Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from petaluma ca

Convenient to Capitol Reef National Park

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Room was spacious and laid out with some thought. One of the things I loved the most was a privacy curtain between sink area and rest of suite. More hotels should do this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, United States of America

Loved it, no complaints at all.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Nice place, we really enjoyed our stay, great staff, and a clean room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
spacious room, quite sleeping environment, in the middle between Zion and Bryce national park, we stay for two nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
It is OK for overnight stay. It is far from Zion park. Better options at Springdale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay in Springdale if you can

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel as a budget option rather than staying in Springdale while visiting Zion National Park. We were there for three days and I did not realise that the drive to the main part of the park was so long. Although the hotel was very good for the price, the only option for eating was the hotel so we stayed in the park all day, drove to Springdale to eat at night, then drove back to the hotel through the park in the dark, which is not ideal. If I was visiting again I would pay extra and stay in Springdale
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, lovely stay.

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
If you are doing a late check-in, make sure you call ahead! It is better to arrive before midnight. Other than some glitches in late check-in, it was a wonderful stay. We stayed for 3 nights. We loved the room. It is in the middle of no-where, but that is a part of the charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: As a gateway into Zion park the Thunderbird is great. The room was large and very comfortable and with the restaurant as part of the facility it suited us very well. The friendliness of everyone made us feel welcome. Didn't get to try the "Ho-made" pie but maybe the next time thru.
Cons: The only drawback with the hotel's location was that here is virtually nothing else for miles in any direction. So if you were looking for something to do outside the hotel, good luck!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Friends had been telling us about this hotel for quite a while and so we stayed here for one night, after touring Bryce Canyon NP and before touring Zion NP. It was a very nice room, extremely quiet, nicely decorated, spacious, with comfortable beds and good quality bedding. There aren't a lot of choices as to restaurants -- we checked out the one on-site and found it to be too expensive for us, so we ended up driving south to Kanab for our dinner. We did eat breakfast there, and it was quite good and reasonable priced. The only trouble we had at this hotel was that during my husband's shower, the hot water was never really hot, and it would intermittently turn to cold. We called the front desk, and the clerk offered to move us to a different room, but this was late at night and we declined. The same thing happened to me the next morning. When I asked about this at the front desk, I was told that they'd been having the same trouble in this room for quite a while, that the owner knew about it and thought that he'd had it fixed. I advise you to avoid Room #219. It was a very quiet stay, and you do receive discounts at the gift shop and on gas, so I guess it's worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The room is clean and comfort. We love the grass outside of the room, so green and pleasant. We also enjoyed the food at the restaurant next to the registration office. Also, the staff who registered us in was super nice, and offered her suggestions for travelling in Zion national park.