Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical Villa Experience

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I enjoyed every single part of my stay. The villa is spacious, clean, and very peaceful. The view of the ocean is spectacular, and I just loved relaxing on the hammock watching the sun rise. The all inclusive meals were filling and delicious. Also the staff was attentive and courteous. I appreciated having my excursions arranged by the hotel, and felt completely safe on the grounds. I would HIGHLY recommended the lodge to anyone seeking seclusion, peace, and quiet. I look forward to visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This place just makes you feel good. Everything is perfect, the decor is fantastic, cleanness, the view, the nature surrounding it. Above all the staff is the best ever, they are friendly and attentive but never intrusive. Food was another highlight of my holiday; all the dishes were fresh, everything was home-made. One night there was the barbecue and I had lobster, prawns, calamari, octopus, fish... The room is a bungalow, very spacious, with a lot of privacy and a fantastic view on the sea. It also has a veranda with a hammock and sofa. The resort organizes tours and activities, some of them are free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Matemwe lodge

Posted Jan 29, 2017
It's a wonderful lodge, super attentive and helpful staff. Very enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

The most beautiful hotel EVER

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Heaven on earth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Heaven on earth

Posted Dec 8, 2016
If you are lucky enough to stay here, you will see that words do not do it justice. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Simply Bliss

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Everthing - piece of heaven
xi can not tell how how happy we were to be at Matemwe lodge, wow - what a find and such an experience. This place has everything, from a beautiful story of how two sisters on their way to India found themselves in a once in a lifetime situation where the government was looking for foreigners to help build a tourist industry by giving them land in Matemwae and how they have impacted the village around the property over the last couple of decades with education, building infrastructure and bringing a revenue stream that would help them flourish and grow, to the breathtaking ocean front views that every villa faces with extraordinary sunsets, to the delicious Swahili influenced food served at every meal, to the stunning aqua marina life (I can’t believe we swam up close with dolphins and saw turtles, leaf fish, stone fish, lobsters, stingrays etc as within a 30 minute boat ride there is a preserved marine park), to the rustic and airy charm of the accommodation that are simply fabulous- this place has made its way in to our hearts and we will be back! once thing i will say about Zanzibar is that there are is so much character to each part of the island and we loved moving around, but this sometimes can prove to be very expensive with transportation but we had a wonderful driver that we hired and he took us everywhere and really made our trip, we absolutely are grateful to him for making our experience that much easier getting around and helping us plan!!!! his name is Uss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with amazing service.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating. This secluded property was right on the beach and many options for outdoor activities. The food was fresh and delicious!!
5 out of 5
by Mindy from Boston

Over the Top Beautiful!

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Spent a week at Matemwe Lodge - could have stayed 52. Gina & Ross are the most delightful hosts, who genuinely care about your experience. They greet you many mornings at breakfast and many evenings at the bar before dinner, just to check in, say hello, see if you need anything or offer suggestions on what to do in the area. The grounds are spectacular. Ocean is the star of the show with transcendent shades of blue and green. A strong wind comes off the ocean so you never feel really hot. Do note that this isn't really a swimming beach, but who cares - you can swim in the fabulous infinity pool while you gaze at the ocean - my favorite spot. The deck chairs are great - nice cushions / solid wood. Huge, lush, towels - as many as you want or need. The staff is the second real highlight - everyone there is sincere about making you feel at home and that you want for nothing. Take some time to chat with them - they are a sweet and fun bunch! Mambo, guys!! Food - meals are served 3 times a day and you order from a menu of 3 choices for the entree, plus a starter and dessert - always a veggie option, and a fish option that was just caught that day in the ocean right in front of you. Beds - incredibly comfortable and very nice sheets - all cotton. Pillows are fantastic. The bathrooms are as gorgeous as they look in the pictures. Honestly, I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. I would come back here in a heartbeat. In fact, I know I will.
5 out of 5
by tasha

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The service was top class and hotel beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A lot to love, but go in with eyes open

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: The pool., the people and the food was excellent
Cons: Cooler rooms and much more reliable wifi.
Location: The sea, snorkelling, but other than that the village is quite poor and therefore wandering on unnacompanied wouldn't be reccomended
There is a lot to love about this place, but it took me a couple of days to see it. For me there are some elements about the type of offer that this is that you need to consider carefully as to whether they are non negotiable for you for the perfect holiday. The resort is beautiful, but it is rustic and this might not fulfil everyone's expectations of a holiday. There is no air con, just some fans and luckily a constant sea breeze, . Don't expect things like tv's or fridges stocked with Pringles or cold soft drinks. This is eco luxury