Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear Lake, CA

Perfect hotel in Zermatt

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Shopping, restaurants, hiking trails and ski lifts nearby
A typical Swiss hotel with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn from the restaurant and patio. The rooms were emaculate and very comfortable. The food they serve in the restaurant is delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have an elevator that goes to a tunnel that leads right to the center of town. Great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, Washington

Amazing stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We will definitely return! We loved our beautiful room and tradition furnishings. The bed was very comfy and we both have back issues. A lovely fruit tray was served at 7:00 before dinner. Best of all was our amazing view of the Matterhorn. The staff treated us like royalty without being at all pretentious. It was so beautiful and relaxing we didn't want to leave. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, CA

Not good - A GREAT HOTEL

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Everything you want in a hotel - great location, stellar service, clean beautiful facilities and of course - amazing views. I hope to be back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Amazing Location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Views, amenities
Upon arriving, winding our way up the hill from town to the hotel in the taxi, I was concerned about the trek, or taxi into town each day. It turns out the hotel has an elevator that drops you right into town! So, we were spoiled with a spectacular view of town below and the Matterhorn in the distance while being a 3 minute, flat walk from the center of town! The hotel is beautiful and Swiss. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant good. The restaurant deck as well as the deck off our room had amazing views of town directly below and the Matterhorn. We could have spent a lot of time on our deck were it not for the multitude of activities in the surrounding mountains. Amenities in the hotel are as one would expect in a hotel like this. Very nice! There was no A/C in the room, although it probably never gets hot enough to really need it. We left our veranda doors open. Highly recommend!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you very much for your kind review on Expedia! We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Indeed the position of our hotel is a big advantage for our guests, thanks our private tunnel and elevator they can reach the center of the village and hiking trails in a couple of minutes. Thank you for highlighting the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff, they do a good job every day and we are very proud of our team. As mentioned, we do not have air condition. You can easely open the window and you will get a fresh breeze blowing from the mountains. Thank you for referring to the amenities of our hotel, our wellness which contains two Jacuzzis, a Finnish sauna, a steam room, an adventure shower, a Kneipp basin and a relaxation area. We would be more than happy to welcoming you again! Fresh and sunny regards from the Matterhorn village Your hosts, Anna and Sebastian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect view of Matterhorn

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Our experience was fantastic! Lovely room with wonderful balcony looking up to Matterhorn! Worth every penny for the amazing view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you very much for taking time to post this lovely review on Expedia. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg and that you rated very positively the quality price ratio. The view to the Matterhon from our south facing rooms is amazing! We would be very pleased to welcome you again! Wonderful regards from sunny Zermatt, Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful place with great views overlooking old Z

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Amazing views, nice room, friendly staff, great buffet breakfasts. No screaming children running around.
Cons: Spa area was a little weird. Chlorine vapor was pretty unpleasant, but I suppose it's necessary.
Location: We skied the whole time
Very unique property with amazing views of the matterhorn, overlooking the historic alpine village of Zermatt. Great location 25 paces from the high speed "train lift" that takes you up to the base of the mountain on the swiss side. The skiing in Zermatt can be frustrating...crowded runs, thin snow cover off piste and the layout of the mountain requires you to spend of lot of time on the lifts. I suggest getting over to the Italian side (Cervinia) as much as possible. The snow was better and the crowds were thinner. There is an amazing run from the top of the Matterhorn Glacier tram all the way down to the base on the Italian side...it's ~7000 ft total vertical drop. Possibly the longest run I've ever seen. For context, the largest in-bounds vertical drop in North America is ~4500 ft. But there is nothing like the town of Zermatt. One of the coolest places you'll ever visit. Can't think of a better place to stay than Hotel Schonegg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in Zermatt!

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Swiss hotel conveniently located to the lifts. The staff was extremely accommodating! The breakfast was amazing in a beautiful dining room. We will return someday!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Fantastic staff facilities location and breakfast cosy bar Great spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

Pampering and wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Hotel was immaculate, staff was super friendly and accommodating, rooms were quaint and cozy.
Location: 100 meters away from the Sunnega chairlift. 3 minute walk from the train station, the Gonergrat rail and town centre.
Wonderful little chalet hotel in the Alps. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Quality hotel, world class view. Great food.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Tasteful decor in a truelly beautiful place. Our room had close up views of the Matterhorn and Zermat. Staff and management were very helpful, they even found me some binoculars to view birds of prey. Hotel is very close to ski lifts. I'd be delighted for anyone I knew who was going to this hotel.