Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything is perfect.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
I leave this hotel for two nights and feel too short. It is perfect location and very good services. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view! Very confortable room

Posted Sep 8, 2016
The room is very confortable and clean. Staffs are very nice and the services are great. Strongely recommended and we will visit it again (hopefully soon)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of the Matterthorn

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We had corner room with a view of the Materhorn out of one and a picturesque country scene out of the other. There was herd of sheep on the hill. We arrived by foot via the Mark Twain trail. After the hike the spa was most welcome. Although they do not offer massages the facilities are spectacular with floor to ceiling windows on to the mountains and an outdoor hot tub with Mountain view. It was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Special Location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More choice of dining
Stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2014, just after it reopened after refurbishment. Fabulous hotel with truly amazing views of the Matterhorn (definitely worth paying for a Matterhorn view room). It's about 100m walk (down the ski slope, so wear stout shoes in winter!) from the Riffleberg stop on the Gonergrat railway. Great for skiing as you can get a first run down before the lift open and have the mountain pretty much to yourself for half an hour, and I imagine it would be great for walking holiday too. Food in the restaurant is good, the spa is large and excellent and the staff are very friendly, oh rooms are good too, not huge but comfortable and well furnished. I'd really recommend it for a short break rather than a full week, as the location means that you have to eat at the hotel each night (as the last train up is 9ish in summer and 7.30 ish in winter). All round, very special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

An Intimate, Private Mountain Club with Friends

Posted Mar 8, 2015
The location and setting cannot be beaten for the hotel sits on the side of a mountain and overlooks an alpine amphitheatre of unparalleled beauty, dominated of course by the iconic and breathtaking Matterhorn. The entire hotel has recently undergone a significant programme of renovation and upgrading of its facilities and this is reflected in the superbly appointed rooms, spa and public areas. For comfort and cleanliness this hotel can easily compete with its grander 5 star cousins down in the valley. The food ranges from buffet style continental breakfasts in the morning to traditional and hearty alpine favourites such as wurst and rösti at lunch. In the evening dinner is a 4-course set piece affair with the cuisine and service of a quality that you would expect from a world-class resort like Zermatt. From the moment you enter the Riffelhaus you are surrounded by people who are not only consummate professionals but who bring to their jobs a warmth, thoughtfulness and human kindness that makes the Riffelhaus experience unique among its peers in Zermatt. For me, and I hope others too, the Riffelhaus is so much more than just another hotel and I shall remember it with fondness and affection as an intimate, private mountain club with friends, friends that I look forward to seeing again and again, for many years to come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

マッターホルンの眺め満喫

Posted Sep 14, 2017
改装済みの部屋は快適そのもの、ジャグジーは水着着用ですが、サウナは部屋にある専用のバスタオルを使って気軽に利用できます。マッターホルンを正面に見ての贅沢なサウナは超オススメ、また、朝食後からチェックアウトまでの時間を利用し、逆さマッターホルンで有名な山上湖リッフェルゼーへ、軽い登り40分、帰り25分で往復し、まだ誰もいない絶景を1時間程独占したりと、マッターホルンを十二分に堪能できます。部屋はマッターホルンが見えない部屋でしたが、飽きる程マッターホルンを 眺めたので、全く不満はありませんでした。
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Hotel Riffelhaus 1853 Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

見事なマッターホルンが拝めるホテル

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: 景色と雰囲気
Location: リッフェルベルグ駅のすぐ近く
遮るものなく、マッターホルンが眺められます。ジュニアスイート(マッターホルンサイド)にしたので、お部屋の広さにゆとりがあり快適に過ごせました。水回りも清潔です。食事もおいしく、サウナもあり山岳リゾートという感じです。ホテルの近くを軽くハイキングしましたが、マッターホルンがどんどん近づいてきて感動しました。静かで、自然を楽しむことにできるホテルです。ロープウェイが目の前にあるので(マッターホルンサイド)、気になる方は気になるかもしれません(バルコニーに出ていると)。
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Hotel Riffelhaus 1853 Team, Hotel Management
Thanks very much, we appreciate your kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed the view of the Matterhorn, which is the unobstructed from all balconies!
5 out of 5
by brigitte

Panorama!

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Herzlicher Empfang in herrlicher Umgebung.
5 out of 5
by Karlheinz

Komf,ruhiges direkt an der skipiste gelegenes Hote

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
super standort, Ruhe, Freundliches Hotelpersonal.. ideale Lage direct an der SKipiste phantastische SOnnenuntergänge vom Restaurant aus. unvergesslich KOffer warden vom Bahnhof abgeholt.. super und schneller service- wir hatten ein Patio-Zimmer mit einer unvergesslichen Aussicht uaf das Matterhorn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hessen

Super Hotel mit tollem Service und genialer Lage

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Das Hotel bietet ein tolles Gesamtpaket, daraus sticht nochmals hervor die Lage mit einmaligem Ausblick (siehe oben)
Cons: Expedia könnte das direkte Dazubuchen der benötigten Transportmittel ermöglichen (Gornergratbahn / Matterhorn-Gotthard Bahn etc)
Location: Das Hotel liegt auf dem Riffelberg, wie oben ausgeführt ist das zum Skifahren eine geniale Lage mit toller Aussicht.
Für unseren 1. Besuch des Skigebiets Zermatt haben wir (Paar Mitte 30) 3 Übernachtungen mit Halbpension im Riffelhaus über Expedia gebucht. Vorab gesagt war das der beste Skiurlaub, den wir je hatten - maßgeblich dazu beigetragen hat das Riffelhaus. Die Buchung über Expedia hat einwandfrei geklappt, am Tag vor der Anreise konnten wir letzte Details mit dem Hotel direkt abklären. Was man wissen muss und in allen Beschreibungen auch explizit genannt wird, ist, dass das Hotel nicht mit "normalen" Transportmitteln erreichbar ist, sondern die Gornergratbahn dafür empfohlen ist. An- und Abreise kann somit etwas länger ausfallen als bei anderen Destinationen. Koffertransport von dieser Bahn wird vom Hotel organisiert, dort dann angekommen, hat uns ein sehr netter Herr an der Rezeption empfangen und wenige Minuten später waren wir in unserem Zimmer. Das Zimmer war groß, sauber und modern eingerichtet, es lässt keine Wünsche offen. Gleiches gilt für den Wellness-Bereich, den wir ausgiebig genutzt haben. Frühstück und Abendessen waren sehr lecker und werden in super Ambiente gereicht. Generell wird Service in diesem Hotel sehr groß geschrieben, wir haben uns rundum verwöhnt gefühlt. Das Ganze wird noch getoppt von der genialen Lage: Aus fast allen Zimmern / Plätzen im Speiseraum / Räumen im Wellnessbereich hat man Blick aufs Matterhorn, bei Sonne ein unvergesslicher Anblick! Außerdem kann man direkt die Skier anschnallen und losfahren und so morgens der 1. auf der Piste sein!