Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Beautiful grounds--well maintained. The room was big with a nice bathroom. Wonderful pool, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Alejandro Perez , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to read that your were fully satisfied with your room and our facilities and you overall had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We really look forward to welcoming you back in Melia Zanzibar. Best Regards, Alejandro Pérez Iniesta Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Traveling solo after a month of volunteering in Tanzania. I wanted to stay somewhere nice and I feel that I am often disappointed by all-inclusive places, and that no hotel looks as nice as it does online. However, Melia FAR exceeded my expectations, and it looked better in person than it did on the website. The style of the hotel and rooms was modern but still had an island feel. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and outdoor shower were amazing. The views and pools were simply outstanding. I had the all-inclusive package, and the food and drinks were great. Excellent breakfast, and there was a delicious indian barbeque one night. The staff were great and always asking if I needed anything, made me feel welcome, which was nice as I was traveling alone. The beach was ok, very rocky in the water due to the old reef, and tide goes out quite a bit as it does elsewhere on Zanzibar. It was still beautiful though and the water color is unreal. Bonus, the trails they use to shuttle people to the beach on golf carts is actually a fantastic running trail, too. Not much else around this hotel, but Stone town was a 45min cab ride away. Great trip and a beautiful hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing such a nice review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you Melia Zanzibar “FAR exceed your expectations” and we are thrilled to know that our team made the difference making you feel welcome in our resort. Our whole team hopes to welcome you back soon with us. Meanwhile you can follow us on Instagram: melia.zanzibar Best Regards, Alejandro Perez Iniesta Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London / New Delhi

Great staff, Best hotel in Zanzibar

Posted Mar 4, 2017
This was our first visit in Zanzibar and we are so happy we chose this hotel. We could not have asked for more. Amazing location, great food, beautiful hotel and the kindest, most thoughtful staff. Special thanks to Lucas, a very hardworking member of the hotel, and now a friend, for making our stay so memorable and fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Alejandro Perez Iniesta, Hotel Management
Dear Sheeni, First of all, thank you for sharing your comments about your experience in Melia Zanzibar. We are Thrilled to know that all your expectations were exceed and most of all, that you loved the treatment of all our team members, specially our colleague Lucas, to who will pass your nice words. Our whole team really hope to welcome you back soon with us. Best Regards, Alejandro Perez Iniesta Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Property design is great while rooms are not modern. Phone line was not working. Dining options are satisfactory. They did not clean the room second day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The location is stunning and looks like a postcard. The hotel staff were incredible, polite and willing to go the extra mile. The food was fantastic with such a wide variety.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, relaxing getaway

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Worth every cent. Definitely recommend the all-inclusive so that you can just sit back and enjoy it all! The hotel itself is gorgeous, as is nearby Gabi Beach. There are so many places where you can relax and enjoy a beautiful view. It even rained for a few hours during my trip, and I still enjoyed having a drink by the library bar, or sitting out at the beach while watching the sky darken then lighten back up. The place is a haven for relaxing, indulging and restoring!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Hong Kong

Over-the-top resort experience

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
This resort is all about the shockingly beautiful Zanzibar sun, beach and sky. It is the perfect setting to relax for a few days especially after a safari on the African mainland. The all-inclusive option is an excellent value as well, although it does keep you a bit tied to the property instead of venturing out into Zanzibar's neighborhoods. It depends what you are looking for in a vacation - if you want a resort experience, the Melia has it in spades. It would be great if there were a few more walking paths between the various buildings, to get from a standard room to the restaurant or pool you need to walk down the concrete path shared with the golf carts. The most pressing issue to face though is the light switches in the standard rooms, they are back-lit and cast a surprisingly bright blue hue throughout the room all night. I am a heavy sleeper but I found myself waking up every few hours because of this. The hotel really should put shades over these switches. If they can fix the light switches we'd definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Good hotel to relax

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We spent 6 nights over there just for relaxing, the views from the pool is very nice, spa is good and very affordable, food is good and different every night (all inclusive) The beach is not the best to swim and is 50 min from city center/airport, so there is not much to do around, but is perfect if you want to spend days relaxing.