Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Aging hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Second stay at Furama, but will likely not return, even though I got a good rate. Check in was fine, but had to change room. Old worn out and stinking carpet. Internet did not work at first, but staff provided a router and that helped. Second room was better, but still worn out. Bed and pillows uncomfortable. Staff are nice and helpful. A real pity -- they need to upgrade facilities.
4 out of 5
by Chultem

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very old, musty rooms w/ worst pillows on earth

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Location is good.
Cons: Many!!! Staff could be friendlier, food quality could be better, renovate rooms, improve internet.
Both my son's room and our room were very old and dated, had strong musty smell. We got grain pillows. They were hard as rock. I called to ask for softer pillows, was told that they had pillow menu. But everything I ask for was out, not sure why even bother to tell me about the pillow menu. I was promised that they would give us softer pillows next day. When we came back from sightseeing following day, we found 2 extra grain pillows on our bed!!! We have 3 people booked 2 rooms with breakfast. But the hotel only gives 1 breakfast per room. So we have to pay an extra breakfast every day not to mention food was very poor quality. We almost only ate fruits and yogurt. I have never heard of any high end hotel that offers only 1 breakfast/room, not even 3 stars. The carpet in the rooms have many holes. Internet almost unusable. The check-in staff was really unfriendly. There is nothing in this hotel gives 5 star quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Worthless Interent

Posted Dec 17, 2015
If you're here for business, don't expect any internet. They have wifi, but it was interniddent and painfully slow. It is absolutely impossible to do business in this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Ill.

House keeping was excellent with Rebecca.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and did have BBC & RT on the television. The shower and bathrooms and bedroom were first class. The breakfast was good.
Cons: Softer beds and put a newspaper at the door each day in the language of the occupant.
Location: Easy access to the buses and subway. In the upscale shops of downtown. Near good restaurants in the new shopping malls.
Head of housekeeping was very responsive to our requests. The beds were harder than we were used to. They tried to fix them. They provided an English printed newspaper each day. The staff was helpful and professional. The hotel caters to Chinese. Very few if any other people stay at the hotel. It was very clean and did have BBC & RT on the television.
4 out of 5
by John from Sydney

Downtown Dalian for 3 day sightseeing.

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself, whilst 5 star, felt a little "worn". Carpet could do with replacement. Overall I had a pleasant stay and would happily choose to stay here again. I found the buffet breakfast a little disappointing...... but, seriously, if that's is the biggest problem then I really didn't have much to complain about, aye! Overall great value for money for a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Hotel Furama Dalian, excellent choice

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Excellent service and warm welcome by the reception and bell boy. Special thanks to congierge department, Mr. Rex. You're really treated as a guest!
Cons: Breakfast a bit more European style. Every morning we had to ask for normal bread and cheese. Food was very good but Japanese and Chinese orientated.
Location: Bin Hai Road, Ban Shui Dao (Island), Golden Pebbles Beach, Dong Fang Fontain, Warehouse 15 restaurants, Chinese Venice & France town. Lvshun, prison
One week stay in Hotel Furama in Dalian. Excellent choice, good situated in the center of the city. Top class hotel, worth 5 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel facilities excellent, room big, comfortable

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The size and comfort of the room
Cons: Staff training for the restaurant staff particularly in customer relations and manners
Location: The hotel is located on Renmin Rd which is serviced by buses and taxis and restaurants and shopping is in abundance.
Everything was terrific until my Chinese wife went to breakfast on her own. She was treated very poorly, her food was removed from the table while she was getting a beverage not once but twice and she was even asked if she was one of the kitchen staff. We have lived and stayed in many 5 star Hotels around the world and never has she been insulted in such a way and it happens in the city she was born in, unbelievable. An apology was offered by management later in the morning after I made a formal complaint, but to little to late.