Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing for Hyatt

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Location was good.
Being a loyal Hyatt customer I was so disappointed with this stay. Starting at check in when they could not find my Expedia reservation and were really not solutions oriented, just stating that they had not received it. I had to push for them to solve the problem and give me the expedia rate as per my confirmation email. Secondly the room we got smelled of mould and humidity. We changed to a room that instead smelt of cigarette smoke. We added a breakfast and after work drinks package. When we came down to eat breakfast the staff said we had not paid for breakfast and when I said we had they just kept insisting that I pay. It turned out that the package we had bought only entitled us to breakfast in a separate lounge. I have never experience this at Hyatt. The club Hyatt does not exclude you from other facilities of the hotel. The dinners we had (room service and the french restaurant) were not a good experience either. One of the room service dishes was inedible. The french restaurant seriously over priced and the marinated vegetables with the salmon we ordered were some salad leaves with dressing. The bar could have been nice had it not been for the live band that played every night. Sounded like karaoke to me and I felt quite embarrassed on their behalf. Check out took about 30 minutes. Very complicated but at least the nice girl at the desk was apologetic about it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Experience

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic. Superb service as characteristic of Hyatt hospitability. Central and convenient location along the vibrant Mall of the World with all its amenties. The cultural venues of the Guangzhou Grand Theatre, museum and library are all within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Fritha

Quick upgrade response to electrical issue

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Quick overnight business trip that required sleep to be prepared - didn't quite happen. Have stayed here numerous times. Excellent location close to public transport. We arrived late, check in was quick, no problems. However every 20-30 mins or so the entire room would activate all the lights and air con. Being kiwis we looked everywhere in room for the fuse that could be causing it. Turning off the air con, unplugging stuff....by 2am finally rang reception who sent a technician who arrived quickly and ascertained that we needed to move room. Reception arrived and we packed up and sleepily followed - to discover we'd been upgraded to a giant corner suite! Interestingly no note appeared to be placed on the file (or it was ignored) as reception on check out made no mention of the issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney AU

High quality hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable hotel room
Nice hotel in good location. Meets Hyatt standards. Weird reception on 22nd floor. A lot of ups and downs in elevators but once mastered, all is okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably would not return

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
A nice location and very decent rooms pretty much make up for the absurd 22nd floor lobby which forces all guests up, only to have them transfer to another set of elevators which takes them back down to their rooms. What is inexcusable and will probably keep me from returning is an internet connection which is so slow that it is all but impossible to work from the hotel. Now a days this is not a luxury but an absolute necessity. It's nice that it's free, but I would much rather pay for it and have it work.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from mexico city

Great hotel down town area

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: service, food, spa, location. Great room views to the city day and night!!!!
Cons: better english speaking at spa and lobby.
Location: I did not visit around but next time I will.
This is my first time in Gran Hyatt Guangzhou and I can say I will come back only to this hotel for my coming visits to Guangzhou. The service staff provided and the home feeling at arrival is price less, more after coming back from visting factories and work hard! the Spa is gorgeous and the Restaurants with excellent food and service. To all my friends who attend every year the Canton Fair, I will stongly recommend Gran Hyatt. thanks to Cherry the manager who helped me a lot! BR Paulina Cosio
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel overall

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Had a nice stay over all. Food was a little expensive and there is WAY to many rules to get into the pool area. You must check in, sign a waiver...got told I wasn't allowed to sit on the edge of the hot tub bc I was Capri's not in a swim suit. Cannot go into the pool just to relax... had to be swimming laps with a swim cap. It was just annoying because there was NO one in there except for us. These "rules" seemed a little silly. Went to the spa to find the relaxing spot I was looking for and it went better.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio


Posted Mar 7, 2017 on CheapTickets
This hotel was nothing but great! The staff was very attentive and the rooms were clean I will only stay at grand Hyatt from now on when in China!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
The bath tube is too small, strange square shape, not like one in a 5-star hotel.