping us plan!!!! his name is Uss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with amazing service.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating. This secluded property was right on the beach and many options for outdoor activities. The food was fresh and delicious!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A lot to love, but go in with eyes open

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: The pool., the people and the food was excellent
Cons: Cooler rooms and much more reliable wifi.
Location: The sea, snorkelling, but other than that the village is quite poor and therefore wandering on unnacompanied wouldn't be reccomended
There is a lot to love about this place, but it took me a couple of days to see it. For me there are some elements about the type of offer that this is that you need to consider carefully as to whether they are non negotiable for you for the perfect holiday. The resort is beautiful, but it is rustic and this might not fulfil everyone's expectations of a holiday. There is no air con, just some fans and luckily a constant sea breeze, . Don't expect things like tv's or fridges stocked with Pringles or cold soft drinks. This is eco luxury
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Easy Living

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly staff; varied and delicious three-course meals at all lunch and dinners; on-site travel and water sport service; hammocks
Cons: As a solo traveler, it was odd at times as this is more of a couple's retreat. Also, as I don't drink alcohol, the all-inclusive price seemed high.
Location: Rural setting next to a local village. Waterfront bungalows, beach access. As a runner, this place is great for low-tide, beach runs. 1 hr to airport
I chose to visit Zanzibar for a short, relaxation trip. Upon arriving at Matemwe Lodge I was greeted with smiling faces, fresh squeezed juice and a cold towel. Before going to my room I was provided a quick tour of the resort and returned to my room with my bags already there. Breakfast is usually buffet-style with fruits, juices, and breads; however, you always can order omelets, eggs, sausages/bacon, and pancakes as well. Lunch and dinner are three-course, set menus, but you are given at least two choices for each. The weekly seafood barbecue was my favorite meal. The convenience of having an onsite water sports venue connected to the resort simplified matters. They have free kayak rental and I went snorkeling once as well. They also offer spa treatments on site. Above everything else I loved the "smallness" of the resort. It only has 12 personal bungalows, so the resort never seemed crowded and the staff greeted you daily by name. This atmosphere provided a sense of calm that you would not be able to find in a larger resort. The pool always had available lounge chairs and the dining area never exceeded 20 people. I would definitely recommend this place to others looking for a relaxing trip to Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

A Paradise on the Beach!

Posted Nov 15, 2015
This is one of those places that words can never do justice to. You have to visit to experience. The staff are amazing.. From the team onsite at the lodge to the water sports staff, they work around the clock to ensure your stay is pleasant without being overbearing. I am going to return to the hotel for another stay. I have traveled around the world and stayed in a lot of paradise-type hotels and Metemwe lodge is in that league without a doubt. A big thanks to Marco, Arthur and Salum. You guys were awesome hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach, CA

Perfect Retreat in Zanzibar

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location and hotel service were fantastic.
Cons: Stonetown and spice tour was a little expensive, as compared to other 3rd party providers. Otherwise, all the other services, tours, spa were ok.
Location: Diving at Matemwe atoll was fantastic. Stonetown is a 1.25 hour drive. Highly recommend the spice tour.
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights after our safari. We picked the Matemwe area due to the proximity to Matemwe atoll for diving and ability for day trips to Stone Town. I highly recommend this lodge. The villas are spacious and offer separate sitting area, separate bath tub and rain shower, outdoor hammock and couch for reading. The lodge also boasts a nice bar, 2 pools, and spa center. The real star was the front of house staff. They went out of their way to make the stay special. For example, they set up a surprise candlelit dinner on the beach our last night. Service in general was exemplary. We were greeted with 2 types of drinks and cool towels upon arrival, and asked frequently how they can make our stay better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Junho from Mwanza

Great Getaway place

Posted Nov 26, 2013
The overall stay was great. Although it was little far from stone town, there are lot of activities which can be enjoyed. Support from staff was excellent, as we arrived late, they opened the restaurant hour after the closing time. view from the room was great. sea was warm and easy access to the water from the stay. Just one downside. there were few mosquitos, so better get prepared. Although they provide mosquito repellant and sprays, its just not enough at the night time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from canada

Piece of Heaven

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Everything. Staff was so thoughtful, accommodating but not intrusive, room was wonderful-right on the ocean, privacy, had great massages.
Location: Very remote, need to take a car to get here. Not a swimming beach but two small pools. Free reef walk, can go fishing with local fisherman.
I stayed here with my daughter for a few days and we wished we could stay forever! Also a few families, lots of honeymooners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Fantastic hotel on beautiful island with friendly staff. Good facilities. Very private. Huge rooms. Excellent in almost every way. Food good - could be improved. Rooms 9 and 10 now have their own private plunge pool.