Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good views, wonderful staff, good food,

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, views, restaurant location and views, infinity pool, rooms, swimming pool.
Cons: Steps to swimming pool tiles need re-grouting.
Location: star fish snorkelling, great restaurant (the rock), walk on the beach, swimming in the lagoons etc.
We really enjoyed our stay at this excellent hotel. It is situated away from the main tourist areas so excellent for anyone who wants to have a quiet break in a good hotel with very attentive staff who provide an excellent all round service, including good food. The views are wonderful and rooms are excellent and there is always a sea breeze to the heat is not too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote, website totally out of date

Posted Oct 18, 2015
This hotel needs to publicise that it has removed all bars and entertainment. Despite the website promoting pool and beach bars, they are all boarded up now due to a recent policy change. As a result the resort lacks atmosphere and due to its remote location it's not possible to easily leave the resort, especially at night. Food is very mediocre, rooms were nice, though basic and had to ask to have sheets changed as they all had stains. Location is beautiful, and staff are very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing secluded beach - no alcohol

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Our group of five had an amazing relaxing break at this hotel to recover from traveling and safari on the mainland. The beach access was the highlight as well as the highly attentive staff and delicious dinners. One draw back was that alcohol is no longer served at the resort. You have to walk 20-30 minutes down the beach to another resort if you want alcohol. We also had issues arranging our transportation to the hotel. They said their driver would pick us up at a rearranged time but he never arrived. Absolutely stunning location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great place

Posted Sep 13, 2014
If you want somewhere just to relax and enjoy the beauty and scenery this is the place. Plenty of jaunts to see the island. Great location, staff and rooms. Food was excellent!!! Totally enjoyed my stay and would go back and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Peaceful, unspoiled taste of Zanzibar beaches

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, the manager (Charles) who couldn't do enough to help us, the beaches, the pool, the general layout and the laid back feel of it all.
Cons: Consistency of the meals, eg one day the papaya salad was fabulous, the next day, different/not so. Better facilities in the room eg shower gel etc
Location: Fabulous, on an eastern peninsula at the end of a strip of beach hotels, Red Colobus monkeys/mangrove swamps snorkeling great tours. Spice Tour too.
We came to Ras Michamvi as part of a group in August 2014 having been in Tanzania and we really loved the hotel. The facilities are a little basic (eg no plug in sink and no shower gel or shampoo) but we loved that aspect of it all, it felt very authentic and the staff were so helpful, lovely and smiley that you actually didn't mind. As for the pool and beaches (there are TWO beaches at this place, one directly in front of the hotel and one to the side), well, they were absolutely amazing, white sand, turquoise sea and enough sun loungers (and hammocks!) to just loll about in the sun with plenty of shade to keep out of the sun if needed and a brach bar at each venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from montreal, canada

No beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: beach
Location: snorkeling dinner at The Rock
We were really surprised to have no nice sandy beach like in the photos. The photos show a nice sandy beach. In high tide the water covers the whole beach area. In low tide, there is a beach area but there was no sand on it. Apparently, from December until march the sand is washed away then comes back??? ( I would check on this) Too bad I was there in February. Anyway, we had a very nice stay. We did a snorkeling trip that left from the hotel which was great. the pool is nice. The rooms are nice. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place, this is it. The beach (or lack of beach) was a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackson from UK

Great for relaxing

Posted Jan 28, 2014
A great hotel for laying on a sunlounger and dipping in the pool, forgetting about the world. Easy access to the beach where you can walk for miles at low tide - bring shoes because of the fascinating but painful coral! Very helpful staff, will provide transport to wherever you want on the island, prices are reasonable and cars are comfy. Downside is, the fish from the kitchen is not fresh, best way to get around this is to go catch your own! and have chef cook it for you :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tzachy from Israel

One of the best hotels I have been in

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: animals, beach, swimming pool the low tide at night in the main beach... its like a marine safari :) great and big rooms with a big shower
Cons: Dinner a bit pricey (10 dollars for main dish) and low selection . in 1 hot day i had NO cold water in the shower! couldnt shower without getting burn
Location: allot of activities and great beaches... beside that you will have to take a taxi but thats enough for most people.
A very good hotel with plenty of wild life surrounding it. Great staff who didnt care that we were there for a very short visit and didnt care how much money we are gona spend there (they just save us money when they gave us contacts of a good and cheap local taxi driver + came to asked us if we want to join to another group for snorkeling, which we inquired a day before, so it will be cheaper for us AND they even gone and charge even less than their lowest price they charge for a 6 people group + they took us also to a sand bank to walk and take pic's while we were on another activity (that activity alone cost about 30 dollars per person any way only that example is enough to show u how they could charge 160 dollars from us and we ended up paying only 30 in total)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view of the Indian Ocean

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: The view. The quiet atmosphere. The food was good and service was prompt.
Cons: The access road. Language training for staff. .
Location: The hotel is located on a remote point, a 30 minute car ride from significant action (the town of Paje where you can try kite surfing or scuba diving)
Easy access to the beach with a real great walk at low tide. The pool was functional although not full of water? Wifi access at the dining room works well. The dirt road access to the hotel is a real roller coaster. Apart from the reception, the hotel staff speaks very rudimentary English. Apart from the pool and the beach, there is nothing to do (nothing else in terms of hotel amenities).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Finest staff there is

Posted Sep 14, 2013
We arrived at the Zanzibar airport at midnight, called the hotel 90 minutes before arriving, and were greeted at the airport by who we thought was the hired taxi driver to take us to the hotel - but after 20 minutes of conversation, we realized that it was actually the owner who had come out of his way to make sure that we arrived at the hotel safely. He only charged us half of the quoted cost of the ride, and was so pleasant the whole way. Upon arriving at the hotel at approximately 1am, Said greeted us, and broke into the kitchen to find us some food (as we had missed dinner). He was so gracious and accommodating. In the morning, Nasser not only allowed us to stay 6 hours after check-out (free of charge), but also gave us a great discount on snorkeling trip that was just lovely. He was great. The facilities are wonderful, the food was good and inexpensive, and the scenery just doesn't get much better. Approaching the hotel you pass all of the five-star facilities on the island, and so you really have a five-star experience in a much more authentic setting. Highly recommend this establishment.