Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Don't Go to Paradise Beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I was unhappy from the time I arrived. I was told I was not on the all inclusive package after specifically requested it at the time I booked. Either they mislead me or Expedia. I won't use Expedia again. The hotel did not provide turn down service. The food was not the best. Their were actually exclusions to the beverage selectionsselection after paying for the all inclusive upcharge. Not a good experience. Definitely not a 4 or 5 star resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
I would not recommend the local area (nothing to do around and ocean not very clean) to anyone, but the hotel itself made up for that. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are simple and bed not very comfortable. Food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Lovely resort

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Cons: Wifi
Location: We visited Big Boy spice farm and it was a highlight of our Zanzibar visit
Arriving from Malawi, this was indeed a paradise. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious but the food cooked on the grill was overdone. The grounds are beautiful but the ocean here is not a nice as it is further north where it is crystal clear and turquoise. Our room was spacious and lovely. The only negative is that the Wifi is very spotty Other than that, I would definitely recommend this resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is NOT paradise...

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The standard hotel room does not have any of the basic requirements for a 4* rating.. No tv, facility for making tea, basic toiletries, blankets, very poor lighting in the rooms. The first night was awful with no blankets, toiletries, no working AC, no wifi, no keys for the safe. There was a power cut that night too which was not properly rectified (could be done easily) so we had no electricity until the following afternoon. Management didn't seem to care about this and this was more frustrating as almost all of the issues were preventable - it was down to poor procedures. Big shame and put a downer on the holiday. The only plus points were the restaurant staff who were very accommodating, and the excursions organized by an external company hosted onsite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cool getaway resort

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: We liked the friendly staff. We liked the breakfasts. We enjoyed the dinners, sometimes with a whole barracuda on the grill. We loved swimming.
Cons: High tide notices could be more visible, so as to plan swim & snorkeling.
Location: East coast of Zanzibar is a quiet getaway. You can hire trips: to Mnemba Island for snorkeling and diving... StoneTown and Spice Gardens... rent-car.
Great week-long very relaxed getaway. High tide made for some great swims around the Jetty Bar. Low tide meant a trip to nearby Beach #2, beautiful. Pools always crystal clean and beautiful. Half board meant great food morning and evening. Island excursions for snorkeling or sightseeing were readily available. $50 rents you a car so you can tour all of Zanzibar. StoneTown is a great historic destination. But mostly we enjoyed just hanging out around the pool and those shady thatch roof lounges with the hammocks. My telefoto lens got lots of use around the beach as the local women harvested seaweed and the sail boats hoisted colourful sails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and clean resort

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Nice quiet and clean resort. Connot swim in the sea infront of hotel as the rock and reef dont allow it. However there is a free bus to a beach 5 min from hotel. Beach is also a bit smelly due to to the shallow reef waters. Friendly staff and clean hotel. The food could be much better and have the option to have a nice cup of Cappucino or some fresh fish. Price of hotel very competitive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for the money

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for the money. The "second beach" was a short 10 min ride well worth it. The beach was much better than resort which isn't good for swimming although the sand is nice. We spent 3 of our 5 days on the second beach. Very few beach boys which was an added plus. You could walk that beach both ways for a long way without being hassled. Resort pool and grounds were very nice. Swam with the dolphins on two mornings. Best trip was snorkling at north end of Zanzibar and added bonus was a pod of dolphins hanging around the reef. Food was pretty good for the money. We didn't do all inclusive, didn't need it, just B&B
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful resort

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
lovely resort to stay.Good food amazing staff. Room was beautiful clean and comfortable ,will be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent experience in Zanzibar

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: We really loved the overall atmosphere at the hotel. Everyone was very kind and the hotel was very clean. Although our room was small, it was all we needed considering we didn't spend very much time in it. The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated. The rest of the resort was beautiful. We loved the dining area. All staff were friendly and stopped to talk with us. There are a few different buildings with different activities. Beach volleyball occurred frequently. There is also pizza and snacks at one of the smaller bars in between lunch and dinner. There were people of all ages and categories at the resort... families, single people, students on holiday, etc. So it was a nice mixed feel.
Cons: There is nothing that comes to mind that we would have changed.
Location: The beach is good for walking. There is a PADI scuba shop on site. The pool is very nice. Lots of excursions around the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service good setup

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The service sucked no one was there to take our order in the restaurant and in the bar they gave our drinks to someone else and charged us until I complained when the manager solved the problem