Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kalamazoo, Mi

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Nice and clean. I enjoyed my stay. very beautiful place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Service with a big smile (always)
I am not in the habit of writing personal messages for travel (business or pleasure) that I undertake but in this case I am willing to make an exception. I travelled with my family of 4 to Zanzibar staying at the Neptune resort from July 10 – 23 this year. We encountered some problems in the first few days, specifically, with the hot water provision and so I raised my concerns. We spoke to the General Manager about our concerns. His sense of duty and care towards guests was immediately apparent and he proceeded to resolve matters resulting not only in our complete satisfaction but, in fact, exceeding our expectations of customer service for any top hotel internationally. I am sure his example is one of the primary reasons why the service and pleasantness of the staff generally at the resort is so fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, grounds and beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I went to this hotel mainly for the beautiful beaches but was also so impressed with the super well maintained resort grounds and spectacular rooms. The flowers and vegetation were so well looked after and the rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. The balcony I had was huge with great views. My one complaint would be that the music played at the beach bar was terrible and played the same songs over and over again. It reminded me of bad elevator music. Otherwise I loved the resort and the beach was amazing! Security was nice to have on the beach too. I was less hounded on this beach compared to other beaches on the island. I will try to return later this year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great food and service

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good variety of dining options. The staff at the Italian restaurant deserve a special mention and made the meal even more enjoyable.
Cons: There is no fitness room. Swimming pools opened 2 hours late every day. No insect screens on doors and windows and holes in mosquito nets.
Location: Plenty of beach activities, but the resort is about 45-60 minutes drive from Stone Town where most excursions leave from.
Overall friendly and helpful staff, with a good variety of dining options and a good spa. There are a variety of restaurants you can dine at in addition to the main restaurant. The Thai restaurant offered a unique sticky rice pudding - without rice :) Organised activities such a snorkeling and diving from the hotel were very expensive, in the end we went elsewhere to do these things.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
It was beautiful. The staff was perfectly attentive and quick with a drink. The food was delicious. Wouldn't have changed a thing besides wanting to stay longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Hôtel charmant sous forme de lodge

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Hôtel bien situé qui donne sur une très belle plage. Le personnel est très agréable et serviable. Il y a 4 restaurants inclus dans le "All inclusive" de très bonne qualité avec des règles d hygiène européennes bien respectées. Nous recommandons cet hôtel avec un emplacement bien situé pour les excursions (relativement central). L hôtel se présente sous forme de lodge qui respecte bien l environnement qui l entoure. Petit bémol sur le prix des excursions exagérés en passant par l hôtel. Nous avons fait nos visites avec eddy Murphy group qui se trouve sur la plage moitié moins cher avec les mêmes excursions!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano, Italy

#ILOVEAFRICA

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: tutto!
Cons: Il passaggio andata/ ritorno dall'aeroporto (1h di viaggio) da me richiesto all'Hotel è piuttosto caro: 175€ per due persone...
Location: Situato sulla lunghissima spiaggia bianca di Matemwe, soggetta a maree incredibili. bello il giro a bassa marea: si vedo tante stelle marine
Sono stata con mia figlia 18enne al Pawani beach resort dal 21 al 28/7/15 e ci siamo trovate benissimo: il posto è molto curato, il personale gentilissimo, si mangia bene e ogni sera c'è un piccolo spettacolo di gruppi locali. Uniche italiane in mezzo ai nordici, per lo più tedeschi, abbiamo stretto amicizia soprattutto con i zanzibarini e i giovani Masai sulla spiaggia, con cui abbiamo chiacchierato a lungo (in inglese, anche se qualcuno parla un po' di italiano) e abbiamo fatto una gita con gli EddyMurphyGroup (con la maglietta gialla) a "nuotare con i delfini" e al parco Jozani ( a vedere i colobi rossi- molto bello) e, unico appunto, la gita ai delfini non è adatta ai bambini o a chi non sa nuotare molto bene, perché siamo stati portati fuori dalla barriera corallina tra grandi onde oceaniche e tuffarsi è stato impossibile. Consigliato anche il giro al piccolo villaggio accanto all'hotel, pieni di bambini a caccia di caramelle (non datele però direttamente a loro ma alle mamme)...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
I admire a big and green territory of the hotel.The food was very good,enough fish for lunch and dinner.A bungalow is quite cozy and nice.The beach is good,but a lot of sea grass and tide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel très accueillant, propre et vaste, typique

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Tout
Cons: climatisation donne directement sur le lit, il aurait été préférable que ce soit de l'autre côté
Nous sommes dans un coin de paradis avec un hotel magnifique et très typique qui nous enchante
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel, prestine beach views

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Beach views, setting, pools / outdoor area.
Cons: Additional waiters serving those sitting at the beach.
Location: No idea, stayed in resort entire time.
We had one night off of work to go to Zanzibar and decided on Neptune. We were looking for a ridiculous beach resort with a pristine setting and that is what we got. All inclusive was great. Food was surprisingly great in main restaurant and there were excellent made-to-order options (pasta bar, grilled fish, lamb chops etc) in addition to buffet. The main draw here is the beach setting and view (just above public beac(. The area for relaxation at the edge of the property is beautiful, with plenty of tree cover for those of you who wish to remain out of the heat of the sun. The setting is serene and one of the best beach environments I have experienced. This is based on extensive trips to the caribbean (Anguilla, St. Martin, St. Barths, Jamaica, St. Thomas, St. John (you get the point)). The beach itself, unfortunately, is not private so you have locals who wait until you step foot off of the property to try and sell you a tour, cigarettes or anything else. They are not rude, but it is still annoying as you literally cannot step one foot off before they start heading towards you like prey saying Jambo Jambo like they are your brother from another mother. Bartenders serving the beach area are also on 'island time', but that was expected. A plus - We had to check out at noon but the staff continued to let us use our all inclusive benefits and sit on the beach until our ride came a couple hrs later.