Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Pierre

schönes Hotel in sehr zentraler Lage

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Die Lage, das schöne Design der Lobby, und die gute Lage natürlich
Cons: Die Zimmer sind für 2 Personen zu klein, wenn man grosse Koffer dabei hat.
Location: Stadtbesichtigung von Stone Town
Hotel liegt gleich am Strand, beste Lage, netter Pool mit Blick aufs Meer, gutes Restaurant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely outlook over the Indian Ocean

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: allgood
Location: Did a tour of stone town and spice tour.
Had a very lovely couple of days with happy friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Honeymoon from London

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Beautiful hotel which lives up to its 5* rating. The staff were incredibly friendly, the food was fantastic (especially the fish menu on the terrace restaurant), and the hotel itself is in the perfect location to see Stone Town and take advantage of the different tours you can go on around the island.
5 out of 5
by Pat from Africa

Great place to treat yourself to a little TLC

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: The decor
Cons: The seafood Bar-B-Que
Location: Fantastic
The entire setting and experience from the time you arrive until you leave is fantastic. The staff was more than helpful, the food was wonderful, the pool to die for. What else can I say!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2013
What a great hotel. Good food, friendly staff, great location. The best hotel on Zanzibar.
5 out of 5
by Ted from Topsham, Devon, UK

Great service, great location.

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Pros: Watching the locals swimming and playing football on the beach outside the breakfast bar.
Cons: The price.
Fantastic hotel in a wonderful location on the beach in the heart of historic Stonetown. In addition they have a magnificent private beach half a mile North which is worth visiting for the fantastic service, if nothing else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the more lux options in Stone Town

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Cost
Location: Great
If you fancy going a bit more upmarket than backpackery places and have some spare cash, this place is ideal. It was pretty expensive but compared to some other hotels we saw, it was nice. Good location on the seafront and it has a great pool. Ideal for children. Only downside is getting back after dark - single female travellers may want to be more careful, though we had no problems.
5 out of 5
by Lynne2846 from Melbourne, Australia

Beauty and Serenity

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Pros: My favourite things were the friendly ambience and staff and the little touches of extra care. Another was the live entertainment most evenings.
Cons: The beds being a little hard, also service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow. (I've had to think hard to come up with least favourite things.)
Location: Position is fabulous. Its on a major access road so very accessable. Proximity to major Stonetown features and views of the sea are fabulous.
The only problem was that the bed was a little hard for me. Otherwise I couldn't fault the Serena. Position is fabulous. Its right in Stonetown with a few minutes walk to all the highlights. Its view over the water, of the constant parade of beautiful dhows and of the sunsets is unbeatable.On a recent trip to South Africa, Kenya and Zanzibar I stayed in 12 different hotels. Nowhere else were the staff so consistently friendly, helpful and efficient. They really seem to be trained to put their guests interests first and make them feel valued. We were asked by managers at least once every day if all was going well and if there was anything else we needed. After commenting that we hadn't had news from Australia for a month, we were presented with copies of Australian news which Mr Charles had gone to great trouble to get for us. The cooking of pancakes poolside every night free to guests was a magnificent bonus. So also was the use of Penhaligan's Blenheim Bouquet toiletries. These extra touches made us feel special and a little pampered.
5 out of 5
by Allie from Miami, FL, USA

Easy to like

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: Location and ocean views spectacular. Welcome bottle of champagne included with fruit basket. The staff very accomodating and helpful with suggestions
Cons: Not very secluded and the beach where it sits on is public access
Location: The hotel is very luxurious and the service amazing. The views of the ocean spectacular. my standard room was a bit small.
staff very friendly. Amazing views of the ocean. location very central in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Norwich

The best hotel in Stone Town

Posted Apr 15, 2012
A fantastic hotel in which to relax whilst watching the dows go by. Friendly, helpful staff. A great base from which to explore Stone Town.