Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was there for work but i is always good to be in Zanzibar, good fruit, historic city, small island, beautiful views and lovely people. Stone Town can be walked through in abou a day, a day for the north of the Island and then you would want to go to a resort. the deluxe room is a little more expensive than the other rooms but it's worth it. Big, with a great view, on the quiet side of the hotel etc. Well positioned too although you have to walk a few yards to reach the cabs (streets too narrow) bu then, who wants a cab in Zanzibar anyway most times life around the hotel is 'family based' kids out on the street, women cooking snacks for sale just outside their homes in the alleyways...but you get the tourist restaurants as well very close by....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very modern with nice facilities (good aircon) and the location is very good - close to many restaurants and sights. The service, however, could be improved. All the staff were very nice, but not very efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Neat place in Stone town

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Its a bit hard to find if you are out by yourself, but a driver will know exactly where it is. Its got everything you need and the rooms and very comfortable. Service is excellent as well. Walking distance from the ocean and the food/shopping areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

good quiet location

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: location and bar staff
Location: just far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to be in the thick of things just 2 minutes away.
I came here for my 50th birthday. On arrival I was told there was a problem with my booking a that I would have t contact Expedia. She helpfully read me the email I had sent 10 months earlier asking for a room with a view, slightly annoying as they never replied to it. As I had an updated confirmation in my hand from Expedia I felt it wasn't my job to chase that up.she sorted it out and we went to the roof top to wait for the room to be ready. When we got the room it was beautiful but the worst view imaginable, two of the windows opened onto a brick wall and the other gave us an internal view of the hotel. As we only saw one couple in the time we were there I'm certain the hotel wasn't full. I suspect the housekeeping wasn't as it should be, while the room was spotless, on our second day a little bag of biscuits appeared along with two dressing gowns, neither of these were there when we arrived and there wasn't any information in the room, no leaflets, no phone numbers, , we had to go to reception because we didnt know the number, not the end of the world but inconvenient when youre trying to get ready etc. I asked for an iron, which was brought to the room, with bare cables hanging out and one snapped cable. we had to wait until the next day to have a working iron. My friend had asked for some kind of decorations in the room for my birthday, they said they would do something, but they didn't do anything.
4 out of 5
by martell from Saudi Arabia

Good location.

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Good price for location. Very close to ferry and sights. Walked to everything in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel in Stone Town

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Good location, very nice and spacious room
Cons: Had no Wi-Fi connectivity anywhere in the hotel
Nice hotel 5 minutes from the ferry and close to the food market.
2 out of 5
by Shannon O. from DRC

Horrible service!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel did not have record of our paid reservation from Hotels.com. It took them over an hour to find a room for us after we arrived. At the end of our stay, the receptionist insisted that we still had to pay, despite that I had given them the printed out receipt from Hotels.com that showed that our reservation was already paid in full. The shower in our room was broken as well. Overall, it was a shame, as the hotel was absolutely beautiful, and perfectly located, but the service from the reception was horrible. The service at their restaurant was quite good. The problem was with the reservation and the shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by taichijan from New South Wales, Australia

50/50

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: View of the waterfront from my balcony
Cons: Wet floors a hazard
Location: Local taxi drivers don't seem to know the other laneway access to the hotel from the waterfront. Distance from airport to this spot is a lot shorter.
The hotel is an aged building but has been nicely upkept in the interiors, the same can't be said for the external walls, shored up by planks. Great staff made up for an initial bad impression given when the hotel failed to reply to my email concerning the cost in local currency for a taxi from the airport. Staff most accommodating about changing my room to one with a balcony, when it became available I'm glad I didn't have to move my luggage up or down as there are no lifts so you rely on a strong bellboy. Food was reasonable but a little uninteresting. Massage service good. Central location a key point
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Great rooms, friendly service

Posted Dec 2, 2012
Pros: Room
Location: Close to water front. A few streets back. In the old town.
Great roof terrace. Friendly staff. Good location close tot he waterfront. Rooms furnishings beautiful.