Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Gordon from England

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is located in a quiet village about 10 kms from Kassel. No industry or business activity. Lovely sheltered garden and outside terrace - ideal for drinking and eating outside. The family who run it are very kind, helpful and generous.
4 out of 5
by JJ

Cozy, convenient & yummy restaurant

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The room was great! Our service at the restaurant was good and food delicious. The only negative was the woman who was at the reception (I think the wife of the pair who runs it)- a blah attitude. I highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Family Hotel-Restaurant

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Clean Hotel, locate by the Highway. Please note the restaurant close on Monday and there is no other alternatives in 10 miles radius.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Bedford, PA USA

In the country

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Everything was very convenient and on one floor.
Cons: There was no wifi here
Location: We stopped here on our way to Sababurg - the "Sleeping Beauty Castle"/Hotel and ruins. During the summer months, there are special programs here.
Schwalbennest means swallow's nest and we certainly expected to see some flying birds when we arrived at this pension. It is all on one floor: rooms and restaurant/bar. The innkeeper was gracious enough to offer us dinner, even though we arrived there rather late. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very generous. Parking was adjacent to our room.
5 out of 5
by Faranak from Vancouver, Canada

Great location, beautiful land, Clean hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels
the location is very good, beautifully located. Hotel is nicely decorated. Restaurant is great, very authentic. Quiet sleep. Perfect for long or short stay.
5 out of 5
by Hermes Welltraveled

Authentic German Village

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels
We were delighted with the comfort and service of the hotel. Get good directions, as we had trouble finding it. But once you are there it is most convienent to Kassel, Williamshohe Castle and gardens, and the most delightful medieval city in Germany -Fritzlar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Apeldoorn, NL

Good place to be

Posted Nov 26, 2011
Hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, room was clean, somewhat old-fashioned. Breakfast was good for the money they asked. Would stay here again when in the neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyogo Japan

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Location: It's quiet and a more convenient location than I thought about sightseeing to Kassell.
The staff was waiting for us to inform hotel that arrival will be delayed. We appreciate staff's kind response.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Stuttgart

Nice Hotel in a small village near Kassel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The garden and the quiet village
Cons: -
Location: You have to arrive by car, the train-stop is to far away. When you drive to Kassel, take the road near the Herkules-Statue - nice look over the city!
Good base for a trip to the documenta, very quiet with an nice garden, where the breakfast is served when the weather is good. It's possible to get a meal there in the evening in the restaurant. The rooms are not very big, furniture is not luxery but expedient and in a good condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goeie plek als je van rust houdt!

Posted May 27, 2017
Goede ontvangst en eerste dag goed gegeten. Ontbijt voldoende voor 5 euro. Tweede dag eten was erg rommelig veel mensen en ze waren er niet op berekend. Te weinig etenswaren in huis en het geïmproviseerde eten was beneden maats . Bovendien als je zoals ikzelf vegetariër/veganist ben. Kun je er helemaal niet terecht!