Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes historisches Gebäude

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Ein sehr schönes Hotel in der Nähe des Hafen. Nicht ganz einfach zu finden, dafür aber auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert und sauber. Das alte, historische Gebäude ist sehr gut renoviert und in einem Top-Zustand. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Frans, der Hotelmanager ist ebenfalls sehr freundlich und gibt gerne Auskunft über Sehenswürdigkeiten, Rundgänge usw. Im Hotel wird u.a. Deutsch gesprochen. Wir bekamen ein Upgrade in eine Suite. Vielen Dank nochmals dafür.
5 out of 5
by Vasco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Artur from Polokwane

Zanzibar so called "palace"...

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
We got a small, cramped cluttered room with even worse bathroom... in silly condition, and year of the building is not an excuse fore poor maintenance and all inconviniences that we experienced. This would be just fine for a 2 star hotel with half of the price that we paid for it. Well one bad choice kept us away from the hotel for whole days at least ;)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Intimate hotel in the heart of things

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were so friendly and accomdating
Cons: the access to details about the area and zanzibar and better map
Location: the market and the beach and lots of restaurants
We spent 9 days in this boutique hotel. It was lovely, our room was so cute with lovely touches from flowers on the bed on arrival to towels laid out in different style each day (even a heart to end our stay). It was beautifully turned down twice a day and made us feel so welcomed. Our room was lovely as a romantic as retreat and to get out of the madness of he markets. What truly made the hotel was the lovely, thoughtful, ever smiling and helpful staff. Those there morning until night working tirelessly to ensure our needs were met, from room service, freshly squeezed juices to providing a pandit when my partner felt unwell. They went above and beyond with even the guy there coming out to translate for us when our rental car was broken into. Neema, Jacq, Lucy were wonderful and full of smiles, jokes and warm welcomes. We were very impressed by our boxed breakfast when we had to leave for the airport at 3am and our wake up calls. Their evening restaurant was lovely and the chef really paid attention to detail with his food. My only issue at the hotel would be we chose the room that was on a busy noisier side (fine at night as the AC drowned out the noise) but the room was so lovely we didn't really mind. Perhaps good to have more guide books, points of interest knowledge and maps but I found all the amazing places to go from trip advisor to be honest. The location was perfect not too on the main road and near the markets.
5 out of 5
by Andreas

Wunderschönes Boutiquehotel

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Ein ausgezeichnet geführtes wunderschönes Boutiquehotel. Ich habe dieses Hotel und seine zentrale Lage sehr genossen und kann es nur empfehlen.
5 out of 5
by Jerome from Berlin

Zanzibarian charm and good service

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, clean room, lovely ancient restored zanzibarian house, good located.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alex from North Carolina, USA

Generally happy but underwhelmed

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I spent 3 nights. We loved the idea of staying in Stone Town and experiencing the authentic feel of the cramped streets and ancient alley ways. In general, we were happy to have stayed in this Dutch-owned boutique hotel with a few caveats. Based on the reviews and website, we did have a rather different picture of the hotel than what we found. The hotel does have nice ambiance, amazing local staff and a location that is very convenient in terms of distance to ferry. We ended up paying about $470 for 3 nights in the Nadia room. This must’ve been the smallest hotel room I've every stayed in. Decor was pleasant but nothing special with an attempt at a Moroccan theme. The bathroom was tiny, old and definitely not what you'd expect when paying so much (despite a heavily discounted price). The soaking tubs are only available in a few select rooms. The bed was comfortable with a mosquito net but takes up nearly half the room. Expect some street noise given the location but that didn't bother us too much. The room was not wired well with hard to reach plug point. Restaurant serves an excellent complementary breakfast which we loved but we didn't eat any other meals there due to exorbitant cost. You can find many wonderful diverse restaurants on the street and pay at least 50% less. Would encourage the owners to provide fair compensation for their local staff who are truly wonderful people who went out of their way to make sure we received the highest level of service.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Cape Town

Stone Town hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasent stay, the room was a bit small (Nadia) and on hindsight would have been happy to take a bigger room. Would rather select a hotel on the edge of Stone Town out of the noise. Hotel was clean and the staff very helpful, food was good, try the King Prawns, excellent.
5 out of 5
by Darnell

Wonderful Stay, Beautiful Hotel, Amazing Staff

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
We contacted the hotel to let them know that we'd be arriving early in the morning to drop off our luggage and they told our room wouldn't be ready for several hours later. However, upon arrival, a member of the staff made arrangements for us to enter the room early. Both the room and the hotel were kept clean around the clock. The hotel is also located close to restaurants, markets, and the beach. Lastly, when checking out in the early hours of the morning, our taxi driver was a no-show. But, once again, the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and arranged for a taxi to pick us up (even at 3am). The next time we are in Zanzibar, we are definitely booking with this hotel.