Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lakeshore Lodging

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I visit our grandchildren and friends in Zion. We love the lakeshore atmosphere. The restaurant has very good food and a variety of wines to choose from.
1 out of 5
by Robin from Round Lake Beach

Not a fun time.....

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
WORST EXPERIENCE EVER WILL NOT GO BACK OR REFER ANY ONE.
2 out of 5
by Tracey from Monroe, WI

Dirty, Worn Room

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
WE were on a room where half the floor was being renovated. Weird smells, dust and an overall creepy feeling greated as we got off the elevator. Once in our room the floor was stained and gross - we didn't walk on the carpet without shoes or at least socks. The bedding was wrinkled and the dust ruffle,also very wrinkled, didn't fit the bed. The bath tub was stained and dirty as well as the bathroom floor. We moved the night stand to get to an outlet and it was obvious no one had vacuumed back there for a very long time. We were told there was WIFI in the Room. There was NOT! Had to do work in the Lobby which was very loud due to a piano that they have and the need for every child and young adult to pound on it. I will say the only positive was the pool. It is very large and the area looked clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from zion, IL

Hotel said they are renovating yet charged me way

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Poor quality of rooms. Need to keep prizes low until you're done with renovation. Monike said I can cancel with money back guarantee yet she lied to Expedia. Not professional at all!!!
4 out of 5
by Hollie from MN

Good stay!

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for 3 nights, for the convenience of the location (near relatives). Overall the stay was good. The room was very clean, the beds very comfortable, the pool was large, the hotel staff was very accommodating. The views were amazing, beautiful drive to the hotel. The things we had issues with were minimal, but will share. When you first walk in the building it smells like clorine from the pool, was like that every time we walked into the hotel. The first day I woke up to shower and there was little to no water pressure. I had to wait a half hour for the water pressure to be enough to shower, not sure why that was. On the last day the wifi didn't work at all, that night or the next day. Like I said overall the stay was great, will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by jennifer from Noblesville, IN

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel is old but kept up well. love that the hotel is right on the beach. we were greeted by a lot of deer on the way in and my daughter just loved that. the pool is huge. I did not like the beds, they were hard and the sheets were crunchy (hard) and too thin, did not sleep well at all. I would go back but will bring my own bedding.
5 out of 5
by Rita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Toni from Coon Rapids , Minnesota

My home town visit , reuniting with my first love!

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was absolutely perfect, great view of Lake Michigan , pool area was awesome , excellent dining.
3 out of 5
by Rhiannon from Davenport, IA

Mediocre

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel location in the State Park is beautiful. The lobby looked as though it had been redone recently but was a little boring. I couldn't tell if the room had been redone or not. If it had they definitely cut corners to accomplish it. The room was spacious and fairly clean. The pillows were hard. The mattresses and bedding seemed fine and updated. Upon checking into the hotel I discovered that our room did not have a balcony or a window that opened so I went to find out if I could upgrade my room. The woman at the front desk seemed EXTREMELY confused at the request. She told me that because I booked through hotels.com/expedia I would have to call them (I have stayed at hotels before and was upgraded through the hotel with no issues). Upon entering and leaving the hotel the front desk person never even looked up, cracked a smile, never said Hello, Good Morning, Evening, nothing. There wasn't enough coffee in the room so we decided to go to the lobby. All they had was coffee from the restaurant. We waited for a while witnessing a confused server and hostess moved tables around to accommodate a large group (witnessing this just showed how untrained the whole entire staff at the hotel is). We were told it would be $2.00 for a small cup of coffee. All in all the hotel was average. The staff needs to be trained on guest service. Throw a smile in once in awhile for goodness sake. A smile goes a long way especially when the service is mediocre at best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

over priced rock beach

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Pool was great, Breakfast and buffet were nice. I even thought the chairs in the front were comfortable.
Cons: renovate the rooms. Clean the mold and new bathroom room fixtures were needed. NEW MATRESSES and repair the heater/AC units. lots more
Location: Hard to find need better signage for sure. good location.
when I arrived it was 4 am I was charged for a full day instead of a early check in. disappointment 1. When I went to bed the mattress was so old I could feel the coil on my back disappointment 2. The heater made enough noise my wife and I could not sleep disappointment 3. The wall paper was bubbled peeling off by the main window, there is a crack in the ceiling, mold in the bathroom, disappointment 4. Tub dripped all night. disappointment 5. We changed rooms the next morning this time the room was still disappointing but no drip in the bathroom and the mattress was softer. Still not happy with the room but the pool and sunday buffet was redeeming. Beach was small and had a visible retaining wall that someone could cut their feet on if it was warm enough to go barefoot. All in all I would not recommend nor would I ever stay there again. Hard to believe but it was like staying at a super 8.