Ratings based on 1,190 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice hotel - very quaint

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the room. The free breakfast was very good, plenty of choices. I also appreciated the laundry room and full ice machine
Cons: The laundry/ice machine room had a bad smell, probably from the ice machine.
We really enjoyed staying at the Pioneer Lodge. It was right in the middle of town so very easy to walk to restaurants, shops, close to the shuttle stop, etc. The room was super quaint with rustic features. Very clean. Beds were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, az

close to zion park

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: breakfast, free hot and cold beverages in lobby
Close to park, can even use shuttle to park entrance and not have to drive or park. walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. Great full breakfast! Awesome views from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Good location. Don't expect much.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location. Rooms were decently clean. WiFi was pretty fast and free. Pool and hot tub were both warm and pleasant.
Cons: Water pipes were LOUD. Garage bins outside had no lids and stunk. Breakfast was TERRIBLE. AC very loud.
Location: Zion NP
Location of the motel was great... right in the heart of Springdale and only a few steps from the Zion shuttle. The room was decent and was clean enough (there were still some hairs in the shower when we checked in). Helped to have tile floors vs carpet in the rooms. The free breakfast was terrible... even my young kids didn't like it. The parking area outside was tight and very messy. There were two large garbage bins w/o lids and the area outside smelled horrible. It's not a bad place but it could be much better with a little attention to detail. The staff was nice enough but not great. Would stay here again if we needed to, but would prefer to find somewhere better. For the price, the place was not worth it at all, but then again, you're in a touristy area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to Zion, updated , clean room, nice staff.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great location, very comfortable, I would come back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast

Amazing View

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We booked this as a place to stay for touring Zion. This is not a hotel, it is a motel. The view of the red mountains from our second floor balcony was amazing! The rooms were spartan, but cute with log-cabin themed furniture. The free breakfast did not open on time our first morning, so we had to go without. The second morning it was open, but pretty meh.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Don't bother

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: If they tore it down
Location: good location for a new hotel.
The hotel was old and outdated, With so many other choices there is no reason to stay here. The hallway to the room was disgusting and the staff was not helpful. We needed to leave a day early and asked for a full or partial refund but they would not give it to us per their policy which is understandable but later that day before we left, my son forgot his glasses in the room and they would not let him go in the room to look for them as they said it was already being used by new guests. So if they did not lose money, why would they not refund us??? I kept calling and asking for the manager and they promised he would call back but he never did. I even went in the lobby to speak with him and he seemed like a nice fellow, took my number and never even called me. I guess this is their MO, take your number to shut you up and then never deal with it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Consider your options

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: convenient location
Cons: maintenance
Location: Convenient location to catch City shuttle to lot to cross to Zions Park and catch Zions Park shuttle
Parking shaped like a pie, so spaces furthest in could not be reached once standard size vehicles parked across from each other; pool in need of refurbishment; power lines over pool; pool tools had rotted out and could not be used to clean leaves and bugs from water; painting in rooms had wall paint color on ceiling of a different color. Included breakfast was nice. Staff was nice. Included a laundry facility if you need to use a washer and dryer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

Great Hotel close to Zion national park

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great Hotel, frindly staff. Only one that has trouble is parking spot is so small. if you come back late. It will be a challenge to park a big SUV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great hotel and super nice people. Room was lovely and rustic. Parking lot can be tight and difficult for large vehicles. Nice breakfast. Awesome location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location, cool western look to the hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location, mountain views, and proximity to Zion.
Cons: The pool should be updated. The breakfast should be improved. Most importantly, the customer service was pretty bad.
Location: Zion!
The hotel is very close to the tram pick up for Zion and lots of great restaurants. Staying here makes you feel like you are staying in a cabin, not a chain, which I liked. The big issue was that the metal bed frames are the wrong size so sharp metal brackets stick out beyond the mattress. After being in the room for thirty minutes I sliced my leg open so our hikes were pretty uncomfortable. When I told the lady at the front desk about this she said, "Oh, ok, sorry". It was very odd to me that she didn't care about the injury I received from her hotel. Based on her limited reaction, I doubt this will be fixed so be careful! The hotel breakfast should be skipped, it's pretty bad but they do offer free juice and coffee in the lobby all day. The pool should also be skipped, very small and a lot of bugs. My kids wanted out after 5 minutes (that NEVER happens).