Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Warmth and friendliness

Posted Mar 25, 2018
The staff were very friendly and professional, especially the ladies on the front desk. The owner herself (and her daughter) were constantly around to personally check on us. When we had a problem with one of our rooms (apparently an earlier guest had smoked inside, despite the no smoking sign), they gave us multiple other options to choose from (including the original room, which they cleaned again). The rooms themselves are very beautiful and charming. I tried the hotel's wellness center, and was pleased with its cleanliness. The physiotherapist was also very good. The hotel's location is very close to a Bayard ski rental and the Sunnegga ski station, so it is almost like a ski-in hotel. The Bayard ski rental has its own lockers, but the hotel also has its own ski lockers. Tip: Take the higher rooms, especially if you get the Matterhorn view. They have the wooden slanted ceilings, which give you an alpine chalet feeling and are farther from the open deck restaurant below (which wasn't noisy in any case).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Anna & Sebastian Metry, Hotel Management
Dear Joel Sunny greetings from Chalet Hotel Schönegg! Reading your review has put a smile on our faces and that of our team. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your wonderful stay at Chalet Hotel Schönegg. We are happy to read that the experience at our little mountain paradise has exceeded your families expectations. Thank you for your kind words and compliments on our service. We look forward to your return hopefully in the near future, for many more holidays. Thank you once again for your review. Your hosts,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great traditional hotel with fabulous views!

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing, just positively perfect!
Location: sounded by mountains! endless things to do, walking, skiing, cross country skiing, hiking,ice skating
just got back.stayed 4 nights with my sister. wonderful hotel, staff amazing nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has views that you dream off. can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Anna & Sebastian Metry, Hotel Management
Dear J Sunny greetings from Chalet Hotel Schönegg! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your fantastic stay at Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Thank you for your kind words and compliments on our service. Our team and ourselves take pride in offering unforgettable hospitality and experiences to all our guests. We truly hope to welcoming you back again to our little mountain paradise in the near future. Best regards, Your hosts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flower Mound, TX

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Feb 10, 2018
It was a birthday trip for myself with my husband and we had an amazing stay. Hotel was awesome. Food was amazing. Skiing was amazing as well. Very close to everything you need. We would love to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Anna & Sebastian Metry, Hotel Management
Dear Gina Sunny greetings from Chalet Hotel Schönegg! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your fantastic stay at Chalet Hotel Schönegg. It is a pleasure to read that you've had such a pleasant Birthday. Yes indeed, our hotel is most conveniently located. We hope to welcoming you back again to our little mountain paradise, in the near future. Best regards, Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian Metry
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location backed up by lovely staff.

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Lastminute
This was a great place to stay. Staff were very helpful and rooms are well appointed. Very convenient to key areas of interest in Zermatt. Minor criticism is that it would have been nice to have been offered the train to hotel transfer in advance. Otherwise a first rate stay. Thanks for the experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you so much for rating us on Expedia! Your positive comment makes us proud of our team. At the Hotel Schönegg a warm welcome by our staff after a long trip is a must. About the transfer we do have a free pick up service on arrival and departure day, it is advertized on all internet portals and you can book the service in advance or upon arrival. Thank you for coming and see you next time! Best regards from Zermatt, Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian Metry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear Lake, CA

Perfect hotel in Zermatt

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Shopping, restaurants, hiking trails and ski lifts nearby
A typical Swiss hotel with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn from the restaurant and patio. The rooms were emaculate and very comfortable. The food they serve in the restaurant is delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have an elevator that goes to a tunnel that leads right to the center of town. Great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, Washington

Amazing stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We will definitely return! We loved our beautiful room and tradition furnishings. The bed was very comfy and we both have back issues. A lovely fruit tray was served at 7:00 before dinner. Best of all was our amazing view of the Matterhorn. The staff treated us like royalty without being at all pretentious. It was so beautiful and relaxing we didn't want to leave. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, CA

Not good - A GREAT HOTEL

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Everything you want in a hotel - great location, stellar service, clean beautiful facilities and of course - amazing views. I hope to be back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Amazing Location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Views, amenities
Upon arriving, winding our way up the hill from town to the hotel in the taxi, I was concerned about the trek, or taxi into town each day. It turns out the hotel has an elevator that drops you right into town! So, we were spoiled with a spectacular view of town below and the Matterhorn in the distance while being a 3 minute, flat walk from the center of town! The hotel is beautiful and Swiss. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant good. The restaurant deck as well as the deck off our room had amazing views of town directly below and the Matterhorn. We could have spent a lot of time on our deck were it not for the multitude of activities in the surrounding mountains. Amenities in the hotel are as one would expect in a hotel like this. Very nice! There was no A/C in the room, although it probably never gets hot enough to really need it. We left our veranda doors open. Highly recommend!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you very much for your kind review on Expedia! We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Indeed the position of our hotel is a big advantage for our guests, thanks our private tunnel and elevator they can reach the center of the village and hiking trails in a couple of minutes. Thank you for highlighting the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff, they do a good job every day and we are very proud of our team. As mentioned, we do not have air condition. You can easely open the window and you will get a fresh breeze blowing from the mountains. Thank you for referring to the amenities of our hotel, our wellness which contains two Jacuzzis, a Finnish sauna, a steam room, an adventure shower, a Kneipp basin and a relaxation area. We would be more than happy to welcoming you again! Fresh and sunny regards from the Matterhorn village Your hosts, Anna and Sebastian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect view of Matterhorn

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Our experience was fantastic! Lovely room with wonderful balcony looking up to Matterhorn! Worth every penny for the amazing view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you very much for taking time to post this lovely review on Expedia. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg and that you rated very positively the quality price ratio. The view to the Matterhon from our south facing rooms is amazing! We would be very pleased to welcome you again! Wonderful regards from sunny Zermatt, Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian