Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by VIDAL from Moçambique - Maputo

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
Óptima conto voltar de novo com netinhos mais novos irão adorar
3 out of 5
by Janine from Orlando

Quaint

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, true to "felt like a sultan"
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Historic Romantic Getaway Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Incredible place. Excellent location in old Stonetown. The rooftop restaurant serves a delicious breakfast as well as lunch and dinner, with a side of spectacular city views extending to the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff. Steep staircase, but worth the climb. It appears they are currently constructing an elevator, though we were never disturbed by any construction. Very clean, with the courteous staff opening and closing the massive curtain-size mosquito netting around the bed at morning and night. Complimentary drinking water and excellent breakfast was a nice touch. Highly recommended. Will stay here next time I'm in Zanzibar for certain!
4 out of 5
by Lana from Ontario, Canada

Historic oasis in Stone Town

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and thought it was great! It's right in the middle of Stone Town and fits perfectly into this historically rich town. It's one of the tallest buildings so the views are fantastic for both our room balcony as well as the roof top restaurant and terrace. The roof top restaurant was definitely the highlight, it's a beautiful oasis with a phenomenal chef, so good we ate all our meals here. The room was large with 20 foot ceilings and suited the local cultural experience. It wasn't perfect in condition, but we weren't expecting perfect or we'd have stayed at a big commercial hotel. It's an excellent location for a tour of stone town. They are currently renovating and adding an elevator, but we welcomed the excersize of the stairs to the roof top personally, and it's completely worth it to see and eat on the roof top. The service was very good, and the grounds are private and we'd recommend to any one staying in Stone Town.
3 out of 5
by Berit S. from Oslo

Ok hotell med personlig sjarm

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Positivt: Stor og god seng. Koselig hotell med fine dekorasjon/kunst. Godt renhold og service. Minus: mange trapper for å komme til rommet. Ikke internett på rommet. Upraktisk med åpen toalettløsning og delvis innsyn til dusjen.
4 out of 5
by Piotr from Poland

just a visit

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
Nice view in the Restaurant at the top - don`t forget your camera. Money Exchange oposit the Hotel.
3 out of 5
by Hermann from Eglisau

Einfaches Stadthotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Zentrale Lage in der Stadt. Das Hotel und die Zimmer haben eine Auffrischung nötig. Schöne Dachterrasse mit Restaurantservice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great Zanzibar stay!

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
The Swahili House is beautifully decorated and an interesting design. The rooms are amazing with massive beds and mosquito nets and a fan inside the mosquito nets. We didn't need the air con. The stained glass windows and wooden shutters add a beautiful touch and the views over Stone Town are fascinating. The bathroom is quaint but clean and the steep wooden stairs a good work out! Don't worry about carrying your cases though because there are awesome staff, who are extremely fit, to help you! The reception staff couldn't be more helpful and the free wifi in the courtyard is a great bonus. Highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christofer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels