Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Zareen

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Generally good. Wifi was very weak and slow!
5 out of 5
by Tom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stunning Zanzibar Beach

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Setting and facilities
Cons: Better staff and communication
Location: north end of Zanzibar island--snorkel, kite surf, dive, boat, deep sea fishing
Stunning beaches that are romantic and peaceful. Beautiful rooms that are very comfortable--bordering on luxurious. Amazing amenities. You can book any activity you like on site. Small gift shop but the prices are comparable to Stone Town. Excellent service for drinks and food from pool or beach and amazing dinner service. The chef even prepared the dorado my husband caught for us to enjoy! A 5/5 except the staff don't communicate amongst themselves very well and breakfast service, particularly egg preparation, is painfully slow. Overall fabulous. An Indian Ocean holiday with with the beaches and amenities of Mauritius at a fraction of the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night at the hotel, and I got food poisoning after eating their lunch "chicken chappati wrap". I threw up all night, and the next day when we let the manager on duty know her response was that "she was sorry, but I must have gotten the bug from somewhere else since no one else had complained". I was completely fine before I ate that meal, and my husband who also had a bite felt sick (not as much as me since he consumed much less than me). It is a 5 star restaurant, I shouldn't have to worry about their food quality & it completely ruined my stay. It's been 3 days, and I am still not feeling completely fine yet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Fantastic- couldn't be better

Posted Dec 28, 2016
We had a beachfront room - it was gorgeous . The extra touches were appreciated in the room, the service was excellent, friendly and we were made to feel at home- except better!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very relaxing stay

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel is lovely and very relaxing and it's right next to the beach which has the most amazing aquamarine colour. For a hotel that's been there for around 20 years, it is very well kept and preserved, however they do need to move with the times and this can start by making sure the housekeeping staff are provided with trolleys so they don't have to carry baskets of dirty laundry on their heads in the baking heat and then make sure all pathways in the hotel are made wheel-friendly. Considering the big size of hotel grounds and the fact that they clean at least twice a day, it really is needed! Aside from that, staff are very lovely, obliging and happy (although sometimes their happy cheer seems forced - by management perhaps) and the location is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The beach - the sandspit on the beach is HEAVEN. Deserted...no one around....million stars in the sky
Cons: The lizards in the room. Gulp.
Location: Location is nice but don't waste your time going to Nungwi beach....
Wonderful hotel, had a great and chilled time at the hotel. A bit pricey for dinner everynight....5 dollars for a tub of pringles.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Toronto

Best service ever

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great and the service was awesome. We left early and they even packed breakfast for us to go. Thanks rats nungwi!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Magical setting - perfect for relaxing & unwinding

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Like many people we ended our 9 day safari in Tanzania with 4 days at the Ras Nungwi Beach Resort. The bumpy road from the main road to the hotel had me concerned, but those concerns quickly vanished when we walked into the beautiful lobby area & could see the amazing turquoise waters of the Indian ocean from every angle. We stayed in an ocean front deluxe room - picture perfect with a small front porch directly facing the ocean. The room was immaculate and seemed like it had recently been renovated. The staff was very friendly - in particular, James in the restaurant who had an infectious laugh & Cornell who took care of us at the hotel's beach area. We didn't partake in any of the watersports activities since we just wanted to sit around and do nothing - but, there was plenty to choose from had I wanted to participate. Would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a beach hotel in Nungwi that is away from the crowds. It felt like we were in our own little slice of paradise.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Brooklyn

BEAUTIFUL beach resort and amazing room!

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Ras Nungwi in the Ocean Suite and it was absolutely amazing! The room has a private plunge pool and a private beach section. The hotel was extremely well maintained with amazing views. The one issue we had was that the hot water was broken in the Ocean Suite (it was working in all the other rooms at the hotel though); so after 2 hours of them trying to fix it we eventually were given a key to another room to take a shower there. That was not a huge deal- but would have been nice if management sent us a free pina colada or something to compensate for the inconvenience. Very nice restaurant with fresh and tasty food. Lots of activities at the resort as well. But honestly the room was so nice- we just stayed there the whole time. HIGHLY recommend.