Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Love this hotel!

Posted Jan 20, 2018
The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the hotel has a really warm, inviting and family feel. We loved our stay here and would go back in a heartbeat. The breakfasts are amazing too, so much choice, not to mention the view from our room of the Matterhorn was incredible and the central location was perfect. The only thing I’d recommend would be if they could heat the pool as it was too cold to get into.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the Matterhorn

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Very nice hotel with great views of the Matterhorn (from the room and from the restaurant) and great staff... it is well located and the spa is inviting I was very happy with my choice Will probably book the same hotel if i come back in the summer.
4 out of 5
by Trevor

Great place to stay.

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
Only 5 mins from station and what a view of the Matterhorn! We booked a mountain view room with balcony and were certainly not disappointed. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Only problem was lugging the suitcases up about 10 metres of stairs to get to reception. I suppose if you're young it wouldn't matter. Shops and old town are all close walking distance and the spa is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois, USA

Perfect Zermatt hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We will stay at this hotel next time we go to Zermatt. There is a view of the Matterhorn from their restaurant, garden, and even the hot tub!!!! We have been traveling for 3 weeks and this was the nicest staff we have met! Great breakfast and handy location!
4 out of 5
by Diane from Chicago, Il

Outstanding View

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very beautiful view from our hotel suite. Extremely nice reception and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and the hotel location is just wonderful. In the center of town but on the river so it is quiet and very relaxing. The sun deck is just superb, with a unbeatable view of the Matterhorn. The room (suite) was perfect for three of us. I would certainly go back to the Metropol!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Check in was very efficient. The room was ready earlier than expected. My single room was very clean, slightly smaller bathroom than expected and dated shower cubicle. Some TV channels not working, but not an issue for me. Good breakfast, everything you could want with cooked eggs made to order. Good facilities, well organized hotel and very friendly helpful staff. The location is excellent, especially for the Sunegga ski lift (200 metres), close to the centre (150 metres), close to ski bus stop (50 metres) Free collection and drop off at the train station.
5 out of 5
by Luming from Singapore

A wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
It is a very pleasant experience. The hotel has unblocked view of Matterhorn! All hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room is clean and well equipped. The dinner and breakfasts are delicious with varieties of choices. Just a short walking distance to town centre. Also has a few kids playground nearby. We definitely will stay at Hotel Metropol & Spa again for our next visit.
5 out of 5
by RONALD from Germantown, MD

Great Hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful hotel. The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful dinner in the hotel dining room. Breakfast was very good. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Wonderful Ski Hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
This was my second stay the Metropol and I found it as enjoyable as the first. The hotel picked me up at the train station. Checking in was fast and efficient, and my bags were waiting for me at my room. The bathroom room appears to have been recently renovated and had a heated towel rack and a heated floor. The room was very comfortable and had a HDTV, a writing desk, a minibar, and a comfortable chair. The breakfast was ample and had a wide variety of buffet offerings that included scrambled eggs, bacon, assorted cold meats and cheeses, cereals, dried fruits and nuts, and salmon. I dined there twice and found the offerings wide in variety, quite ample, and very delicious. The Suunega funicular to the slopes was an easy walk, and the bus stop was very close to the hotel. The Gonergrat train is within walking distance, but with skis, I found the bus more convenient. Great food, excellent service, and very well maintained, and a great value make this hotel a good place to stay. I will book again the next time I ski Zermatt.
5 out of 5
by Allie from USA

Great view!

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
This was the perfect hotel...reasonably priced with an amazing view of the Matterhorn. The hotel itself was a more traditional style in decor but rooms were big enough and very clean. It was also next to the big stream that runs through town...making for a wonderful stay. We would definitely go back.