Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The location is stunning and looks like a postcard. The hotel staff were incredible, polite and willing to go the extra mile. The food was fantastic with such a wide variety.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Good hotel to relax

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We spent 6 nights over there just for relaxing, the views from the pool is very nice, spa is good and very affordable, food is good and different every night (all inclusive) The beach is not the best to swim and is 50 min from city center/airport, so there is not much to do around, but is perfect if you want to spend days relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland, England.

Nice Spanish Hotel with local staff.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: The rooms, furnishings, pool and the beach are very obviously 5*, Drinks are good including the wines, though some drinks cost extra. Great Spa.
Cons: Coffee sachets in the room are impossible to open. Crazy beer choice system including making you pay extra for Kilimanjaro, all the same price in town
Location: This is an enclosed hotel and apart from expensive trips there is nowhere to go nearby. other hotels offer excursions to local villages, not this one.
Check in was very simple and greeted with a cold towel and a cold fruit drink, I would have prefered a beer on such a hot day. I upgraded to All inclusive premium at a cost of $55 a day which turned out to be a waste of money as I didn't use the facilities available to me, except for room service once and a different beer. My room was large and kept wonderfully clean. I had a partial sea view terrace room in block 14 which I was very happy with. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival to explain that I have some walking difficulties and they obliged by giving me a very convenient room. The food was excellent at all meal times. I especially enjoyed the many home made soups and the fresh breads. Many different foods from different cultures, Local, Asian, Greek and International. Plenty of fruit depending on season. The main pool is large and beautifully located overlooking the Indian Ocean. I had no problems being served with drinks while seated around the pool, and all the pool staff were very helpful and friendly helping with beds etc.My only problem at the pool was the every day noise that they called music, it was some kind of jazz (weird choice) and never changed in the 10 days I was there even though they promised to do so on numerous occasions. The Jetty Tapas restaurant is wonderful, great food, very comfortable and lovely views over the ocean, tide in or out. The Gabi beach is quite special. Many sun beds located either on the beach or under the trees.Also great food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing place

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Nice place relaxed atmosphere will be there soon again. Cheers
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel to relax

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The beach and Gabi restaurant
Cons: The pool water was very cold. The toilet had smell not well ventilated.
Hotel staff should treat local tourists the same, I felt a bit neglected and my requests were not met on time. After contacting the manager that is when was helped. Some of the staffs were very friendly, professional and helpful. Great onsite manager Jose
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid , Spain

Good hotel on the beach , international flavor

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: We got a good price for a good service .
Cons: we suggest that each detail of the room be checked before new customer arrive .
Location: A visit to Stone Town and to the market should be included in any visit to Zanzibar.
The staff was very friendly , in addition we got an upgrade . The spanish management at site was very dedicated to customer satisfaction and always at hand , the local workers were always with a smile on their face . The sea is just in forn of the hotel , but you need a five minutes drive with the electric cars of the hotel in order to arrive to a beach were you can swim . International flavor with small spanish details .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Great beach, nice pool, amazing vibe and staff

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The Staff, the beach, the weather
Cons: The food, the rooms need a refresh for a 5 star, but they're perfectly comfortable.
Location: We didn't want to do anything nearby - just wanted to enjoy the beach and forget about life for a few days.
Generally a great place to stay in Zanzibar. The staff is lovely, always helpful and smiling and contributing immensely to having a great stay. The Hotel's Gabi Beach is lovely; the secret is to time your visit to the beach to the tide: when the tide is out, you can't swim. But you can walk all the way out to the coral reef and see the coral with your naked eye. The rooms are clean, but they are getting a little dated and it's time for a refresh. Also, there were sometimes funny smells in the toilet and the outdoor shower. The food was OK, except for Swahili night which was great. Gabi beach was always the best place for lunch, and second to that for lunch and dinner the Spice Market. From what I hear, this is a standard 5 star experience in Zanzibar, although it would be closer to 4 stars by European standards. The Wifi is only in the lobby, pool and main public areas, and does not reach the rooms, which is fine for a holiday destination like this. However where you do get Wifi, it works well and I unfortunately got a lot of work done. All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and it's a great place to get away and forget about it all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norsk

Veldig bra hotell ved det indiske hav

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Cons: Ikke noe spesielt, vi hadde med 2 barn, på 5 og 8 år, men det var ikke spesilt mange aktivitet for dem . Det var Kids Club, men ikke mange barn.
Location: Resort, med de fleste tilbud
V i var der i 4 dager med 3 overnattinger med " all inklusive", Dette må være det nærmeste man kommer til paradiset. Nydelig sted, fantastiske omgivelser, utmerket kjøkken og vennlig og service innstilt betjening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in traumhafter Location!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Location ist ein Traum. Hotel ist modern und komfortabel ausgestattet. Wie man es von einem 5 Sterne Hotel auf Sansibar erwarten kann. Den Unterschied macht das super Team. Immer freundlich, natürlich, hilfsbereit und professionell. Insbesondere die Küchen Leistung ist dann für mich persönlich am Buffet zur Indian Night ein Highlight gewesen. Danke Alessandra, Josef & Chef Nurjan
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The bathrooms are very large with open air showers and huge soaking tubs. Many of the rooms have at least a partial sea view.
Cons: Food options were a bit lacking and the rooms could use an update. Also, there should be alcohol in the minibars, especially with all-inclusive pkgs.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for three days at the end of January and had a lovely time. It was a bit of a drive from the ferry station but we were pleased with the hotel and the staff.