Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Very well run traditional hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Traditional décor, furnishings; comfortable beds; warm and hospitable staff; right on the beach, reasonable size pool; two good restaurants
Cons: The beach by the hotel is public, so difficult to swim if female. Very modest area of Zanzibar. Some standard rooms are small.
Location: Great position in Stone Town with best of sea views and close to all amenities.
We stayed one night in Serena and liked it enough to spend our final night in Zanzibar there. This is a lovely traditional building with very good restaurants and welcoming staff who are unfailingly polite and helpful. We really enjoyed the sea location, yet in a quiet square in the heart of Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Gorgeous view, lovely hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, room decor, location, pool.
Location: Perfect location with easy access to The spice market as well as other shops and restaurants.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in luxury and comfort in Stone Town. The seaside setting along with the friendly staff and superb accommodations cannot be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Zanzibar is an interesting city situated on the Indian Ocean. Everyone that came into contact with us in hotels or restaurants were friendly and helpful. However, I am not going to lie, I am not certain I felt welcome by the local citizens. There were a few nervous moments at the major market as well as bomb sniffing dogs called in to check out our hotel. Also, most places do not take credit cards. Cash only.
5 out of 5
by Songbird100 from Scotland

Brimming with character

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
Expensive but a beautiful hotel. If you don't plan to use the pool I think there are some equally nice hotels in the vicinity for much less money but without pools. I think I would try one of them next time. Ask for a room on the upper most level with a view of both the pool and the beach. Other than the suites, they have the best views. Sugar cane drink at the evening food market in the gardens is a must!
5 out of 5
by Sharon Blignaut from South Africa

Delightful

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
The service was exceptional, the hotel accommodation and amenities very comfortable and the food delectable. As a single female traveller, I felt safe, welcome and taken care of. The massage was a wonderful prelude to my short, but magnificent stay in this gorgeous hotel.
5 out of 5
by A.O. from USA

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent food. Very relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely outlook over the Indian Ocean

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: allgood
Location: Did a tour of stone town and spice tour.
Had a very lovely couple of days with happy friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by NYER from nyc

lovely stay!!

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels
We had a fantastic trip. highly recomended! the food is amazing and the views are spectacular!
5 out of 5
by SK from Chicago

Excellent location

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels
We spent a couple nights here at the end of our two week trip to Tanzania. We spent a total of four nights in Zanzibar - two on the north east side of the Island on a resort and the last two at the Serena Inn to visit Stone Town. It's a beautiful hotel located just a few mins walk away from all the major activities in Stone Town. The property is a restored house/office and is quite charming. We had a couple rooms with big balconies overlooking the water. The staff were super helpful, friendly, and attentive to detail. The restaurant at the hotel is good - they have a great spread for breakfast and decent meal choices. We had one meal there and ate other meals at local restaurants in Stone Town (would highly recommend trying out the local restaurants). Their concierge arranged short tours for us - walking trip around Stone Town and a sunset cruise on a Dhow. Overall, we had an excellent stay here and I would highly recommend it. Stay here if you're looking for a nice, waterfront property to use as a base to visit Stone Town. If you're looking for a day at the beach, then look for resorts on the east side of the island (I understand that the Serena has a property on the beach, but we didn't check it out).