Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Great place, very friendly. Food usually excellent, occasionally only good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

We enjoyed our stay, more like a 4 star

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Our room was nice and spacious. It smelt a little musty and the bedding was bobbly which was a little uncomfortable. Lovely pool and beach area. Good drinks service throughout the day. The only staff that let the hotel down were the reception staff. They weren't very friendly and didn't seem to want to help very much if you had a problem or a question. The complete opposite of all the other staff and cleaners etc. Italian restaurant was lovely. Overall, we had a nice trip. I would however say that this hotel is a good four staff rather than five.
3 out of 5
by Howe

Horrible service! Avoid at all cost

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
The property was great and we had a good time however when we were ready to check out they asked us to pay for the additional night we added despite paying it well in advance. They were disorganized, inefficient and lacked professionalism in dealing with the issue. They would not let us leave making us late for our flight and told our driver to not get in the car. It took them 30min to go through their banking records to realize we did actually pay them. They did not apologize for their error and was very rude to our family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kalamazoo, Mi

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Nice and clean. I enjoyed my stay. very beautiful place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Service with a big smile (always)
I am not in the habit of writing personal messages for travel (business or pleasure) that I undertake but in this case I am willing to make an exception. I travelled with my family of 4 to Zanzibar staying at the Neptune resort from July 10 – 23 this year. We encountered some problems in the first few days, specifically, with the hot water provision and so I raised my concerns. We spoke to the General Manager about our concerns. His sense of duty and care towards guests was immediately apparent and he proceeded to resolve matters resulting not only in our complete satisfaction but, in fact, exceeding our expectations of customer service for any top hotel internationally. I am sure his example is one of the primary reasons why the service and pleasantness of the staff generally at the resort is so fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, grounds and beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I went to this hotel mainly for the beautiful beaches but was also so impressed with the super well maintained resort grounds and spectacular rooms. The flowers and vegetation were so well looked after and the rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. The balcony I had was huge with great views. My one complaint would be that the music played at the beach bar was terrible and played the same songs over and over again. It reminded me of bad elevator music. Otherwise I loved the resort and the beach was amazing! Security was nice to have on the beach too. I was less hounded on this beach compared to other beaches on the island. I will try to return later this year!
5 out of 5
by Blanche

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lizl

Fantastic Time at Neptune

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff are incredibly friendly - nothing is too much effort for them. I think the cocktails on all-inclusive need a bit of work - don't know if they water it down a bit. Some of the evening entertainment wasn't very lively - could create a better island holiday vibe with this and the acrobats they used for one night during our stay was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great food and service

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good variety of dining options. The staff at the Italian restaurant deserve a special mention and made the meal even more enjoyable.
Cons: There is no fitness room. Swimming pools opened 2 hours late every day. No insect screens on doors and windows and holes in mosquito nets.
Location: Plenty of beach activities, but the resort is about 45-60 minutes drive from Stone Town where most excursions leave from.
Overall friendly and helpful staff, with a good variety of dining options and a good spa. There are a variety of restaurants you can dine at in addition to the main restaurant. The Thai restaurant offered a unique sticky rice pudding - without rice :) Organised activities such a snorkeling and diving from the hotel were very expensive, in the end we went elsewhere to do these things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
It was beautiful. The staff was perfectly attentive and quick with a drink. The food was delicious. Wouldn't have changed a thing besides wanting to stay longer.