Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Almost On the beach great views
Experience good, beech shoes required as rocky to enter sea when tide coming in ok at high tide though
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
great place to relax and view the ocean activities available vi the hotel if you want them beach very rocky outside hotel but good sandy beach not far away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Idyllic location. As much as you could hope for. Food out of this world and accommodating for vegetarians. Staff very friendly and helpfull
3 out of 5
by gemma from London

Great location and staff

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms a bit old and mouldy but staff really friendly and helpful. Great location, pool and beach. Food amazing but order early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: The shower wasn't the best- very low pressure and having hot/warm water was an issue.
Location: A little far from other restaurants- Paje is about a 45 min walk (on the beach, but the high tide can be an issue).
Great deal! Very nice, and relaxing pool. The hotel grounds were kept clean- I loved the hammocks, and lounging around areas. The room was spacious. Breakfast was standard (eggs, toast, sausage, juice, coffee/tea). Great staff! The food and drinks were a little over-priced- compared to other places in Paje. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but the hotel is a great price for what you get.
4 out of 5
by David from Vancouver, Canada

Great quiet place to get away

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very affordable and has a variety of clean rooms. The pool is a nice touch and has a plethora of pool chairs, hammocks, and swings around it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The wifi is not that great but just as good as anywhere else in East Africa. The occasional ants will scurry across your floor but no worse that anywhere else. The adjoining restaurant is good and they change the menu for every lunch and dinner (though some of the items reappear depending on what they have). The beach is right out front of the pool and restaurant and makes for good swimming at high tide or nice walks on the sand at low tide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Couple from Switzerland

Friendly place, very good value for money

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We loved the restaurant. Compared to other places in Jambiani, food was very good - nice choice with plenty of fresh balanced meals.
Cons: There was no air-conditioning but room was very big with fans so it was okay.
Mbuyuni is a quiet place - nothing to do but relax which is what we were looking for. Staff were very nice and the restaurant was excellent and inexpensive. You have to order your food in advance but this worked well as we found restaurants in Jambiani took one hour to prepare food anyway. Room was very big with decent bathroom. Not a big swimming pool and when the tide goes out, you have to wait to swim as the whole beach is behind a reef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel on the beach very welcoming staff

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing we loved it
Location: It close to other resorts we loved the beach and everything around the hotel
We had a fantastic time here and will be going again everyone was welcoming and very kind 10 out of 10 .
4 out of 5
by Henri from Dubai

Could do so much better

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels
We have enjoyed our stay at Mbuyuni. Service could be improved as well as the breakfast. The front sea bungalows are the one to stay in. Spacious and romantic. The others are smaller and have no view. Be ready to spend a lot of money on taxi if you want to move on the island and from the hotel. Advise, rent a car, it s' cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fe from UK

Good well located hotel for those on a budget

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Pool and location great
Cons: Shower lacked power
Location: Excellent beachside location
Pool very nice, staff very helpful, restaurant very good for evening meals and breakfasts. Room comfortable but bit sparse, no towels and bit shabby and shower lacked power. Good if on a budget.