Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff and service needs improvement

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Love the pools with the ocean view, lounge chairs, and 'banana boat' style seating which provides shade canopies. We saw leaping rays in the ocean!
Cons: Staff and service need better training to improve the check-in process. Housekeeping should be replenishing soaps and towels consistently.
The Bel Air resort changed its name to Krystal Grand, but we were never notified of the name change by the resort or Expedia. Finding the hotel from the highway was not easy, as we were looking for "Bel Air" and there is no longer any hotel by that name. Our frustrations did not end there though. We waited in line for 45 minutes to be checked in, maybe more. The staff seemed untrained; each receptionist's service quality varied greatly. In the time that we were in line, 3 guests who had just checked in returned to the front desk regarding issues with their rooms. In addition, we had to walk along the highway shoulder to retrieve our own car even though we used "valet parking". The receptionist who did our paperwork forgot to give our ID cards back to us, and we had to return 45 minutes later when we needed it elsewhere. Upon returning for our ID's, the receptionist pulled them out of his pocket, having obviously realized at some point that he forgot to give them back to us, but he did not offer as much as an apology and had never attempted to call us to notify us. We were given a room in the older building along the highway, which was impossible to find. The internal circulation is confusing and the resort lacks signs and direct paths from the new building to the older buildings. The hotel room itself was very comfortable, new, spacious and well-designed. Housekeeping was spotty; they cleaned everything but did not replenished our soaps and towels. Overall the stay was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fransisco

Beautiful Resort - changing but growing

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: the pools were gorgeous! The seating area over the water on the first floor was so nice at the end of the day! The bathroom shower was amazing!
Cons: improved english from the staff, fix your internet - spotty and unreliable! more comfortable additional beds - pull outs were awful!
Location: Tuesday nights local art walk for local artists. Habanero's Gastro Grill was FANTASTIC. Santa Maria beach & public beach at Palmilla- gorgeous!
I was a little concerned about the reviews I was reading online regarding this hotel. I normally don't write reviews, but felt this hotel was owed a good review. I had 3 rooms for a family vacation. Check in required a little patience especially when they took a group who cut in front of me, however a staff member noticed and immediately asked us for a drink order and brought us to a seating area for us to wait and then came and got us when they were ready. The resort is beautiful. The upgrades are beautiful and tranquil. Are rooms were brand new, although I was told I was getting a kitchenette in every room, I did not, but it turned out ok. We had a fridge which was fine. My reservation also was made prior to the change and I did not book all inclusive, however my reservation did include a free breakfast. It took me a day to get that straightened out, but we did get a full breakfast buffet. We had one dinner on property which was OK, but we enjoyed all the area had to offer. There was a language barrier often, but we managed to get through. All in all the vacation was fantastic, and I would visit this resort again. The beach was gorgeous, no swimming in front of hotel as the currents were too strong but a short 5 minute walk took us to a safer place. We did participate in a movie night on the beach which was unexpected and fun, the staff brought warm towels to keep us from the chill. all the pools were great. The newer pool had lounge chairs on baja shelves, RELAXING!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

While under construction...

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel was under construction with new ownership and a new name, Krystal Grand. It wasn't pleasant but tolerable. Only a few inconveniences with one working elevator and 7 floor buildings. The food definitely needs improvement. It was mediocre for being at a hotel with limited options to leave, since San Jose was a 10 minute drive and San Lucia was 30 minutes away. I really hope the new owners help in these areas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel Air no more!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We booked our stay at Bel Air months ago and when we finally arrived in our destination and were driving around, looking for it, we could not find it anywhere! We had to stop a couple of times to ask where it was (Navigator claimed it was where we were but nothing indicated that). Finally someone directed us through an empty reception area through a complex of hotel buildings to another reception area for a hotel named Krystal Grand. Evidently Bel Air had been purchased by Krystal Grand and fortunately our reservation had been grandfathered into it, so we did have a place to stay. It all turned out good, but it would have been nice of Expedia to notify of the change so we didn't waste an hour looking for a hotel that no longer existed. So didn't book anything at Bel Air—it doesn't exist any longer. I'd be happy to review Krystal Grand, but not under Bel Air.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Poorly run resort

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I've stayed here and at the adjoining condos 5 times over the last 5 years. The resort has grown but the staff has not. Paid for ocean view. They tried to put us on the room facing the busy corridor highway. Refused the room. Received a pool view room. After over an hour, finally into our room. It has a beautiful beach, but the resort is poorly run by management and the staff are very nice and accommodating, as much as they can be, but are overwhelmed. I have watched it go downhill as they added 2 more buildings. Then at checkout I received a bill for 2 all inclusive type (watered down, cheap alcohol) drinks. They charged $17USD per drink. The front desk clerk said, "Yes, it is very expensive to drink here." They are building a new resort, I'm assuming it's is associated with this one. It looks really nice. But seeing how the Bel Air has been managed with the addition of 2 buildings. I'm not interested in staying at another resort associated with Bel Air, Khrystal Sands or whatever they are called. Pay the money and stay elsewhere. There are lots of other beautiful resorts to choose from.
3 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Unrelaxing vacation because of the Hotel. Beware!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Bed was firm as I like it. Clean. Pool area was beautiful.
Cons: Put a sign at the old lobby next to the ““Bienvenidos” sign and train your employees to direct guests to go to Grand Krystal to check-in.
At the time of booking, the hotel is Bel Air Collection Resort and Spa. Pictures are great on the websites and mostly good reviews. I should have listened to the negative reviews. By the time we got there, there was the change of ownership/name. I didn’t know because I was not notified. Check in process was very slow. It took about an hour to check in. Deluxe Studio Suite was NOT deluxe as they advertise it. It was old, dark and next to the busy and noisy highway. Hotel won’t switch me to a quieter room eventhough I offered to pay extra for an upgrade. Their excuse was they were booked. But at least 3 guest went back to get their room switched. How could that be? After spending a night in this not so Deluxe Studio Suite, I asked for another room the following day, I was finally given a newer room, not studio, as I booked it. It was also right next to the noisy, busy highway. The room was just 1 floor up street level. And guess what? NO HOT WATER. I called the front desk at least 3 times. Basically, hot water will come after running it for 20 to 30. But will only say on for 5 minutes. So for 3 nights in that room, it was cold shower for me. It doesn’t really matter if I booked the hotel before Grand Krystal acquired Bel Air Collection. The transition should be transparent to ALL the guests. I wasted my time and money by staying at this hotel. I was treated like a second hand citizen eventhough I was willing to pay extra to be upgraded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Nice new hotel with great pool

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Very clean and modern, very nice staff.
Cons: Activities - music at the pool, make it Mexico like vacation...
Location: The beach is nice, but black flag is on all the times :(
We had great time, entire place is all new, clean and very up to date. (The beautiful new pool just opened during our stay there). The beach is beautiful, but it is NO SWIM beach due to strong waves all the time, so info on website about kayaks and boards is incorrect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond Wa.

Beautiful ocean front rooms

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Now called Krystal Grand. Excellent food, staff and accommodations. Only complaint is we couldn't find an outlet that would charge our electronics! We moved rooms even and still our devices would lose battery if plugged in. Hopefully this will remedy soon as they were adding on and updating the whole time we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

The experience was just amazing!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great people, amazing service, clean, fun, relaxing. Delicious food and the most amazing place we have ever visited.