Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Magical setting - perfect for relaxing & unwinding

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Like many people we ended our 9 day safari in Tanzania with 4 days at the Ras Nungwi Beach Resort. The bumpy road from the main road to the hotel had me concerned, but those concerns quickly vanished when we walked into the beautiful lobby area & could see the amazing turquoise waters of the Indian ocean from every angle. We stayed in an ocean front deluxe room - picture perfect with a small front porch directly facing the ocean. The room was immaculate and seemed like it had recently been renovated. The staff was very friendly - in particular, James in the restaurant who had an infectious laugh & Cornell who took care of us at the hotel's beach area. We didn't partake in any of the watersports activities since we just wanted to sit around and do nothing - but, there was plenty to choose from had I wanted to participate. Would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a beach hotel in Nungwi that is away from the crowds. It felt like we were in our own little slice of paradise.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Brooklyn

BEAUTIFUL beach resort and amazing room!

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Ras Nungwi in the Ocean Suite and it was absolutely amazing! The room has a private plunge pool and a private beach section. The hotel was extremely well maintained with amazing views. The one issue we had was that the hot water was broken in the Ocean Suite (it was working in all the other rooms at the hotel though); so after 2 hours of them trying to fix it we eventually were given a key to another room to take a shower there. That was not a huge deal- but would have been nice if management sent us a free pina colada or something to compensate for the inconvenience. Very nice restaurant with fresh and tasty food. Lots of activities at the resort as well. But honestly the room was so nice- we just stayed there the whole time. HIGHLY recommend.
5 out of 5
by Tina from Sweden

High quality relaxation

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing and great time at Ras Nungwi. This is the perfect place for a couple that want to relax and enjoy a high standard hotel next to a beautiful beach! The hotel has very high standard and no complaints can be made on cleanliness and quality. The location is rather rural so don't expect to walk to restaurants/shops. Taxi service is available for a small amount and will take you to the more lively parts of Nungwi. The perfect combination of relax and fun!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 5 Star Property

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: If you are looking to get away from the locals this is the place. A true 5 star property wifi, very clean, great food, friendly staff.
Cons: If they had a snack menu after 6 pm
Location: The beaches on the other side of the island were beautiful. Zanzibar sports picked me up and dropped me off and helped me out with my disability
The only draw back is the beach isn't as nice as other properties. During high tide there is no beach. I went to see about snorkeling 3 times and was told by staff and management that they couldn't not help me due to my schedule. I understand they want to sell the business themselves, but never leave the customer disappointed, At this point I wondered next door property to see if they offered snorkeling ,which the did everyday even cheaper. The prices of everything is also 5 star prices for example $4.50 us per beer next door $2.50. Would I stay here again, yes. Very clean, great food,
4 out of 5
by Vladimir

Nice isolated hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was generally really good. Only downside is not so great beach to which hotel has access to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wunderschönes Hotel direkt am Strand

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Die Anlage ist klein (ca 30 Zimmer/Bungalows), liebevoll eingerichtet in privater Atmosphäre direkt am Strand gelegen. Das Essen im Restaurant ist super - es gibt täglich frischen Fisch. In der näheren Umgebung gibt es nicht viel zu sehen, so dass man entweder ein (relativ teures) Taxi mieten muss oder sich ein paar Tage im Hotel einigelt. Neben Spa und Swimmingpool gibt es einige Bücher zum Ausleihen und Billardtisch etc. zur Freizeitgestaltung. Sehr empfehlenswert.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Tranquil relaxation but the experience needs work

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Location: The location is a strength and weakness. Not much to do unless you walk to town, but perfect for the traveller who is looking for privacy.
Here's the thing. Ras Nungwi is a great place to relax with private accommodations, as well as a great ocean view. There is also no locals on the beachfront that will bother you (most treat you as a walking wallet in Zanzibar). However, the beach itself is not as nice as the beaches in the main part of Nungwi (closer to the Z Hotel). The sand is not as rich and soft, and the water has quite a bit of coral. The downside though is the locals that will hassle you non-stop in the nicer beaches. So overall, a bit of a toss-up that will depend on the traveller. Pros: - Decent accommodations that are private and secluded. - Extremely friendly staff. One of the bar managers taught us the East African game of bao! - Mgmt addressed certain concerns we had and upgraded our accommodations, which we greatly appreciated. - Decent food and reasonable prices. Drinks however, were not reasonably priced. Cons: - The airport transfer cost of US$80 (one-way) is egregious. I was able to arrange my own transfer with a local taxi to Stone Town for US$20. It is absolutely laughable that the hotel collects US$160 round-trip for an airport transfer, when you compare this to local prices - What is also a joke is the USD to Tanzanian shilling exchange rate. Basically 20% worse than even an exchange in a tourist trap - The walk to the main part of town takes more than the 15 minutes advertised. Closer to 45 minutes along the beach - No Wi-Fi in the rooms (only in the common area) - No TVs in the rooms.