Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge Ont

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious and easy to get to from the rail station
Location: It's Zermatt! anything you want too!
Beautiful and a very nice well maintained Hotel. The owners are really nice and the breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Quiet area, close to everything.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Love the Phoenix! Would stay here again if our travels take us to Zermatt again. Wonderful buffet breakfast included and great staff. Very accommodating and friendly. Room was very clean and bed comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A joy to stay in

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Beautiful, relaxing, friendly - highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Love it!!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Wonderful staff, delicious breakfast, beautiful outside and inside, bed/pillows/comforter were super comfy. I did the massage and it was fabulous! This place is awesome, love it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Outstanding Staff

Posted Jun 28, 2017
I would like to praise the staff and owner manager of the Phoenix Hotel in Zermatt. I foolishly left my wallet and passport in the room and checked out of hotel. They found my wallet and passport in a drawer and immediately called and email me, so I could return quickly and not disrupt my trip. As I was travelling by car, I did not get the messages and did not realize they were missing till I stopped that evening. Their concern, honesty and effort to contact me reflects the personal care you get at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
In general our experience was exceptional. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room and view was awesome (albeit obscured by construction). Overall we would book there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel with a great breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very attentive and helpful for all our needs. The hotel was newer and was very nice and clean. The complimentary breakfast was much nicer than expected and included numerous cheeses, fresh pastries & breads, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, breakfast meat, and a high end coffee machine that could make different types of coffees. The food was much nicer than your standard complimentary breakfast but not overly fancy. The room was very nice, comfortable, and clean. The room met my expectations especially for the price but it wasn’t what I would consider ‘high end luxury’ which I wasn’t aiming for anyway. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again if I travel to Zermatt in the future.
4 out of 5
by James

Outstanding Service!!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Some of the best service I've ever had, and we commonly stay in 5* properties. The ONLY reason for 4* is because I'm a big man and the shower was difficult to wash up in. Too small for me, but probably just fine for all the athletic folks who stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Disappointing stay, rude reception.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Clean modern rooms, good breakfast with lovely staff in the dining area.
Cons: The women at reception were awful.
Location: Location is okay, the walk from the train station took 10-15 minutes, partially up hill.
This hotel could have been lovely, were it not for the women at reception. I am not sure if everyone gets such a poor reception at this hotel or if it is based on the color of your skin; however, as a couple from Hawaii celebrating our honeymoon we received a very cold welcome and each interaction with reception was equally chilly. We are very friendly and well traveled people and after two months in Europe this was the most disappointing hotel experience of all. We had emailed ahead that we were celebrating our honeymoon and they didn't even mention it or offer congratulations. Most notably upon check-out they told us they had to charge our credit card in US currency, which as experienced travelers we know is terrible value. We specifically asked to pay in local currency and the women told us we could not. This was the only hotel on our entire trip that did this. The rate we were charged was higher than what my Expedia confirmation quoted because of this. They were rude and cold the entire time so we just paid it so we could get away from them and had to dispute it with the credit card company later.