Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best coffee in Zanzibar

Posted Nov 29, 2016
It poured with rain in Zanzibar and we got drenched. The staff was solitious and very kind to two little old ladies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Great stay with good staff. Unpretentious hotel but lots of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

right on the beach---boutique high-end hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: 1) Love the luxury hangout bed outside our room facing the ocean 2) Fresh Kwava (local coffee drink) available in the lobby 3) Very nice staff
Cons: Direct access to the beach if possible-
AMAZING! This is one of the most expensive hotels I have stayed at so fat $300+ per night....and it is a bit over priced but worth it. Since I booked with Expedia they gave me a VIP treatment and upgraded me to a room with a large veranda overlooking the ocean of course with a hammock! They also gave a complimentary bottle of wine and a fruit basket! Loved the special treatment...my friends got booked locally were jealous of the special "expedia" treatment :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location & beautiful friendly staff

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Great location in the heart of everything. One of our best holiday locations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful, Friendly, Fascinating

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Staff was undoubtedly the most considerate, best trained, thoughtful and improvisational of anywhere I have ever stayed, bar none and that includes lots of Shangri-Las, Peninsulas, Four Seasons, Ritzes and so on. It's a small mostly tourist hotel but I had friendly conversations -- and unusually creative, thoughtful and staff-initiated contacts on items from meals to hallway gadgets to knowing how to light a photo of me in the dining room to walking and shopping. Also a very clean property with lovely rooms and good views. Finally, Stone Town Zanzibar has centuries of history, and is tourist friendly like may UN World Heritage city centers...but not over-run with tourists. Very happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kigali, Rwanda

Serena Zanzibar

Posted Apr 7, 2015
If you want to explore Stonetown by foot, then this is the place to stay. Centrally located, directly on the beach, it makes an excellent base to set out from. Staff are friendly, welcoming and only too pleased to arrange tours and transport. Suitable for families and couples, the hotel provides resort style facilities.. Would highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australian living in Rwanda

Well positioned hotel with great sea views

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location and service, ambience, furnishings were great as was breakfast. Complimentary map and wonderful advice for tours and sights.
Cons: For the price, the size of the double rooms was very cramped, especially when the bed was turned down at night - nowhere to sit.
Location: Central location in Stone Town - in beautiful quiet, leafy square, within walking distance of everything - markets, historic buildings, cruises, beach
It was our 40th wedding anniversary and a great place to stay, very comfortable, relaxed, good amenities and very helpful staff. A nice touch were jasmine flowers on the bedside table the night of our anniversary, also an unexpected bonus was the free shuttle up the coast from Stone Town to their private beach. They provided a driver just for the 2 of us as there were no others going that day. However we discovered the beach was not that great for swimming given the number of rocks -Aussies are spoilt for beaches, but they did provide diving shoes to protect our feet and it was great having a beach all to ourselves with attentive staff to provide food and drinks in the middle of nowhere, with shade and towels as well. The room was quite cramped, but well appointed with a massive bed and super comfy pillows, small bathroom, not somewhere you could easily lounge, but a great balcony overlooking the pool and sea where you could relax. Breakfast buffet was included, plentiful, tasty with plenty of choice and again on the morning of our anniversary pink sparkling wine provided complimentary. A nice touch as we sat by the open window drinking in the Indian Ocean as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Very well run traditional hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Traditional décor, furnishings; comfortable beds; warm and hospitable staff; right on the beach, reasonable size pool; two good restaurants
Cons: The beach by the hotel is public, so difficult to swim if female. Very modest area of Zanzibar. Some standard rooms are small.
Location: Great position in Stone Town with best of sea views and close to all amenities.
We stayed one night in Serena and liked it enough to spend our final night in Zanzibar there. This is a lovely traditional building with very good restaurants and welcoming staff who are unfailingly polite and helpful. We really enjoyed the sea location, yet in a quiet square in the heart of Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Gorgeous view, lovely hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, room decor, location, pool.
Location: Perfect location with easy access to The spice market as well as other shops and restaurants.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in luxury and comfort in Stone Town. The seaside setting along with the friendly staff and superb accommodations cannot be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Zanzibar is an interesting city situated on the Indian Ocean. Everyone that came into contact with us in hotels or restaurants were friendly and helpful. However, I am not going to lie, I am not certain I felt welcome by the local citizens. There were a few nervous moments at the major market as well as bomb sniffing dogs called in to check out our hotel. Also, most places do not take credit cards. Cash only.