Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The location is stunning and looks like a postcard. The hotel staff were incredible, polite and willing to go the extra mile. The food was fantastic with such a wide variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Good hotel to relax

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We spent 6 nights over there just for relaxing, the views from the pool is very nice, spa is good and very affordable, food is good and different every night (all inclusive) The beach is not the best to swim and is 50 min from city center/airport, so there is not much to do around, but is perfect if you want to spend days relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northumberland, England.

Nice Spanish Hotel with local staff.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: The rooms, furnishings, pool and the beach are very obviously 5*, Drinks are good including the wines, though some drinks cost extra. Great Spa.
Cons: Coffee sachets in the room are impossible to open. Crazy beer choice system including making you pay extra for Kilimanjaro, all the same price in town
Location: This is an enclosed hotel and apart from expensive trips there is nowhere to go nearby. other hotels offer excursions to local villages, not this one.
Check in was very simple and greeted with a cold towel and a cold fruit drink, I would have prefered a beer on such a hot day. I upgraded to All inclusive premium at a cost of $55 a day which turned out to be a waste of money as I didn't use the facilities available to me, except for room service once and a different beer. My room was large and kept wonderfully clean. I had a partial sea view terrace room in block 14 which I was very happy with. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival to explain that I have some walking difficulties and they obliged by giving me a very convenient room. The food was excellent at all meal times. I especially enjoyed the many home made soups and the fresh breads. Many different foods from different cultures, Local, Asian, Greek and International. Plenty of fruit depending on season. The main pool is large and beautifully located overlooking the Indian Ocean. I had no problems being served with drinks while seated around the pool, and all the pool staff were very helpful and friendly helping with beds etc.My only problem at the pool was the every day noise that they called music, it was some kind of jazz (weird choice) and never changed in the 10 days I was there even though they promised to do so on numerous occasions. The Jetty Tapas restaurant is wonderful, great food, very comfortable and lovely views over the ocean, tide in or out. The Gabi beach is quite special. Many sun beds located either on the beach or under the trees.Also great food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel to relax

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The beach and Gabi restaurant
Cons: The pool water was very cold. The toilet had smell not well ventilated.
Hotel staff should treat local tourists the same, I felt a bit neglected and my requests were not met on time. After contacting the manager that is when was helped. Some of the staffs were very friendly, professional and helpful. Great onsite manager Jose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madrid , Spain

Good hotel on the beach , international flavor

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: We got a good price for a good service .
Cons: we suggest that each detail of the room be checked before new customer arrive .
Location: A visit to Stone Town and to the market should be included in any visit to Zanzibar.
The staff was very friendly , in addition we got an upgrade . The spanish management at site was very dedicated to customer satisfaction and always at hand , the local workers were always with a smile on their face . The sea is just in forn of the hotel , but you need a five minutes drive with the electric cars of the hotel in order to arrive to a beach were you can swim . International flavor with small spanish details .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Great beach, nice pool, amazing vibe and staff

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The Staff, the beach, the weather
Cons: The food, the rooms need a refresh for a 5 star, but they're perfectly comfortable.
Location: We didn't want to do anything nearby - just wanted to enjoy the beach and forget about life for a few days.
Generally a great place to stay in Zanzibar. The staff is lovely, always helpful and smiling and contributing immensely to having a great stay. The Hotel's Gabi Beach is lovely; the secret is to time your visit to the beach to the tide: when the tide is out, you can't swim. But you can walk all the way out to the coral reef and see the coral with your naked eye. The rooms are clean, but they are getting a little dated and it's time for a refresh. Also, there were sometimes funny smells in the toilet and the outdoor shower. The food was OK, except for Swahili night which was great. Gabi beach was always the best place for lunch, and second to that for lunch and dinner the Spice Market. From what I hear, this is a standard 5 star experience in Zanzibar, although it would be closer to 4 stars by European standards. The Wifi is only in the lobby, pool and main public areas, and does not reach the rooms, which is fine for a holiday destination like this. However where you do get Wifi, it works well and I unfortunately got a lot of work done. All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and it's a great place to get away and forget about it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The bathrooms are very large with open air showers and huge soaking tubs. Many of the rooms have at least a partial sea view.
Cons: Food options were a bit lacking and the rooms could use an update. Also, there should be alcohol in the minibars, especially with all-inclusive pkgs.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for three days at the end of January and had a lovely time. It was a bit of a drive from the ferry station but we were pleased with the hotel and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel with private beach and good value

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: facilities, architecture, grounds, beach, pools, air conditioning, outdoor shower, the list goes on.....
Cons: just a little tidy maintenance in the rooms, painting or re-sealing, etc...
Location: we did not leave (or have to leave) the resort to keep ourselves amused. however, there are day trips available for Stone Town, Ocean Safari, Pemba
I had a brilliant time at the hotel! It is showing a little wear - in the rooms more than anywhere else, but that is not to say that they are in any way uncomfortable!! Just a bit of painting here or there, or maybe some mastic that needs replacing. The facilities are excellent, and there is a great variety of venues within the resort. The value for money is exceptional. For an all-inclusive package, the quality of food, drinks, and wines/spirits included is beyond any other resort that i've visited. I would definitely go back, and at the end of 8 days, we definitely wanted about 4 more!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
great place and facilities. very good services and hospitalty!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nm

Perfect location on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel is beautifull. The jetty bar is amazing. I recomand to get the all incusive in this hotel as it worth it very much. Hope to visit again.