Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful location on beach

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: Location, location, location. Clean rooms, towels, beds!
Cons: Overall in desperate need of upgrade
Location: Walk on the beach, into town, swim or take a boat ride.
Wonderful location, great staff, many many steps and stairs, some uneven and in need of repair. Nothing for people that are unsure on there feet or out of shape :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2018 by javier Rivera , Hotel Management
thank you I see you enjoy. and let small things to happen thank you, we know we need to upgrade some rooms, but few, by few cordially
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
great location near centre of town. Friendly staff. Hotel is majorly run down and needs TLC
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Traditional Mexico at its best

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Helpful friendly staff . Gorgeous setting in beautiful jungle gardens. I have stayed there twice a year for 14 years
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Javier RIVERA, Hotel Management
Gracias Steve and more years to come
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cecilia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Allison

5* Location but basic accommodation

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location with friendly helpful staff, however, despite being clean, the rooms have an overall outdated and tatty look to them. Our bedding was crisp and clean, towels were grubby looking (frayed and some had holes!) but clearly had been freshly laundered. The pool area was very disappointing, again grubby looking, mainly due to the awful sun beds, every single one of which was broken. The hotel sun beds on the beach are a far superior standard and very comfortable. Good breakfast served until 12pm! Be aware that the hotel is built on a cliff side, reception at top with approx 100 steps down to restaurant and most rooms, a further approx 100 steps down to beach. A tough walk back up!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thermal, CA

Gorgeous view, hotel needs a complete remodel.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The amazing view, and the wonderful staff.
Cons: The entire hotel itself.
Location: Downtown is a few minute cab ride away. Walking distance to Las Gatas beach. Great location!
The view from the rooms, the lobby,the bar, and the restaurant are incredible! Truly a beautiful bay. The staff is wonderful, and the breakfast is very good. However, the entire hotel needs a complete remodel. The beds are so hard it is literally impossible to sleep on them. New towels are direly needed and the rooms also need to be torn down and completely rebuilt. There was no wi-fi in the room we stayed in although it was advertised that there would be. We originally booked for a week, but because it was impossible to sleep on the beds we had to check out after three nights. Again, views are amazing as well as location and staff, but actual hotel gets a one star.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Clean, but beds and pillows were uncomfortable.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff was polite, the views are beautiful, the beach is in a great location to other hotels that are easily accessible if you're venturing out.
Cons: New towels for all rooms, not just the newly updated ones, and new towels for the pool and beach. New pillows that are actually soft.
Location: We had friends staying at Embarc and the Viceroy, so this hotel is right in the middle which made it easy to get to when we were meeting up.
Our first night we stayed in a king size bed room up top by the lobby. The room was beautiful and had a fantastic view. We had to be moved to a different room because we had 2 other people staying with us for a portion of our stay. The room was not as nice, stiff mattresses and flat pillows, older decor, and the view was not as good. The only good part in staying in this room (2 queen beds) was it was closer to the restaurant, pool and beach, which meant fewer stairs. This hotel has an insane amount of stairs. If you're out of shape plan to take extra time to go to the lobby to catch a cab. Or just walk along the beach to another hotel that's at street level. The breakfast was very good, the fresh squeezed orange juice was great and I looked forward to it each time. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel needs new towels in the rooms and for the pool and beach. The towels were nice and thick and fluffy in the nice king size bed room we started in, but the 2 double bed room had towels so thin it was like burlap. Most of the pool towels were fraying along the edges. The grounds were nice and the hotel has an old Mexican style charm to it.
5 out of 5
by Katharine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Good location

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The service and the view are the stars of this resort.
Cons: This resort shows its age in many spots.
Location: Zihua is a great place to encounter Mexican hospitality.
Catalina is an old resort and in some places the patina is very evident. The Linda vista suites are updated and very nice. The other rooms which seem to be part of the original resort are nice but it is evident they're from another era. For what it lacks in aesthetics, the staff more than makes up for this flaw. If you have trouble with stairs, this may not be the place for you. There are over 200 stairs from the reception lobby to the beach. Rooms are all between the lobby and the beach so you are guaranteed to be getting in a few hundred stairs daily.