Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mohamed F.

Hotel in paradise

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
An excellen, tranquil and relaxing environment with very friendly and welcoming staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel so dirty, no sufficient breakfast, lots

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERY THING
Hotel cost should not more than USD 50 maximum maximum, dirty, no break fast, water from roof, Expedia should not sale this type of Hotel, TV has no signal and TV is 1920 Model, AC has no remote, totally backwas, zero rating even minus rating do not show good photos in internet and Expedia please return my money
3 out of 5
by Vicki

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel in need of some maintenance. Name is misleading, there is no beach.
3 out of 5
by KRISTEN

Secluded so-so resort

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this place mainly for a pool that looked good for lap swimming. It's big but so cloudy you can't see 2 inches in front of your face, so no go there. But it was nice to sit by, and the ocean/garden views were pleasant. The rest is just so-so. The rooms are spacious enough but the beds are really hard. AC is loud. Service and food are mediocre. It's a few miles out of town, and they don't actually provide free shuttle services as their listing said. Public transport is a 10-min walk up the hill. Moreover, it'll cost you 2-4x more for the hotel to hail you a taxi, so get the # of a local driver asap. Same for excursions, so book them directly!
4 out of 5
by Zakia

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Was good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great staff, hotel...not so much

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We stayed here to be away from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town - there is absolutely nothing else nearby -, but the hotel pool was crowded with local children in the afternoon with a DJ blasting music. A shuttle service was provided to Stone Town but the return was no later than 5 pm. A 1.5 l bottle of water cost 5,000 shillings (captive market). Finally, we never had truly hot water in our shower. On the positive side, the staff were absolutely wonderful and the buffet dinner (30,000 shillings) had different live entertainment shows every evening. The last two positives almost make up for the negatives, but not quite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast needs to be much better!
2 out of 5
by Sandra

Close to airport but that's not a good thing

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is run down. The landscaping has not been maintained, the rooms need to be painted and bathrooms need complete renovation. There isn't a beach and there were only 10 lawn chairs around the pool. The pool bar was never attended and the indoor bar was missing vodka and tequila. The bartenders didn't even know how to make basic drinks. During one outdoor dinner buffet my daughter ended up with 107 bug bites on her legs. The hotel is surrounded by a high wall and that is probably a good thing, not an area I would walk around in the dark. Speaking of dark, the power went out one night in our block of rooms. We ended up checking out early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff, rundown rooms

Posted Jan 6, 2013
This was just a generally tacky "resort," with really no beach access, so don't be fooled by the name. The worst part of the stay was the service, which ranged from apathetic to downright rude. That said, we hopped all over Zanzibar for a week and found this to be the case pretty much universally. Also, the a/c technically worked (we could hear it running) but it did not cool the room at all. Hot water in the shower was hit or miss. The front desk staff also seemed unfamiliar with Expedia and it was a battle to "prove" that we had paid for our room. The best part of the stay at Zanzibar Beach Resort was the food, which was surprisingly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ted from Topsham, Devon, UK

If only it was easier to get to.

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Pros: Cold beers by the pool
Cons: Getting to and from Stonetown
Location: On a beach, next to a shantytown fishing village
This is very much a resort hotel with entertainment laid on whether you like it or not and evening meals run on a buffet basis. It is in a fantastic location on a beach and has lovely grounds and a beautiful pool. It is a perfect base for exploring Zanzibar and going on excursions. The beach outside is not very swimmable and a bit smelly but it is well worth walking or swimming to the neighbouring fishing village. The downside is that it is a few miles outside Stonetown itself and taxis cost $10 to get there because the hotel insists on booking them for you. They cost 10,000 TSh on the way back, which is about 25 per cent less. The only problem I encountered was that the hotel's management resent their guests booking taxis or outings independently. The only other quibble I would have is that they often played loud 'mambo' music by the pool, but I'm sure the other clients enjoyed it. Overall, a lovely place to stay, despite the wrinkles.