Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful village

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is as good as you are going to get in this price range.... and probably far better than many which are priced much higher. It is very tastefully decorated, right in the centre of the historic hill village and with very friendly staff. Enough English is spoken to make things easy and the breakfast is superb value. The bar which is immediately next door serves good food all day and there are several other laces to eat in the village. Parking next to the hotel could be a problem because of the narrow streets although we had no problem in late October. Other free spaces are available close by however. Sos del Rey is probably best enjoyed for a short stay of two or three days as it is so small but there are plenty more fascinating places nearby for a great holiday in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Gorgeous Property in a Great Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The situation in a lovely historical village.
Cons: Earlier commencement of breakfast, perhaps to 08:30 instead of 09:00. This might ease the congestion which occurred at 09:00 the day we were there.
Location: Great walks throught the cobbled streets of the village. Good restaurants close by.
The hotel was slightly difficult to find but once we did we were amazed by its historical charm and the warm welcome from its owners. Our room had a small balcony with good views, a very good en suite shower room and good furnishings. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices.
5 out of 5
by Elsa from San Diego, CA

Fabulous

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
One of the nicest places I have been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Location is a bit off of the highway.
Location: Visit the many medieval cities nearby and the Pyrenees.
Hotel is original but completely updated with all of the amenties. Rooms are good sized for Europe and the breakfast is very good as well. Staff helped with directions for excursions and restaurants. The restaurant Principal near the hotel was a terrific dining Experience, our best meal in Europe.
5 out of 5
by Pamela from Ramat Hasharon

Don't Miss It!

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely loved the El Peiron. Room was overlooking the quaint street, no problem finding it or parking there. Clerk was very helpful. Also gave us a good recommendation for dinner nearby. Excellent breakfast, beautifully served. It is a perfect stop between San Sebastian and southern Spain. Not a lot to do there, but lovely to walk the streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a quiet but beautiful location.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The location is beautiful and the hotel was outstanding particularly given the ridiculously cheap rate for the room. We had thought that we had seen all we could in a day then just as we left a huge street fiesta started!!! Nothing official just a standard weds in august with fireworks, teens partying and lots of brightly coloured shirts and scarfs!A very memorable experience.
5 out of 5
by bob from auckland new zealand

WOW... What a find! !!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
This place is fantastic. If you are thinking about staying in the area then this place won't let you down. It's a small family run boutique hotel and you are made to feel so welcome. The room we had was great. Plenty of room, and like new. The bathroom was also spacious and had a fantastic shower. Hotel is lived in a renovated building in a great spot in Sos del Rey Católico. No dedicated parking but that wasn't a problem either as there was plenty of free parking within 100m. We were only staying in Sos for one night as we were delayed leaving our previous stop over, and on our way North to San Sebastian. Had intended to stay one night but stayed two!! We also received great assistance from the receptionist/waitress who provided us with advice on visiting two other villages during our day there. She was great! This hotel was one of the best places we have stayed in 3 weeks in spain. Again. .. If you are thinking of staying in the area, book this hotel. You won't regret it! !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Aust.

El Peiron SosDel Rey

Posted May 29, 2014
Great hotel and service. Very well satisfied with the property and owners helpfulness. Would stay again here in a charming village.
3 out of 5
by Javier

Great location. Poor air conditioning

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels
Can you believe they turn off the general air conditioning when it is 30C out during the day? . Well, not happy about this at all, my husband complained and no response at all. During the night the night they simply shut it off. Why?? . So we opened the window to let in some air, and a neighboring vacationer knocked on our door at 2:00AM because the TV light was bothering her- the TV was on because we couldn't sleep and it wasn't loud-The hotel keeper, Mrs. Carmen is otherwise very nice and informative. She didn't offer much help about this but she did give us information about the area and such. The hotel was very clean, the breakfast abundant and very high quality- yet somewhat "controlled".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2011 on Hotels