Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ethiopia

Nice hotel in Stonetown

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and nice. The breakfast buffet had more than sufficient choice. The food in the restaurant was also good. Actually, everything was very good and I really enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SM

Reasonable hotel in town.

Posted May 11, 2017
Great experience near the stone town. Proximity to the places I visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice renovated historic building

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very nice renovated old historic building, beautiful antique furniture. Overlook the beach. Beach is not good for swimming. If looking for beach, suggest go far from this area. Some Staff are super nice, who offered a room upgrade, but others are rude and very nosy, who would not leave you alone, surely looking for tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

Wonderful place

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Wonderful hotel, second time staying there. Great location in town but also on the beach with great views of the sea. Room, food, service .. all very comfortable. Have done a great job in the design and looks like the original 200 years ago. No lifts so giid for fitness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, great location, excellent staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
In the tradition of the Serena Hotel, the style fits into the environment. The rooms are beautifully equipped with four poster beds, curtains, tribal carpets. The beach is right in front of the hotel and in a room towards the sea front you hear the waves in the night. A beautiful pool and pool area with sea view gives space for relaxing afternoons. The best quality of the hotel is the staff. A very friendly and professional team. We arrived late, for example, and I needed help with an issue at a local bank. All was no problem and handled perfectly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Expensive.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We were only here for one night. Our room was very expensive, but it had an amazing view and the location could not have been better. Good place to stay for one night to be close to the airport or wander around Stone Town. We tried to have dinner at the terrace restaurant outdoors and there were bugs hopping all over the place. It was so distracting that we decided to leave. When we told one of the employees about the bugs, he said "they do not bite." We left and had an amazing dinner at the hotel across the street for half the price and no bugs. Also, we booked a taxi to the airport when we checked in and when we tried to leave, it had not been arranged for us. The hotel fixed the problem, but an expensive hotel should be on top of those things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
I have stayed in many first class hotels around the world and the Serena is the best. Warm welcome staff who went above and beyond to make my stay exceptional. Beautiful hotel in a Great location. I highly recommend the Serene and can not wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best coffee in Zanzibar

Posted Nov 29, 2016
It poured with rain in Zanzibar and we got drenched. The staff was solitious and very kind to two little old ladies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and great sunsets from the pool area

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay, very well located and charming staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and excellent service

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Zanzibar for our Honeymoon and spent 3 nights in this hotel. The hotel upgraded us to a nicer room with sea view and a balcony. The day of our arrival, they offered us a bottle of vine as a welcome gift. All the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is really good as it is close to everything.