Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I enjoyed the time we spent at the hotel and great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice way to enjoy a gem of a small village

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Nice hotel with lovely eating terrace and views from room to surrounding hills. The village was delightful.
5 out of 5
by Jeroen from Davis, CA

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel to see the beautiful city of sos del rey catolico. This is a very small city so the hotel is close to everything.
5 out of 5
by dennis from New York

SOS is a place to relax and sightsee

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Parador de Sos is in a lovely location. The rooms are spacious and relaxing.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Nontron france

Making the best of a bad job

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stop on a journey.Small Spanish town in middle of nowhere but served our purpose.Had it been summertime it would have been interesting to have enjoyed the architecture.......it was snowing.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very hot and the air conditioning was turned off for the season. They did bring a fan but uncomfortably warm. Also we were there on Monday and the very few restaurants in town were not open. Tried to get a snack at about 6pm at the Paradox but absolutely nothing was available until the restaurant opened at 8pm.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Twickenham

Weekend in Sos

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Weekend getaway in the historic hilltop town of Sos del Rey Catolico.One of the famous Cinco Villas which defended northern Aragon and bithplace of the legendary Ferdinand of Aragon,who with his Queen Isabella of Castille-Leon united Spain and finally defeated the Moors. It's a delightful place to potter around and explore the narrow medieval streets.Very quiet and laid back and traditional.Pop into the local bar for a quiet beer while the locals watch the bullfighting on TV!Go out late in the evening to the local restaurants for great value meals of the day(3 courses,coffee,mineral water and a whole bottle of wine for 20 euros).The old chocolate factory still has a shop selling delicious chocolate products.Typically everything shuts down in the afternoon. Not many actual places to visit but the old church at the top of the town is worthwhile with its amazing crypt frescoes.There are amazing views of the countryside from the old walls including the snowcapped pyrenees to the north. Pleasant walks out of town include the old convent. I went in April and the weather was very mixed(sunny then torrential thunderstorms!). Parador is a pleasant place to stay on the reverse slope of the town.Staff very helpful.Rooms spacious and comfy with balcony views.The terrace is a very nice area to relax with a coffee or beer. Sos is hard to get to by local transport,especially at weekends,but it is possible on a daily bus from Zaragoza.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we thought!

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and beautiful. The staff gracious and knowledgable in English. Breakfast and dinner were very good and very nice dining area. We though we were staying in a castle/palace that was authentic and marginally converted for present day guests....not so...Parador is a chain and just needs to build hotels in the decor do castle/palace times. That aside, staying in a modern hotel was fine except our room was very warm and stuffy even when we asked(which we found strange) for them to turn on the AC. The town was beautiful and some very "athletic" walking streets, but not much else to see. Unfortunately we probably will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

First class all around

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Happily for me, my time in Javier coincided with the running of the bulls in Pamplona so I was unable to find a hotel in town. I found the Parador because it was close enough to Javier. I predict that the Parador will earn the kind of reputation which will make it a "go to" hotel in Spain and internationally. It boasts of a courteous and efficient staff, lovely clean rooms, a gorgeous setting, and excellent food. The hotel is so good that I recommend more employees learn to speak English because of the numbers of Americans and other English speaking visitors who will choose to stay there. There isn't much to do in the town of Sos so one's stay should be for relaxation or fir business in a nearby locale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martyn from Wiltshire, UK

Treat yourself

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Everything but the price
Cons: Cost
Location: Exceptional if you like "Spanish Castle Magic"! Very chilled - even in 36 degrees of heat
Perfect hotel & setting - but you pay the price. The only reason I knocked a mark off the staff was that the porter said it was ok to park my car just on the edge of the prohibited parking area and I then got a "please move your car as soon as possible" ticket, but hey, no big deal! Food is great and if I could afford to, I'd stay here for a week, but as it was, I spent €225 on one night's accommodation and evening meal for two, which for me is a lot of money, but it was worth it. Treat yourself...