Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by jennifer from Noblesville, IN

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel is old but kept up well. love that the hotel is right on the beach. we were greeted by a lot of deer on the way in and my daughter just loved that. the pool is huge. I did not like the beds, they were hard and the sheets were crunchy (hard) and too thin, did not sleep well at all. I would go back but will bring my own bedding.
5 out of 5
by Rita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Toni from Coon Rapids , Minnesota

My home town visit , reuniting with my first love!

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was absolutely perfect, great view of Lake Michigan , pool area was awesome , excellent dining.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Schweiz

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Schöne Aussicht zum Stand mitten im State Park gelegen.
3 out of 5
by Rhiannon from Davenport, IA

Mediocre

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel location in the State Park is beautiful. The lobby looked as though it had been redone recently but was a little boring. I couldn't tell if the room had been redone or not. If it had they definitely cut corners to accomplish it. The room was spacious and fairly clean. The pillows were hard. The mattresses and bedding seemed fine and updated. Upon checking into the hotel I discovered that our room did not have a balcony or a window that opened so I went to find out if I could upgrade my room. The woman at the front desk seemed EXTREMELY confused at the request. She told me that because I booked through hotels.com/expedia I would have to call them (I have stayed at hotels before and was upgraded through the hotel with no issues). Upon entering and leaving the hotel the front desk person never even looked up, cracked a smile, never said Hello, Good Morning, Evening, nothing. There wasn't enough coffee in the room so we decided to go to the lobby. All they had was coffee from the restaurant. We waited for a while witnessing a confused server and hostess moved tables around to accommodate a large group (witnessing this just showed how untrained the whole entire staff at the hotel is). We were told it would be $2.00 for a small cup of coffee. All in all the hotel was average. The staff needs to be trained on guest service. Throw a smile in once in awhile for goodness sake. A smile goes a long way especially when the service is mediocre at best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

over priced rock beach

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Pool was great, Breakfast and buffet were nice. I even thought the chairs in the front were comfortable.
Cons: renovate the rooms. Clean the mold and new bathroom room fixtures were needed. NEW MATRESSES and repair the heater/AC units. lots more
Location: Hard to find need better signage for sure. good location.
when I arrived it was 4 am I was charged for a full day instead of a early check in. disappointment 1. When I went to bed the mattress was so old I could feel the coil on my back disappointment 2. The heater made enough noise my wife and I could not sleep disappointment 3. The wall paper was bubbled peeling off by the main window, there is a crack in the ceiling, mold in the bathroom, disappointment 4. Tub dripped all night. disappointment 5. We changed rooms the next morning this time the room was still disappointing but no drip in the bathroom and the mattress was softer. Still not happy with the room but the pool and sunday buffet was redeeming. Beach was small and had a visible retaining wall that someone could cut their feet on if it was warm enough to go barefoot. All in all I would not recommend nor would I ever stay there again. Hard to believe but it was like staying at a super 8.
4 out of 5
by scott a.m. from winthrop harbor,illinois

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
class reunion,had a great time!
5 out of 5
by Sujin from Milwaukee

Good stay. Good Getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was generally a good stay. Property needs updating though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Fred, Hotel Management
Dear Sujin: Thank-you very much for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We are very glad to hear you had a good getaway. Renovations are ongoing and we certainly hope to see you again. Thanks, Fred Fischer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Food was very good.
Cons: Room, and the attitude of the staff....no one cared. And the cost was way to high for this.
Location: Location was great, and the outside grounds were very nice.
Room was outdated. No fridge, micowave, view was of the pool. The TV was small and the stations did not come in. Staff was not friendly at all. 4 people behind the counter, but only one was logging in new people. Bar area was very very small, and conneted to the dance floor...which had a wedding going on. The Beds are not attached to the wall and well used. All this for $182.00 a night... Food was very good, however the service there was also bad. Bottomline, will never go again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2015 by Fred, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: We really appreciate the time you took give us a review. Guest feedback is very important and we sincerely apologize for the described shortfalls. Thanks, Fred
2 out of 5
by renee from Fulton, MS

All good, except...

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
the staff was helpful and responsive to all our needs. They handled everything and quickly. However...the wedding music was loud and the beds were horrible. Overall, the hotel needs an overhaul...leave your staff in place but, upgrade the place. Please? It's an icon in the area and could still continue to be a nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Fred, Hotel Management
Dear Renee: We really appreciate the time you took give us a review. Guest feedback is very important and only helps us improve. Renovations are ongoing and we certainly hope to see you again. Thanks, Fred