Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL. USA

WOW, WOW, WOW.....Awesome!!!

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Shuttle car to train.
Location: Close enough to everything, not too close to anything!
This could not have gone any better, exceeded our expectations!!! Thank you to Yolanda, Denice, and Laurence, you made this one of the best vacations we have ever had, anywhere in the World!! Anytime we had a question, we got a fully detailed answer, great recommendations on restaurants as well as attractions. Our room was awesome, excellent view of the Matterhorn as advertised. If you enjoy a modern room, with the charm and feel of the classic look outside, The Phoenix Is perfect for you!! We WILL visit Zermatt in the near future, we will not stay anywhere but the Phoenix. Denice your breakfast and coffee was also second to none (included)!! We were truly blown away, thank you again for a super trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO, USA

Beautiful view of the Matterhorn!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Location: The hotel sits above the village, giving an excellent view of the Matterhorn. It is a short walk into the main part of Zermatt.
The room was extremely comfortable; the breakfasts were amazing! The staff was very helpful, especially in attempting to track down a piece of luggage lost by the airlines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA USA

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Arrival was perfect with taxi waiting for us as requested. Desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. Morning breakfast buffet was one of the best we had on our trip. Departure was very smooth with trip to train station arranged. I would stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ Shore

Enjoyed our stay at the Phoenix

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of desk staff
Cons: Everything was in excellent repair - no need for improvement.
Location: The location was fine - convenient to shopping and transportation to Gornergrat and Rothorn to view the Matterhorn. Did both. Recommend the Rothorn.
Stayed at the Phoenix for two nights last week, and have absolutely no complaints. The young woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful, and the room was very pleasant and clean. Lots of shelves in the closet for storage, too. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of choices. We had a great Matterhorn view from our balcony, as promised. There is an abundance of hotels in Zermatt, and without hesitation, I recommend the Phoenix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Introduction to Matterhorn

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, serene (except construction next door) Good breakfast spread View of Matterhorn from L side of terrace (ground floor balcony)
Cons: Bottled water is a "welcome gift" -- 1st day only NO conditioner, wash cloth, dresser, in-room hot water pot, ice bucket Toiletries not replenished.
Location: 10 min walk from Train station & Gornergrat station. Market nearby. Restaurants/everything else are opposite end of town.
Mom/Pop operation; both were helpful and friendly. "Peak-to-Peak" offer she told us about sounded great, had expired two weeks before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice peaceful location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location
Cons: No suggestions
Location: It is Zermatt, one of Switzeland's highlights. No need to dwell upon details.
Enjoyed our stay and our activities. Strolled, took a trip to to Matterhorn
5 out of 5
by Waldemar from Zermatt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Diana

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good experience; only disappointment was that although we had "superior room", the room was ground floor and opened to construction site (that was not mentioned during booking); Not sure how a "regular" room was. My only complaint is that it should have been mentioned at the time of booking (more than 4 weeks prior to visit) that construction was ongoing/planned (although they disclaimed it when the key was handed , that is not their construction...) Otherwise, room was very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We regret that you did not know about to the construction site, as it is stated twice on Hotels.com that the neighbour building is under construction.
5 out of 5
by rouzbeh

In Zermatt to try the Matterhorn

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
by Dong In

Great room, good service, great nreakfast

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
friendly service went extra step. breakfast was excellent, beyond expectation. clean room comfy bed, bathroom very clean, shower great water pressure. view of matterhorn on lower floors blocked by construction